We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gianni & Stefano - pity I cannot give a 7 star rating here.....”
Review of Gianni's

Gianni's
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: My son Stefano and I moved from Torino, in the North West of Italy, to Gozo after coming here on holiday several times. The reason is that we were in love with the people, the way of live and the sea that this island was offering us. Here we noticed that the italian cooking is well known and reproduced mainly concerning courses that belong to the South of Italy. On the contrary, we've hardly had the pleasure to taste some of the ones from the North. In order to supply to this lack, we would like to introduce some of the traditional courses from the North of Italy and, in the same time, to propose the favourite local dishes (excellent fish, savoury meat, ripe vegetables...) but differently cooked, following our own special style.We will try to make you experience unprecedented flavours, discover unknown virtues of already famous food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere where to spend happy hours. We will make any effort to make you satisfied. Thank you.Gianni
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
308 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Gianni & Stefano - pity I cannot give a 7 star rating here.....”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On a family day trip to the Island of Gozo, we decided to stop at a restaurant for a decent evening meal. We looked up Tripadvisor and got GIANNI'S in the village of Xaghra. We were not disappointed !! Stefano greeted us and offered us a table on the balcony with a lovely view of the village of Zebbug and the Citadella in the distance and Marsalforn bay down below. The lovely summer evening breeze added to the atmosphere while witnessing a lovely sunset just in front of us !! The menu is ECCELLENTE !!! Mainly Piemontese but using locally fresh ( very fresh) produce from the Island of Gozo. We had Pasta as starters and we also had Meat and fish as main course. All was cooked to PERFEZIONE (perfection). The wine added to the bonanza of this lovely evening. I want to be clear about the price. It is not cheap. But please bear in mind that you will have the best service from Stefano. He will be constantly visiting your table to see if you need anything else and confirm that all is fine with the food. Ask for more bread ( they bake it themselves) . It is lovely and nicely baked. Bookings are highly recommended.

Gianni and Stefano, I am sorry but I can only rate you as 5 star here. But I can confirm to all readers of Tripadvisor that you gave us a 7 star service when we visited you. That will make us return for another SERA MOMORABILE (memorable evening). COMPLIMENTI RAGAZZI !!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano_Remondino, Guest Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for one of or the best review we received until now! It's been a pleasure to have you and your family here with us. We are always very happy when our customers appreciate all the efforts.
For next SERA MEMORABILE we will do our best to deserve at least 8 if not 10 stars.

Until next time
Saħħa

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    37
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By far one of the best in Gozo”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just got home from our 2 weeks holiday in Xaghra. It was our third time there, and this time we dinned at Giannis on two occations... And if it had been easier to get there we would have dinned there much more.
There's many good restaurants at Gozo, but this is by far one of the best. The food is simply some of the best italian we've ever had. And so is the service. It's personal and super friendly.
The location is spectacular with a beatiful view of the island.
We hope that Giannis will be there many years to come... Then for sure we will :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasmus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano_Remondino, Guest Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello,
Thanks for the kind words. It's been a pleasure for us having you and your nice family here, twice. We are planning to be here for the years coming, and to always improve our quality.

We hope to see you on your next holiday in Gozo,
kind regards

Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with a breath taking view..”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic meal at Gianni's...very impressed with the friendliness of the staff! Amazing views and lovely ambiance :))

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano_Remondino, Guest Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi,
I'm very happy that you enjoyed it so much! As a family run restaurant we always do our best to make our customers happy! Thanks again for the appreciation.

Kind regards,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected service”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

They took an hour and a half for first plate to be served. Staff was polite and appologised for the delay but still was disappointing. Menu was very limited with most items not available, food was good but could have been better. Excellent country view and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walton_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano_Remondino, Guest Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi,
I'm very sorry if you didn't have a great experience. I don't know if you had booked or not. Sometimes on very busy nights it might happen that the wait is longer. It is our pride but sometimes a bit of a limit that we do everything at the moment and from scratch. We don't precook anything, so we can't just throw something in a microwave or an oven to warm up and serve it in 5 minutes.
The menu is limited for the same reason and, if you come late on a busy night, it can be that some of the specials or of the items are finished, but usually not more than 2 or 3.

Of course, being the one who takes care about reservations, I always do my best to avoid to have more orders than manageable coming to the kitchen in the same moment. Unluckily often customers won't arrive at the time of the booking, making it more difficult to keep the wait short.

I hope you will be willing to give us a second chance, so that we can show you what the real experience at Gianni's is meant to be.

Kind regards,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect view, super dinner”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We (party of 17 people) just had an exquisite dinner experience at Gianni's. The view across the bay is fantastic and if you make sure to book your table about half an hour before sunset, you get a spectacular view of the sun setting behind the hillside for free :-)

It is not a slow food restaurant; but as Gianni says in the introduction to the menu, they make everything from the ground up so expect a bit of waiting time for your meal.

Even though we were 17 people, serving was planned and executed so that we ended up eating all our different meals together - very nice.

The food is delicious, whether you choose meat or seafood - and supplemented with delicious and freshly baked bread.

If you're up for a chocolate overload, you should consider the 70% chocolate w. chili choko surprise for dessert. It is fantastic (but very, very rich!) :-)

You would not expect to find a restaurant of such quality at the back end of a smaller village on the outskirts of Gozo!

(Oh, the staff is kind and enthusiastic about guiding you in your choice and has lots of information on the local produce and wines).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JesperSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano_Remondino, Public Relations Manager at Gianni's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi.
Thank you very much for your kind words. As you said, we do everything at the moment and thus sometimes a bit of waiting is unavoidable also because we know it is nice for the table to eat all at the same moment. We are very happy when our guests understand that the bit of waiting brings with it a higher quality.

We hope we will see you again on your next free diving trip to Gozo.
Thanks again for coming

Regards,
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gianni's also viewed

Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Gianni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing