We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just come over to the butterfly houses and see for yourself how good this is”
Review of Butterfly Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xaghra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butterfly Houses
Ranked #14 of 16 Xaghra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I came to Gozo a week ago and I first stayed at a very posh hotel which was all very well but nothing compared to the butterfly houses. I’d seen the butterfly houses a few years ago when it was being built and I’d wanted to stay at the place and see what it would be like ever since.. I wanted to see what it was like to sleep in those absolutely beautiful beds, use the toilet, the shower, the outdoor and the indoor pool, cook and laze around and do nothing and I’ve done it. I’ve booked myself and my daughter here for 5 days and we absolutely love it. We’re enjoying the huge massive bed, the bathroom, the pool and even cooking some homemade food which is nice after you’ve been to a few restaurants. I’m even enjoying the privacy as you don’t get to see the other guests of the house unless you bump into them at the entrance of the house. The owner of the place is a great guy, helping with anything we need and he even helped me find my way back the first night I went out and about.

I strongly recommend this place as it’s absolutely brilliant, much much better than a hotel because it’s like being home but in a very beautiful home, the type of house one wants to have and doesn’t get around to having it that way.

Room Tip: the one with the tree things... Cast Away Room is the one my daughter chose but gosh, they're al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandrariera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

I am a regular visitor of the Butterfly Houses complex. I try to go up to Gozo as often as I can.
Gozo in itself is truly magical and has that charm and serenity that one does not find in Malta.
The farmhouses at Xaghra are very discreet from the street but once you step inside the main gate, you enter a wonderful maze of well manicured gardens and terraces, it is like stepping into another realm. One is confronted with 3 distinctly individual houses with uniquely decorated rooms. Many pieces of furniture are 'nature' inspired and you can immediately tell that a lot of love has gone into the houses. It is very difficult to leave once you are inside the complex.... i would say this place is very ideal for families, couples and groups of friends who are looking for something quiet, peaceful and uniquely different!

Room Tip: All bedrooms are amazing but my favourite has to be the Green Room in the Dreamweaver house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saschasammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've been to Butterfly Houses many times, and it is the only place that I would suggest in Gozo for people like me who would like to get away from the stressful fast-paced life for a few days and unwind and relax in quiet, relaxing and idyllic surroundings. It is one of the few rental places in Gozo that give importance to the decor and surroundings, with an attention to detail that is very hard to find. Each room in these houses has a different theme, with upcycled furniture and light fixtures... fused into interesting and extremely creative design concepts.

Having the owner living on the same complex (in separate quarters) makes the experience even more stress free, as any issues, if any, are looked into immediately. Most Gozo property owners unfortunately, would not even give a fraction of the attention to their properties or guests' needs, as the owners of this place. Above all he is always very discreet and never intrusive.

It's a perfect couple getaway but at the same time family friendly. Can't wait for my next visit! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed at Butterfly Houses in 2008 before the whole project was finished. It was just what I wanted and I immediately felt relaxed and at home. There was even some drink and food in the fridge/cupboards and the owner said it was considered 'normal' to leave something behind (obviously not food that could rot!).

The room was fantastic and it was so peaceful to be able to just sit outside by the pool with a glass of wine and totally relax.

I stayed in the main house but would love to stay at one of the other two properties now that they are finished. Each room is so different you could come back every year and not be bored! There is something about this place that makes it very special. I have to admit I felt special staying there!

Room Tip: Every room is different so I'd eventually like to try them all if I went back to stay there enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazytrav003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our privacy was violated at least five times throughout the course of our stay. There is no doorbell and the owner took the liberty of barging in with his dog unannounced. Not only was he intrusive, but on the final night he subjected us to verbal abuse. We are all busy young professionals who work hard throughout the week, and our weekend is a time where we can unwind in a hassle free environment. Instead, we were essentially subjected to a curfew of half past ten, as the care taker's property overlooked our own garden.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rxl119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xaghra hotels
0.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
0 mi away
Sardinella Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Tranquility Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il-Logga Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ellie Boo Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Bellavista Farmhouses Gozo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Houses

Address: 13, Gajdoru Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Xaghra
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Butterfly Houses Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing