We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice.”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
llandudno junction
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice.”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

my wife and I have just returned from a fantastic two weeks at the Cornucopia Hotel on the wonderful island of Gozo. our aim was to relax and take in some of sights on the island and we were not disappointed. set in a wonderful location with some fantastic views and staff to match. nothing was too much for Brian and ALL of his staff. we were looked after very well. the food was excellent and a great choice on the menu each evening. we had a valley view room and the view was just lovely. we took a jeep tour of the island with a local company and our driver Joey was a delight. with local knowledge he was a great asset to our trip and is to his company and island. we will be returning next year. many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    256
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
163
407
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Got home today from another lovely week at the Cornucopia.Just like going home. Nothing changes. The staff couldn't be more helpful, curteous and kind. The weather was disappointing, but everyone tries to keep you cheerful.
The new Arriva Buses do make getting around easier and this time was our first without a hire car.
Keep it up Brian - we'll be back!! (Did I hear an "Oh no!!!!!")

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soot-case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I can fully endorse what other reviewers have said. We had two nights in May 2012. We had the three-course Dinner (including coffee) on our first night and thought it was very good and excellent value at Euros18.50. After two weeks in Malta, Gozo was so much quieter and Xaghra is a lovely peaceful town. We were so rested after 2 days we were reluctant to leave. Other places in Gozo (Xlendi, Victoria, Ramla Beach etc) are easy to reach by car (current road diversions permitting!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Since last time I wrote a review, I have visited the hotel in 2009,2010 and 2011. Last time with Norwegian friends . And they also really loved the hotel, the view, the staff and the food. The atmosphere is lovely, so is the staff with gm Brian Caruana in front.The food is tasty and nicely presented, and especially the outdoor barbecue and carving evenings are the highlights. Since I wrote my former review, the bus scedules has improved very much and you can now visit other parts of the island by bus till late in the evening. Both my friends and my husband and I will for certain visit hotel Cornucopia again!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road have the most wonderful views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We went here one evening for dinner, wasn't cheap and food was poor, nice hotel, nice location but the food let it down, might have been a one off but we wouldn't go back

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip9836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Pip 9836,

We sincerely thank you for finding time to share your valued culinary experience, and the good comments about the Hotel.

We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations with the food served to you on that particular evening, and as you very well pointed out it was a one off occurrence. None the less we would have appreciated it if you were a little bit more detailed in your review to enable us to pin point any shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you wish to contact me it would be a pleasure. And an even greater pleasure to welcome you again should you change your mind.

Yours truly

Brian Caruana

General Manager
Cornucopia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It was one of the best weekend break ever .... there is nothing more beautiful than staying in one of the best hotels in gozo !!! its ideal for those who wish to enjoy the typical rural countryside in Gozo .. Everything was excellent : rooms cleaned very well , also the good food it was simply delicious and also the great staff and also the good Management that i cannot forget to mention .... Just it was amazing .. Thanks...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had a very relaxing and pleasant stay at Cornucopia Hotel. The location is ideal for those who wish to enjoy the typical rural countryside of Gozo, while being close to the village centre of Xaghra. The staff are all English speaking and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skorfy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
682 reviews
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing