We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, value for money”
Review of Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you visit Gozo for a few days and prefer to stay in Victoria to see the Island (which is what we did), the Downtown Hotel is a great spot.
It isn't very big, so it has a personal atmosphere. The service at the reception and the coffee shop is very friendly. The room was nice, not very big, but well worth the money. It is close to the main square of Victoria (3 minute walk) so you can do most of Victoria by foot (even in the night).
At the rooftop there is a small swimming pool with sun beds, so you can relax after strolling the citadel and the city center.
The breakfast was ok, the regular buffet style you get everywhere in Malta.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New-Flying-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, which is within about 10 minutes walk to the bus station and the Citadel and local market. We used the local buses to travel around the island, very easy and cheap to use, only 1.5 euros each for a day ticket. The staff were very friendly and efficient, especially the reception staff, who advised us on the best places to visit. There is a small cafe/coffee shop downstairs, where the local families seem to meet in the evening with their children. The food was o.k. if you didn't want to walk back into the town, we had scampi and chips, which was fine, but it's worth going into one of the small restaurants in the square for a meal in the evening. The hotel is spotlessly clean, we had a room opposite the school and facing the main road, but were not disturbed at all. There is a small roof terrace and pool/jacuzzi, which is a good sun trap. We were allowed to stay in the room for free until our pick-up for the ferry at 4:45pm, but the receptionist did explain that it was fairly quiet and that our room was not required. We also visited Lucky Jack's downstairs, which had a big screen to watch the footbalI, again this was very family orientated, with youngsters using the bowling alley. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberts1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

staying on Malta we decided to go over for 2 days and booked a B&B at this place. It's a great location for Victoria clean and comfortable with helpful front desk staff. Breakfast was ok no more than that however Gozo was a joy. the open top bus takes you to some beautiful bays where you can stop for lunch or dinner and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There are lovely little bars in Victoria to go for a glass of wine or two and then a straight walk back to the hotel. The St George festival was on the evening we were there and we really enjoyed all the music and ceremony going on.

Room Tip: Booking tours with the sellers whilst waiting for your ferry means you can negotiate discounts which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 6 nights as a base for a walking holiday. Found the hotel very comfortable and
friendly. Also the meals in the hotel are good and great value. It was close to the bus station and bus stops. Supermarket and shopping centre are 5 minutes walk away. There is a school nearby but we didnt hear any noise from that. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lc_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is a good bet if you want to stay on Gozo. It's located about 5-10 minute walk from the main bus terminal where buses go all over the island and are easy to navigate. It has a complimentary breakfast which is simple and satisfying. It has a restaurant and a cafe and an American restaurant, Lucky Jack's, directly below it. We didn't love Lucky Jack's but I'm not even sure if it's affiliated with the hotel. The hotel gave us a late check-out of 6pm for free so we could spend the day checking out Comino. It had free wifi and, apparently has a beautiful rooftop terrace with a pool and great city views but, unfortunately, it was closed in winter. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Me and my friend wanted rooms next to each other and we wrote to them, but instead they gave us rooms in separate floors. We were pissed. The receptionist didn't even speak good English or Maltese. The furniture very old and dusty. The wifi too slow and I had a view of the shaft. The corridors are very narrow and it's very closed. When I stayed at the Grand Hotel in Mgarr I give it a much better rate, not to mention the breakfast was all messed up. Only 1 sausage with a piece of ham and they were all out of milk. My family hated this hotel only one good thing the location. I won't stay in it never ever again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlaaaa111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We advise anybody reading this review to use their good sense and consider the way and tone that this review has been written in and what ulterior motives may lie behind it. Any response from our side would be really superfluous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Downtown Hotel in Victoria Gozo is an ideal hotel where to stay for a short break in Gozo. The rooms are very comfortable. The accomodation stardards are very good. The hotel serves a very good english breakfast. The staff at the reception make you feel very welcome!

Room Tip: The country view rooms are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
763 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing