We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Oleander

Oleander
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had an excellent meal on the evening of Thursday 14th august 2014. atmosphere fab, food fab and the staff very courteous. would certainly recommend a visit. We had plenty to eat, even the starters were large portions. enjoyed by us all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 668duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    164
    51
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Eating Experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant often. The restaurant was empty and we were allowed to sit at a table of our choice. We ordered drinks and then the food. 5 minutes later the Manager "Brian" said he had made a mistake and that the table was booked in an hours time for someone else and could we move to another table as these other diners always sit at the same table. I refused to move as we had already started to drink etc. and the restaurant was empty. He told us as long as we finish before the hour and I told him that if we didn't finish I would not be moving. This conversation changed the whole eating experience and was not enjoyable. The meals came and one of the parties steak was overdone, and the pasta on another was still raw in taste and had to be sent back. Two new dinners had to be re-done, which meant we were now not all eating at the same time and when they finally brought them back the vegetables and potatoes etc. were cold and these had to be removed with more of a time delay. The manager never returned to apologise and the usual after dinner limoncello they usually hand out at the end of the meal was not offered. I had a very poor experience and a complete waste of money. I will eat else where in future as there are many restaurants far better in the square and will not return until the manager has been removed and I should have walked away from the beginning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiser V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Finally I have found somewhere where the food and service is as good as menqa l'antika. The starter of mozerlla, fig and Parma ham was outstanding but totally surpassed by the stuffed quails. Value great, location great. Even the house red wine was beautiful. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a lovely square”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really tasty food and fresh fish, big portions and very friendly staff and charming owner! The location on the main square in Xaghra is beautiful. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettina337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and hospitality”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the Oleander yesterday. The restaurant is situated in the town square. One can sit outside, with a view of the magnificent parish church, or inside with the air conditioning. The food was fantastic including Maltese and Gositan specialities. We were made very welcome by Martin, whose warmth and gentle wit added greatly to our enjoyment of the whole occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oleander also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Oleander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing