We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good villa with a beautiful view, peaceful private terrace with a pool, barbecue, sun-beds, dining table.. great location close to xaghra plaza which is full of great restaurants.. other than that the Maltese people are sweet and nice and service minded and all kind of good things..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear pshihi,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy to learn that your stay with us has been a satisfactory one and that you taken nice memories about Gozo with you back to Norway.

We hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again to our sunny islands!

Warm regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    43
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
79
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Ta' Pietra Farmhouse in Xaghra and it was amazing. This was the third time we stayed at Bellavista Farmhouses and were never let down. Each bedroom had an ensuite bathroom. Kitchen had all appliances, pool area had a bbq and deckchairs. Within walking distance to the centre of town, with supermakret, fish market, local church, restaurants and bars. Also, Monica, one of the owners was very patient and came over to our farmhouse twice as we had a problem with the lighting, and fixed the whole thing. Sure to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8April2013uu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 8Apriul2013uu

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor members. It is a pleasure to learn that we are able to provide you with a nice, enjoyable break every time you visit our little island.

We look forward to hosting you on your next Gozo break soon :)

Warm regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here early April with my partner. The location in Xaghra was perfect and it's a great fairly central point in Gozo for walking and cycling. The house itself was huge for us and I can imagine would be really good as a family or group. It was too cold for the pool but the terrace was great with a fantastic view on the valley and Victoria. It can get very windy on the front of the house but I suppose that's what you risk with the great position up on the hill! It wouldn't be an issue in the summer anyway.
The amenities were fairly basic but absolutely fine and Monica was very helpful. The airport transfers in particular were a really reasonable price and made it all stress-free.
All in all I thought the Bella Vista farmhouse was great value with a lovely view and really convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caennaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have just spent a relaxing 2 night/3 day stay in Gozo. The location of the cluster of farmhouses is just perfect - they are within walking distance of the village centre in one direction and the other direction leads you on a fantastic walk down the valley which leads to Marsalforn.

We were a group of 11 (6 adults + youngsters) and we stayed in 'Ta' Ċensa', one of the 4 bedroomed farmhouses of Bella Vista. The house was clean (except for a few cobwebs on one of the living room uplighters). Most of the beds were comfortable. We were supplied with 3 folding beds.

However, there were a few shortcomings which could have been avoided with a little bit of previous attention from the management. These were:

• There were only 2 wine glasses available : we asked for 4 more on the 1st day of our arrival but the management was unable to supply these;
• There were only 2 Cereal/Soup Bowls ;
• The gas cylinder was empty and we were instructed by the management to go and get a full one from the basement garage ourselves;
• Found no Can opener; this was supplied by a management representative who happened to be in the vicinity of the farmhouses when we needed it;
• No Sunbeds or Deckchairs: we were lucky to have 2 wonderful days of sunshine & it would have been nice to spend them relaxing on one;
• The House was very cold at night: we were not aware that we could purchase a Voucher Card to operate the A/C; a notice in each bedroom instructed that the ceiling fans could be used to heat up the room - see picture below!
• The Pool was not very clean and we also found a piece of broken glass on the steps leading down to the pool;
• No bathmats in any of the shower rooms;
• No rugs in any of the bedrooms;
• One of the ensuite toilets did not function & could not be flushed for fear of possible overflowing.
• The Television (a very old model however functional) offered Satellite TV Channels. These were numerous and offered programmes in many different languages. However, we found that there were a lot of channels which had inappropriate content. Ideally, the management should ensure that certain channels are blocked in order to keep children from stumbling across explicit content. Most satellite providers give you an option of creating a PIN you can use to block programs. This would be helpful.

Just to note - Bath Towels and Tea Towels were NOT provided. We were informed of this prior to our arrival, however this was the first time we had to take our own to Gozo. Reading previous reviews show that in some cases these were provided, especially in reviews written by foreign holiday makers - could this be a case applicable only to Maltese tenants?

It is a shame that Gozo farmhouses offering splendid views in a wonderful location are not maintained nor equipped to a higher standard and in a manner to make one's stay more convenient and relaxing. Unfortunately, letting out a farmhouse for the view only does not compensate for the shortcomings mentioned above. Tenants expect comfort where its due and value for money. We paid 400 Euros for 2 nights (50% deposit upon booking + balance paid immediately upon arrival).

Judging by the other reviews, most of the tenants were Maltese - surely the comfort should apply to the Maltese holiday maker in the same way as it is given to a foreign one? The potential that these farmhouses have is most of the time overlooked.

The management should take heed of these comments and consider them as constructive criticism. We love Gozo and its people and we shall continue to visit. A bit more attention where its due please.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vallettiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B, Manager at Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your time in reviewing us and for finding our location and scenery to your liking. However, we are disappointed to learn that your stay with us has not been 100% satisfactory.

Kindly be informed, that thanks to your review the issues that you have brought to our attention have been looked into and have not been left unnoticed.

Please be aware that we do not make any distinctions between our local or foreign esteemed clients. Bath and tea towels are supplied to bookings having a minimum stay requirement of 5 nights and have been operating with this policy throughout the many years of business we had in this industry. As you rightly pointed out, you were well informed of this policy prior to your arrival.

At Bellavista Farmhouses, we are fortunate enough to carry out frequent investments in an effort to keep our product at the forefront of the industry...the free Wifi, the air-conditioning units in every room of each of our twenty-one farmhouses and the satellite TVs to name a few. The model of the TV is also on our bucket list, however, the investments have to be panned out and cannot be carried out simultaneously. It is disappointing to learn that you were not comfortable with the temperatures at night, especially because this could have been every easily mitigated had you informed us about it, as you kindly and rightly did with other things. In addition, there is abundant information regarding the a/c on both the informative booklet that we supply in the farmhouse and on the front page of our website, as we believe that being transparent with clients from the initial stages of the booking process is paramount.

If we may be of help to you in the future, please do let us know and we hope your return to Gozo will be a more satisfactory one.

Maria Bigeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in Ta Emily from 30/10/13-5/11/13 we loved every minute of our stay, great value for money and stunning views - so peaceful. Nothing was too much trouble for Monica, she arranged our car hire and gave us lots of information about the local area.
Ta Emily was perfect for us as a family with small children, all on one level with 2 comfortable bedrooms both en suite. Monica provided us with a food parcel containing a few essentials including tea, coffee, milk, ham, eggs, jams and bottled water. There were plenty of towels and the farmhouse was lovely and clean when we arrived.
The pool area was private and a great place to relax while the kids played in the water.
The residents of Gozo were very friendly, and we felt very safe wherever we went on the island.
I would recommend Bella Vista farmhouses to family and friends and would return again as it is so peaceful.

Room Tip: If you have small children, Ta Emily is perfect as it is all on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Needs up dating,cleaners need a lesson in cleaning,would like sheets changing weekly,but all in all a great peaceful holiday.And we will return.Gozo is a beautiful island the residents are very loud but very friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in Ta Pawlu farmhouse. Absolutely stunning views. Private terrace and pool - totally secluded. The accommodation is comfortable - nothing flash - just cosy but then who wants to be inside when the views from the terrace are so amazing. Great base for exploring Gozo. Walking distance to Xaghra centre, Victoria and Ramla bay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
0.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#3 of 4 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo

Property: Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
Address: Srug Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 1346, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo is a family run business offering a charming collection of 21 self-catering farmhouses for rent. They are nestled in the quaint outskirts of Xaghra village, each enjoying stunning countryside views and a private pool. Each farmhouse enjoys its own private entrance. All the farmhouses have free Wifi, a fully equipped kitchen, bedrooms all ensuite, free Wifi, TV and air-conditioning. The Xaghra village square is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away. Here one can find a variety of restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, bank and a fuel station. The name 'Bellavista' acknowledges the sumptuous vistas that are the hallmark of our self-catering farmhouses. Our office lies in the heart of these farmhouses, ensuring 24-hour, prompt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Farmhouses Hotel Xaghra
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing