We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Having spent ages looking at different farmhouses on the internet I settled on bella vista farmhouse and was very happy with my choice until about 2 weeks before my holiday when I read the 2 bad reviews. I contacted Monica who runs the farmhouses with my concerns and she convinced me we would have a good holiday and thankfully we did.
The farmhouse we stayed in was exactly like the web site and clean both inside and out. The pool was clean when we arrived and cleaned again mid week. These farmhouses are quite rustic which is what we wanted if you care more about modern luxuries like dishwashers and microwaves then perhapes they are not for you but if you want rustic accomodation in a peaceful setting with great views then give them a try.
We did have one problem with the shower and reported it to Monica and it was fixed that day.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2008

Hi,
at present we are staying at the bellavista farmhouses in gozo, i also read the reviews prior to coming and was concerned. i think the reviews are totaly wrong,maybe they have the wrong villas!

The farmhouse we are staying in is exactly like the pictures on the website,we are very impressed with the location,furnishings and the heavenly pool.it is very private and quiet location, The only thing you hear is the flys buzzing! the views are fantastic and the sunset is equally stunning.
If you want a perfect holiday,this is it.

Would i recommend the bellavista farmhouses? the answer is a big definite YES,we wil be coning ack next year!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HalifaxCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We arrived to the farmhouses late Saturday night. If you are going there I highly recommend you arrange with the company to collect you at the airport.

Upon arriving everything seemed perfect. You go through a arch and down an enclosed path, with the two story farmhouses on one side and the bungalows on the other. Everything seemed very close together but quaint. As we went in the door, there was a main bedroom with double bed to our left, with ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi bath, shower and toilet. To the right was another twin room with ensuite shower room. Further down the hall there was a spare toilet and ironing room to one side and then the hall opened up onto the living room/dining room and kitchen. There was a large window over looking the pool (all the other rooms have tiny windows) and a sliding door leading out onto the terrace which had an amazing view of all the surrounding areas. Each window and the sliding door had a net screen to prevent bugs from coming in.

The main bed was extremely comfortable, there were some dubious dark stains on the spare beds. For hot water, you must turn on a switch which will heat the water. I would advise to turn this on as soon as you arrive and just leave it on for your stay as the water can take 2-3 hours to heat up. The shower in the main ensuite could not be used as there was no shower curtain. We were provided with plenty of towels which were fine. We ended up using the shower in the spare room, which had a cracked floor that really dipped when stood on. The toilet seat wasnt attached to the toilet so it was a risk even to leave your towel on the lid. There were to dark brown leather couches in the living room which I'm sure were expensive and comfortable 5 or 6 years ago. Today they are falling apart. The cushions were falling off and when we sat on them we sank down into the back of the couch with our knees up around our ears and it was a hard effort to try and get back up. The kitchen was great. There was a gas cooker (and plenty of matches were provided). Unfortunately the kettle was horrible. There was plenty of cutlury and there were even some teabags and sugar in canisters. The biggest disappointment for us was the pool. It was FILTHY. There were dead bugs covering most of the surface, there is a net provided to clean these but for every one bug you get out, two more seem to appear. There were also some weird stains at the bottom of the pool. The sun loungers were dusty and crawling with insects. And the barbecue was unusable. The whole farmhouse floor needed a good sweeping. Oh and each night we had to check our bed for bugs. There were some big ants that seemed to find their way into the bed and they bite.

There was a welcome package consisting of fresh ham, bread rolls, butter, a bottle of water and a small carton of milk. If it wasnt for this we would have gone hungry the next day. We arrived to late on the saturday to buy anything and all the shops are closed on Sundays. There were also 3 mostly gone, things of toilet roll which wouldnt last more than a day for more than 2 people. When we paid, we recived a free bottle of wine Monicas husband made. It was so bad and vinegary we ended up using it to try and clean the inside of the kettle. Monica is an absolute gem. She really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and was so so helpful.

It is about a 10 or 15 minute walk into the nearest town square which has 2 restaraunts. In one the waitresses didnt get on, and they didnt try and hide that fact either. There is a delightful little pub in the middle of the square with the nicest barmaid I have ever met. There is a supermarket about 10 minutes from the farmhouses but dont be in a rush if you go in there. If the lady behind the till is in the middle of talking to someone, she will finish her conversation before turning to you. Supposedly the nearest beach is 35 minute stroll away. This is a lie. The nearest beach is about 20 minutes drive away and is a stoney strip along a road. There is only one sandy beach on the island, Ramla, which is about 20 minutes is the other direction, down a windy hill but it is amazing.

If you are visiting the island I would highly recommend you rent a car. Taxis arent exactly cheap and the local bus service is a joke. But renting a car is quite cheap and you will see the entire island in about two days. We managed to drive from the top of the island, to the bottom in about 45 minutes, thats how small it is.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CountessSpatula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

Best thing of the farmhouse are the magnificent views of the Citadel as well as the views of the rolling hills. The rest is a complete disaster. Here’s a listing of what we were told we would find (as per the website) to what we actually found on site:

a) sun terrace – chairs, sun beds and sunbed cushions were all stacked up in a dirty pile. The dining table with the umbrella did not even exist.
b) Fresh water swimming pool – dirty pool of water (more details in point (i) below).
c) General cleanliness of the place – am not even going to rate the cleanliness of the [place since honestly it is below expectations. Floors, windows, furniture and curtains were all dusty and dirty. It may be the case that this place has not been cleaned since summer of 2007.
d) Bathroom – Oh My God! Water taps coming off cause they needed to be fixed into their place again (not because of water pressure cause there wasn't any!). There was no water hose hanger against the wall (you would have to hold the water hose to have a shower). The bath mat was dirty and the towels that we were provided with were worn out . Luckily tho we had our own towels ..phew!
e) Sofa – apart from being really uncomfortable (hard as a rock), it also needed to be professionally cleaned since this one (like the rest of the place and furniture) was dusty. Note: when i say dusty, i mean you could see a layer of dust.
f) Utility room – electrical iron board and clothes rack did not exist
g) Bedrooms – no reading lights and/or lampshades. The funny thing tho is that altought these fittings were not in the bedroom, they were listed in the ‘what you break you owe’ list!
h) Ensuite bathroom – honestly I was disgusted to see the state of the bathroom in the place. A Jacuzzi is mentioned on the website … they forgot to add that the bath tub is rusty
i)Free services - ????!!!! This is what there is on the website:
a. “The newly arrived guests will find a fresh food pack awaiting them in the fridge consisting of water, sugar, coffee, tea, milk, ham, butter and a loaf of bread.” Don't even think about it .. we found nothing!! Instead we were give directions to the nearest supermarket (Obviously we had to ask our host about supermarkets in the area since what was advertised on the website was not found in the premises)
b.“Swimming pool is kept always clean.” Forget about this one as well. As mentioned earlier, the pool was dirty … we were also told by the host not to swim in it. I wonder why they advertised it as being clean at all times in the first place. Thought the use of the pool was to swim in it. Another time, I might as well pay for a farmhouse without pool!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank TPLaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank giadimarzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
0.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
734 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.6 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#3 of 4 in Victoria
22 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo

Address: Srug Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 1346, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Xaghra
Price Range: £59 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo is a family run business offering a charming collection of 21 self-catering farmhouses for rent. They are nestled in the quaint outskirts of Xaghra village, each enjoying stunning countryside views and a private pool. Each farmhouse enjoys its own private entrance. All the farmhouses have free Wifi, a fully equipped kitchen, bedrooms all ensuite, free Wifi, TV and air-conditioning. The Xaghra village square is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away. Here one can find a variety of restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, bank and a fuel station. The name 'Bellavista' acknowledges the sumptuous vistas that are the hallmark of our self-catering farmhouses. Our office lies in the heart of these farmhouses, ensuring 24-hour, prompt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Farmhouses Hotel Xaghra
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing