We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Rahal

The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining The central courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining
The central courtyard
Master bedroom
Ensuite to master bedroom - the old birthing room
Upstairs twin bedroom facing the sun terrace
Ensuite shower room of upstairs twin bedroom
The roof top sun terrace and outdoor shower by the pool
The view from the roof top sun terrace towards Marsalforn
The cosy lounge - originally the stables
The dining area in the stables
Fully equipped kitchen
Downstairs twin with ensuite shower/washroom
Downstairs en-suite shower room with washing machine
The back terrace shaded by vines
Gate to the pool area
Safety gates on all the stairs
Plenty of toys, books and baby gear so you can travel light
Courtyard by night
View across the Marsalforn salt pans
Xlendi cliffs at sunset - our favourite walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Anna M
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely farmhouse”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent one week in these lovely farmhouse and had really a great time there.
The house is exactly how it looks like from the description and pictures, and even better. The owner Rachel was very kind and gave us all the information needed about the house and the staying, promptly replying to all our emails. At our arrival, the neighbor Ms. Lela, was there to give us the key and to show us the house, and during our stay she was always available next door for helping when needed. The house itself is really very nice, large, quite, very typical farmhouse, completely equipped for all our needs. A nice welcome pack with some local products was also there for us when we arrived, which was a very nice care!
We had really a great and relaxing time in the farmhouse, and we would for sure recommend to friends for a staying in Gozo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole farmhouse
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank-you for your comprehensive, lovely review. We're delighted you had a great stay and that you found everything to be as you'd expected, if not better. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future for some more Gozo relaxation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, child equipment
Liked least: A few mosquitoes, the noisy cockerel!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank-you for your lovely review, we're delighted you and your family, especially your toddler, enjoyed our farmhouse and all its facilities and toys! Traveling light has always been a must for us as a family and we've tried to think about that in what we offer our guests at the farmhouse so we're glad it's hit the mark. I hope we can welcome you back to Gozo again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donabate, Ireland
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tips and information provided were really helpful
Liked least: Did get hot at times but to be expected mid-July and air-con not feasible in a circa 400 year old farm-house!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank-you for your very complimentary review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our farmhouse and found everything to be as expected. It's always good to hear that the welcome pack and additional information provided is of use too.
I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Gozo and our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank-you for your kind review of our farmhouse, we were delighted to welcome you back.

Like you we are very disappointed in the state of Xaghra Square and hope this is returned to its former glory soon. Whilst not ideal it does provide an opportunity to explore Gozo in search of bars and restaurants set around a typical Gozitan Square - we would particularly recommend Qala for this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden oasis”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights at Dar Rahal and we had the most amazing time. It is fairly central in Xaghra and we were able to see the whole island easily. The house is a spectacular stone farmhouse that stays cool during the hot days. We were greeted by the lovely neighbour who showed us around the house and we even had welcoming goodies such as local wine, fruit and bread. After busy days exploring the island it was a treat to return to Dar Rahal to either relax in the sun by the pool, have evening snacks/drinks in the courtyard or to retreat into the lounge for a movie. The island of Gozo itself is a gem with gorgeous coastlines, amazing history and lovely people. We really hope we can visit again one day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
A lovely review, thank-you! We're so please you had such a fantastic time both at our farmhouse and exploring around Xaghra and the rest of Gozo. We would definitely love to welcome you back again in the future. Safe onward travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55Kate552...
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful place and very well-suited for those with young children”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of friends with 3 adults and 3 young children and loved our stay here. This unassuming facade opens up into a magical private courtyard! Everything works well, although the wifi signal was unavoidably limited to the kitchen and courtyard by the thick stone walls (that did not matter to us). The location was an easy walk to the town square and very good restaurants. The owner was very responsive and helpful in arranging our stay and our needs for transportation and a car rental. The owner does not live there full time, but the neighbor who met us to show us around was very hospitable and helpful and we had no problems with any of the arrangements. The welcome basket of grocery basics, including coffee, milk, wine and fruit, made the first night and morning easy and were much appreciated. We loved the location and the traditional home experience.

There were plenty of toys, games and essentials for young children, including gates at the top and bottom of staircases. The kids loved the small pool. It was cool when we were there, so we were very comfortable without heat or air conditioning. Nothing to complain about... we would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank-you for your thoughtful review. We're glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay and all the facilities our farmhouse had to offer. We are visiting our farmhouse in June so will investigate if we can boost the Wifi signal so it extends further in the farmhouse. I hope we can welcome some or all of you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
We're so pleased you guys had a great stay and found the farmhouse to be suitably equipped for you all. Thank-you for your lovely review and wonderful feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future. I agree with you on the early morning noises - there's always something and as you say, can't really be avoided on such a small island. All the more reason to partake of an afternoon siesta!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;