We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet and peaceful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
MAlta europe
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“quiet and peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Recently we spent a weekend in this hotel. It was so peaceful and enjoyable. The layout of hotel is typical to a Maltese farmhouse. It has 2 pools and in winter it is cosy and welcoming. The room is quite big and warm. Our room was on the inside so at no time was there any noise from cars or anything really.. Silence ..perfect. the breakfast was good and staff polite and nice. Will go back for sure.

Room Tip: try booking a room or suite with a view..The view is glorious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    242
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
157
391
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was my 2nd stay at Cornucopia, staying with a painting group, and the staff were once again friendly, helpful and efficient, the food was very good, and position on Gozo excellent, as it is easy to get to, but far enough away from the main tourist route not to be heaving!

Room Tip: As for a room to the front for fantastic sea views across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinafoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Arrived 11th October for a week. Can't say enough good things about the staff who were friendly, professional and made our stay a very pleasant one. We stayed half board and enjoyed amongst other things swordfish, rosemary lamb and chicken with lemon always accompanied by the delicious bread. Breakfast was plentiful and adequate. The pools and gardens are lovely, although in October the unheated pool does require you to 'bite the bullet'! With a view of the pretty courtyard our simple room was spotless with comfortable beds. The bathroom showed signs of wear, but was clean and functional, the only niggle was the shower which had to be held as there was nowhere on the wall to put it. A car is really the only way to see all the delightful island of Gozo has to offer. Highlights were the beach at St Blas and the Citadel in Victoria.

Room Tip: Alot of people recommend the valley view rooms but we found sitting on the balcony overlooking the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinjackSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We had stayed at Ta Cenc a couple of times and thought we would try the second hotel in the Victor Borg empire. It was a bit disappointing. I don't think the hotel had seen any investment for a good few years. Our bathroom had paint flaking off the walls and a permanent leak at the bath. The maids laid a towel on the floor each morning at the leak site so they obviously knew about it, but nothing was done to fix it. The meals were pretty second-rate. The breakfast selection was very downmarket - the cheapest cereals, muesli, etc available and drinks from a Nescafe machine. We only had dinner in the hotel once, and it was pretty basic mass catering. The catering was of the standard you would get in one of these British hotels that cater for coach parties of pensioners (I speak as a Scottish pensioner), not even up to the standard of, say, a Premier Inn (nowhere near it, in fact - Premier Inn breakfasts are excellent).
It is a fifteen minute hike up to the town centre - but I guess it keeps you fit.
Plus points? The two swimming pools, the minibar and the view from our balcony of the setting sun. If you do choose the Cornucopia, insist on a room with a view over the Marsalforn valley.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanz1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Arrived 15th September 2011 for a week at 1.30pm, the reception were very quick in allocating our room.We had a valley view room with a veiw to Marsalforn and the sea. the room was comfortable and the balcony had sun all afternoon.The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cooked and continental food. We stayed on half board and the dinner was waiter service and the menu consisted of a selection of fish,meat and vegetarian starters and mains with a sweet trolley for afters, all well cooked and plentiful. House wine at approx 7euros for a litre which was good. The hotel is a 10 minute walk into the square at Xaghra which has a beautiful church, supermarket and a few restaurants. The hotel has two pools and comfortable sunbeds with unbrellas. Although my wife is on a strict gluten free diet the chefs went out of their way to ensure she ate well.Altogether a good hotel with excellent staff.

Room Tip: choose a valley room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just back from a most enjoyable stay in Cornucopia. We had booked a standard hotel room however were upgraded to a bungalow as our air-con wasn't functioning properly. The Bungalows are just fantastic - pool, terrace, great views, really quiet, immaculate. Having seen the standard room, valley view room & bungalow I would opt to book the bungalows if at all possible.
We availed of treatments such as Acupressure back massage & Indian Head massage provided by the lovely on-site therapist Lyndsay. Very enjoyable at a great price.
We hired bikes to get around. Gozo is small - 14km by 7km - so is just perfect for a cycling trip. Cornucopia is situated in the centre of the Island which means its perfect for day trips to any part of the Island. Gozo is hilly, however as the hills are short if you do have to get off & push your bike you won't be pushing for too long. If you don't have a very detailed map (we didn't) it will be hard to find your way around away from the main roads. The road signs off the beaten track are a bit non-existent. We used Google maps on our iPhone to figure out what tracks to take to get off the main roads as we found them too busy for enjoyable cycling.
Xaghra is a lovely village with a couple of good affordable restaurants - Oleander, dVenue, Breeze & a Chinese. We also ate in the hotel. Both eating out & eating in was top quality.
I cant say enough about the friendliness of all the staff. Brian, the Manager, seems to be on-duty 24x7. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Either book a bungalow or try to get an upgrade. The Bungalows are fantastic & the hotel rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed for two weeks in September 2011 got a hire car in with the holiday we found it a must.
The room was simple and cleaned every day, we got there in the early hours and couldnt make a hot drink as no kettle,every thing is spotless including the pools. One other negative was the breakfast it was just ok plenty of it but just ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
2.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
15.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, BookMalta.com, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing