We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Pergola Farmhouses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pergola Farmhouses
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The was a bit of itching problem , Dont know if it is from the bed dust or from insects, but all in all ,good holiday, ice property ,nice pool.

It was a good time ,swimming in the pool , relaxing, looking at the view , I think it is a great holiday to relax with your family and friends, we were also close to the local shops, and also it is a good time to be in one of the most beautiful feasts in Gozo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoragius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mr. Agius,
Thank you for your review, glad you have enjoyed your holiday in our f/house. I'm very sorry to hear about the itching, most probably it was from the tiny mosqitoues.
All the best from Gozo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    11
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zejtun, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family and I spent a week at the wonderful Pergola Farmhouse in Gozo at the end of August. The location is incredible - overlooking a valley with sea views - and practically no neighbours. The farmhouse itself sleeps 13 comfortably and each room has its ensuite bathroom. Everything was very clean and the farmhouse is equipped with all modern amenities including internet access (paid for separately). The owners are really nice people, very helpful, and always at their guests' disposal. The little touches, like sweet grapes freshly cut from the vines in the valley below the farmhouse, left by the owner in the fridge for the guests, do make a difference. All in all, it was an unforgettable experience, which we are all looking forward to repeating next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Marcelle C,
Thank you for your lovely comments. You were great tennants and its a pleasure to accomodate your lovely family again in our f/house.
All the best from Gozo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've visited Pergola two times with friends.
The first time, we couldn't really belive our eyes since the view is outstanding and the houses are just more than perfect. Fresh , clean , modern while rustic and also very welcoming.
I didn't know that you could get anything this priceworthy .
I don't want to make this sound better than it is , but I promise that these trips blew our minds away and made us fall in love with Gozo and also the houses themselves.

Doris , the landlord, Great thank you's to you for your hospetality and help. Hope I will see you one's again.

If you want the best farmhouse in Gozo , chose Pergola, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Dina,
Thank you for your lovely comments and thank you once again for choosing our f/houses for your gozitan break.
Looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.
All the best from Gozo xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

For our group I chose the 4-bedroom Pergola villa for its peaceful, rural outlook from the patio, which is not a given on Gozo. Everybody congratulated me on this choice! Save for the farmers needing to work in the fields in the cooler evenings, it was quiet and very restful. We found the accommodation very comfortable and clean, and despite being in a quiet corner, close to a local shop, a restaurant and Marsalforn resort (riding the hire bikes up that hill did keep us fit! But when a pool awaits, it's no big deal). It also gave us easy (cycling) access to the wilder North West part of Gozo. The transfers arranged by Doris the landlady were efficient, and we were also grateful for the food pack on arrival. All in all the villa was everything we needed and more! A big Thank you to Doris and Co.

Room Tip: By necessity the window of the downstair double room cannot open, which can make the room stuffy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBChick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear MTB Chick 75,
Thank you for sharing your nice comments with trip advisor travellers. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our nice f/house. It was a pleasure hosting you all. Looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.
All the best from sunny Gozo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked this house as we wanted peace, views and a really private pool and garden and that's exactly what we got. The house was really clean and well equipped. If I had to look for a criticism it would be the lack of dishwasher in the kitchen but that's me being really really picky!!
Set down a quiet track with a view out to sea this is by far the best farmhouse we have ever stayed in and we've been coming to Gozo for over 30 years.
Doris and Julian were really welcoming and before our arrival the e mail communication was spot on.
I have no hesitation in my 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ms. Price.
Thank you for sharing your lovely reviews with Trip advisor travellers. Glad you have enjoyed your stay and felt very comfortable. It was a pleasure to host you all in our f/house.
All the best from sunny Gozo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are an extended family of 13 - 6 adults and 7 children - we have just returned from our first memorable visit to Gozo and the Pergola Farmhouse - we are all speaking of when we will return.
The accomodation was spacious, stylist facilities and clean with six ensuite bathrooms - two kitchens (one indoor and one outdoor) two freezers and two barbeques. The pool and views were exceptional - It was a wonderful place that helped us to have a superb holiday.
Our thanks to Doris and Julian for the information and the invitation to 'pick grapes' every evening that when we asked the children about their best experience of the holiday became top of the list with the pool and barbeques a close second!
The Pergola Farmhouse is a beautiful venue that is near to interesting locations like Malsalform, Victoria and Xaghra.We hope to return soon! Moss/Webb family

Room Tip: Book the transfers and car with Doris!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moss-Webbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Moss- Webb family,
Thank you for sharing your lovely reviews with Trip Advisor travellers. It was a pleasure to host your beautiful family in our f/house. Looking forward to accomodate you again in the near future.
All the best from sunny Gozo.
Doris and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed as two families and loved the farmhouse.we have friends who live in Xaghra and we were in walking distance so location was great, the views amazing to wake up to every morning. Xahgra square is great for coffee and cake, loads of shops nearby. Marslforn is lovely for lunch and dinner. Doris was great in communication and helping us once we were there. thank you! would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris S, Owner at Pergola Farmhouses, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear VCC1978, Thank you for your lovely review. Looking forward in welcoming you again in the future.
All the best from Gozo
Doris and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Farmhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Farmhouses

Property: Pergola Farmhouses
Address: Marsalforn Road, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pergola Farmhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pergola farmhouses are situated on this Mediterranean jewel, surrounded by many of the island's attractions and dominated by spectacular country and sea views. Our farmhouses are all situated in the village of Xaghra, one of the most beautiful on the island. It is the village where one can find the Ggantija temples (the oldest free standing temples in the world), Calypso's Cave, the magnificent Basilica and the bays of Ramla and Ghajn Barrani amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola Farmhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Farmhouses Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing