We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb property for a relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Rahal

The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining The central courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining
The central courtyard
Master bedroom
Ensuite to master bedroom - the old birthing room
Upstairs twin bedroom facing the sun terrace
Ensuite shower room of upstairs twin bedroom
The roof top sun terrace and outdoor shower by the pool
The view from the roof top sun terrace towards Marsalforn
The cosy lounge - originally the stables
The dining area in the stables
Fully equipped kitchen
Downstairs twin with ensuite shower/washroom
Downstairs en-suite shower room with washing machine
The back terrace shaded by vines
Gate to the pool area
Safety gates on all the stairs
Plenty of toys, books and baby gear so you can travel light
Courtyard by night
View across the Marsalforn salt pans
Xlendi cliffs at sunset - our favourite walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Patman196...
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“A superb property for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great farmhouse for the whole family to enjoy, even those with young Children. Pool is safe and can be securely locked for peace of mind. Internet available for the tablet addicted visitors. Especially quiet and peaceful area allows you to take time out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank-you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed all the facilities of our farmhouse and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisdibb
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent two weeks at Dar Rahal in July / August 2013.

Both the farmhouse and the village of Xaghra were absolutely fantastic.

We visited with our two children aged 6 & 12 as well as my inlaws who are both in their 70s. The farmhouse is very well equipped with a lovely sun trap by the pool and a nice and shaded court yard which was much needed as it got very hot. The neighbours are also very friendly indeed.

Xaghra in my opinion was the best village in Gozo and has a nice selection of restaurants which are all within very easy walking distance of the farmhouse.

Gozo itself is simply fantastic and the people were some the friendliest I have any come across anywhere in the world.

There is no doubt that we shall be back in Gozo before long and would love to stay at Dar Rahal again!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear that our farmhouse suited you all due to the different areas - you can escape from the sun or enjoy it by the pool as you wish. Like you we're of the opinion that Xaghra is the best village in Gozo and love the fact that the village square, and all it has to offer, is just a short walk from the farmhouse. We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great holiday in a beautiful 400 year old farmhouse”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We loved our stay at Dar Rahal! It was the perfect way to spend our week in Gozo and to enjoy experiencing life on the island. The farmhouse is filled with character from the moment you arrive outside the beautiful front door and step inside the secluded courtyard with bougainvilleas. The arched walkways, wooden shutters, hand painted steps, and limestone walls make it the perfect retreat from the hot weather. We enjoyed our stay with just two of us but it also suits a large family with lovely spacious living areas and a small pool to cool off in. The farmhouse is conveniently located as it's only a 5 minute walk from Xaghra town centre - we enjoyed walking up there in the evenings to have dinner at our favourite local restaurant 'Oleanders' where we ate outside under umbrellas and enjoyed the atmosphere in the village square. The farmhouse is well set up with everything we needed and the owners were so helpful even providing us with maps and information on what to see and do on the island (including suggestions re restaurants) which made it all so easy for us. We would definitely recommend hiring a car as there is lots to explore - we especially enjoyed the Citadel in Victoria, the towns of Xlendi and Marsalform and swimming at Ramla Bay. Dar Rahal is the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing holiday and experience life on Gozo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtyard - it was the perfect place to relax!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank for your lovely review of our farmhouse. We're pleased you found it well equipped and that the holiday information we provided was useful too. We're delighted you got to experience Gozo late in the season with weather that enabled you to swim in Ramla Bay and the farmhouse pool, two treats not to be missed. Hopefully we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonykatka
WOrthing
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Farmhouse, a haven to relax, recharge and enjoy”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Spent 8 days here in Sept 2013, We were attracted by the child friendly nature of the farmhouse, and it provide excellent. Our 18 month old have a great time exploring in a safe environment without fear she could fall down lots of steps.
Everything we needed was there, my only recommendation to future visitors is the use of insert repelling incense, the fly's are a pain but by burning incense it helps this situation massively.
Overall - full recommend and would use the place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Fly's
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review. You're the first person who's commented on the safety gates, it's great to hear they really do their job in terms of keeping little people save from the stairs. Sorry to hear the flies gave you trouble but glad to hear you found the solution to this - we'll try the same next time we're in Gozo. I hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful farmhouse in a great location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As soon as you open the front door to this property and find yourself in a beautiful, secluded courtyard covered in flowers, you know Dar Rahal is a special place. It's a 400-year-old farmhouse with bags of character and a small pool up on a deck, which is great for younger children. The owners and housekeeper were extremely helpful and the location wonderful - just a 5-10 minute walk from the town square, which is surrounded by outdoor cafes and restaurants, all of which had good food and very friendly service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded courtyard
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review and delighted to hear our farmhouse impressed from the moment you stepped through the front door. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit, not only our farmhouse, but everything Xaghra has to offer too and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sn0wgarth
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the location, the courtyard, the pool - in fact everything”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Dar Rahal is a genuine Gozitan farmhouse less than a 10 minute walk from Xaghra's village square. The village itself has lots of good restaurants and there are plenty of shops to buy supplies.

The shady courtyard was ideal for outdoor dining, though we hardly used the large living area inside. There is one bedroom on the ground floor and two at first floor level, all independently accessed. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The plant filled courtyard dining area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2013
Thank-you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our farmhouse and it's location. We think Xaghra is one of the best villages in Gozo due to the various shops, restaurants and bars all walking distance from our farmhouse - it makes for a very simple holiday. We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMullans
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once you step through the doors it is like stepping into your own tranquil hideaway.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Great place, farmhouse well equipped, swimming pool great, my 14 year old twin boys and 77 year old mother loved it! Lovely ground floor bedroom and bathroom, my mother felt like she had her own apartment. Have a cup of tea, sit by the kitchen window and watch the travelling shops go by and listen to the village life. Make sure you take a look at the local church, amazing. Everything you need is in the village, papers from the petrol station, local bread and wine and good restaurants. Looking forward to our next trip to Gozo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review. It is really nice to hear our farmhouse suited all ages of the family and that you found Xaghra a well serviced village, making your holiday an easy experience. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$826
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing