We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been before but was a mistake coming back”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been before but was a mistake coming back”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We arrived at the cornocopia on 16th July 2011 for 1 week. After being shown to our room we were greeted with a letter left on the dressing table telling us the main pool would be closed all day as there was a wedding being held that night at 7pm! Why the pool had to be closed all day for this we do not know! However after going out and returning that night the music was absolutely blasting out till after 2am so there was no chance of getting any sleep. Who is this hotel catering for , the paying tourist or the wedding parties? The bedroom we were allocated had a lot to be desired, dodgy electrics, very dated furniture and fittings, the whole place needs a renovation. It may have been a 4 star many years ago but it is far from it now. You turn on the cold tap in the shower and end up been scalded with scorching water! Not good! Patio doors do not close properly it's all very well gozo is a safe place but it's not the point. Staff this time some were friendly, others quite rude.Breakfasts ok but no proper healthy options no yoghurt or fruit apart from watermelon . The hotel is in a good position which is why we returned although you do need to hire a car to get around. You are not far from anywhere, so getting around is easy and there is some nice places to see. If you are looking for a 4 star quality hotel maybe you should look elsewhere on this island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xaghra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    261
    79
    16
    6
See reviews for
165
416
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at the Cornucopia for a full week (July 8-16, 2011). This is certainly not a 4 star property, but it does have some redeeming features.
Pros:
The price is right.
The coordinated travel to and from the airport perfectly.
They arranged for a scooter rental (however, it was probably 20 years old, and broke down once!)
Great place for families. About a 10 minute drive to the nearest beach.
Xaghra is a great central location for exploring the island, and the town center is quaint.
I ate dinner at Oleander almost every night --- the fish is always fresh, and you can select if from a platter before it's cooked.
The grounds were very nicely maintained and kept clean.

Cons:
The rooms are in bad shape. Moldy caulking in the shower; bathroom door frame falling off.
The towels reminded me of junior high gym class . . . and not in a good way.
Really in need of updating and repair.
Wifi only available in lobby and a few rooms; not consistent.
The food was not great ---- the fish was always previously frozen.
Breakfasts were a carb lovers fantasy.
The staff were hit and miss --- 1/2 were friendly, 1/2 didn't smile.
Not great for solo travelers . . . . lots of kids in the pools, noisy, etc.

Room Tip: If Wifi is important to you, ask for a room facing the pool. Room 61 had a strong signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostboynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

great staff, great hotel and had agreat time thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treborrebbew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel is charming, with helpful staff, great breakfasts and relaxing seating areas around the pools. Xangra is only a few minutes walk away and has several good restaurants and bars although to get around Gozo a car is essential. We had B/B and enjoyed evening meals elsewhere although we did have dinner once in the hotel. We can't recommend it highly enough for a carefree and relaxing holiday. The only drawback is that we had to pick up our hire car from Malta airport as it was part of the Thomson package. Would book direct next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbena91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

A little out of the way....but beautifully relaxing. two great pools , seldom very busy, great sitting out areas , mature gardens and great views from some rooms. The rooms are large , spacious and clean.

Good breakfast selection ( the coffee is however from a 'machine' and pretty grim).

The hotel is a little dated , but this adds to the relaxed old world charm of the place. Big comfy chairs and 1980's music !

Th restaurant was OK , nothing special. However if you want to get away from it all the Cornucopia offers seclusion and charm at very reasonable prices with great views around Gozo into the bargain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Cornucopia is a first class, relaxing hotel with bags of charm and comfort. The staff throughout are courteous and friendly and they will go out of their way to help you, We stayed in a "valley view" room and enjoyed magnificent views from our balcony of the fertile valley from Victoria to the sea. Wide choice of hot and cold buffet for breakfast and a comprehensive well prepared table d'hote or set menu for dinner. Our room was kept very clean and we slept well. The hotel has within its gardens a lovely sheltered pool area with plenty loungers and seating. The bus services on Gozo and Malta are frequent and cheap but a hire car is a must unless you are very fit if you want to explore. If you are looking for peace, history, friendly people and wonderful scenery then Gozo and the Cornucopia is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelDuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had been inside before, but only for a drink. This time on Gozo we decided on a hotel rather than a villa now we are only two. We were not disappointed. Spent a lovelt relaxing week on half board at the Cornucopia. The staff are all a delight - nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is excellent - we had no need to eat out all week! The room was comfortable and kept very clean with fresh towels daily. OK , the decor etc. is in a time warp but this is Gozo and part of its charm. It was very quiet even for Whitsun break. Some days there were only 4 or 6 around the pool! So, no fighting for sun loungers. Speaking of which my only suggestion would be for a supply of new ones. More than half of the existing ones are broken. We shall return to this little haven.
One note of warning would be to say this hotel in my opinion is not particularly small child friendly, or suitable for the very infirm or those with mobility problems due to the steps and lack of lifts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soot-case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
701 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing