We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for the second year running at the Cornucopia, this time in a suite rather than the bungalow that we had last year. Would highly recommend, very spacious, well appointed, large room, huge bathroom, great balcony. Breakfast is standard buffet style, nothing to complain about, plenty of choice and pleasant surroundings. We were B & B so cant comment on evening meals, we preferred to walk into Xaghra and eat al fresco in the village square. The staff are lovely, Brian and his team go out of their way to be welcoming, and we recognised many of the staff from last year, always a good sign. This hotel is well situated for a quiet break, the village is lovely and the locals very friendly and welcoming, and you can walk to many places quite easily, or get a bus to anywhere on the island. Weather was very hot as well, so a bonus (for us, although the locals were wanting some rain!) Will be returning next year.

Room Tip: A valley view room gives stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Salandmick,
Thank you for your repeat visit and for finding the time to review it.
We are pleased to read that you found your accommodation and Holiday satisfactory.
We look forward to welcome you next year.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    256
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
163
407
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for a week out of season in October. On the first night we arrived late and we were allocated a very small room which was stuffy and inadequate. After speaking to the manager in the morning we were moved to large triple room which was a vast improvement, however, the beds were old and creaky with very hard mattresses and cheap pillows. In general the hotel is very good and the staff friendly and helpful with excellent food on offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel if you are looking for somewhere quiet to chill out and relax completely. Most residents were middle aged couples or single persons with only a couple of families with young children. Not recommended for teenagers. If the rooms were upgraded slightly it would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Don't take a room low down across from the pool area. Garden view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear ruggiebabe,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip advisor community.
It was a pleasure to change rooms for you as your satisfaction is what matters. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay, especially your comments about our staff.
Wish you all the best
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice location, quiet great measures in the bar! swimming pools were nice and clean.However can see that in high season it would be cramped and noisy with little or no privacy. It obviously popular with some countries more than others

Room Tip: go out of season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraggash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Kraggash,
Thank you for finding the time to post a review on Trip advisor.
We are pleased to read that you found our Hotel and grounds nice and clean. I would like to point out that the Hotel has only 48 rooms, so even when full it is never cramped.
Once again thank you and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England based
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a hotel that offers you adequate and basic accommodation so manage your expectation wisely. Being there outside of the peak period was great with plenty of room around the pool to relax, no shortage of tables at breakfast or in the evening, but! I would not relish the thought of being there in peak season. The service was friendly if slow and the staff poorly trained in even the most basic aspects of service. A total lack of understanding as to how to serve and pour wine, an alamost faulty towers delivery of service in the dining room and an almost non-existent presence of management. Putting all these comments in perspective it was not expensive and I was there to relax so just rolled with the lack of professionalism and the best efforts of the staff. My comments are directed at the hotel management as they need to show leadership and guidance to their team.

Room Tip: Look at the sister hotel Ta Cenc, it is everything the Cornucopia is not. I went to have a look arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Scotty011,
Thank you for finding the time to post your review. We are glad that you had a relaxing holiday.
Although we try our best to give the best possible service on all levels of the Hotel, it is true that at this time of the year we have trainees in the restaurant, so we do apologies if the service wasn’t up to your expectations. None the less your comments have been fully noted and necessary action taken.
Once again thank you, as your feedback is very important to us.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I resided in this beautiful hotel only a few days, but they made me very happy and satisfied. The stuff is just lovely, will help you any time -for excample- as I am really spontan, I wanted to use a swimming pool in 1am and the very nice stuff men allowed me to do that and turned on the lights only for me (pool works only till 8pm). However, I would recommend you to visit this beautiful hotel in their beautiful country. :)

Thank you very much for the hosting!
Eleonora from Latvia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora_Matule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Eleonora_Matule,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel. We are pleased that you found your stay satisfactory and that you had an enjoyable experience.
Hope to welcome you back
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Many thanks to Brian and Co. for another fantastic weekend break we had at the Cornucopia. As usual fantastic staff, food and comfortable room. Looking forward for our next holiday break at the Cornucopia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Stephen G,
Thank you for your repeat visit, and for finding the time to review it.
Really pleased to read, that once again you found all to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On outskirts of Xaghra, the Cornucopia is a nice but tired hotel. Its part of a group of 5 star hotels and it feels like it hasn't been updated for about 20 years and might get all the old stuff handed down from the other hotels.
We got a standard room on check-in, which was huge with an extra twin bedroom. Decor was dated and double bed small and short, but the small balcony looked out over the upper pool so we were fine with it. However the bathroom was old, fittings were rotting away and the water that came out of the the pipes was yellow. So we asked for a room change and the very helpful manager Brian gave us a bungalow.
The bungalow was the bottom one (50 steps down a hill) and was even more spacious than the room had been. Open kitchen/living/dining area, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a small terrace that led to the small shared pool. Very nice view over Masalforn and nice lay out.
However here too everything was quite tired. The few pool beds were all broken, and the pool itself clearly old and in need of some (minor/cosmetic) repairs.
Bathrooms were ok but also old and slightly yellowing, and one toilet had problematic flushing.
The double bed was small and short again, but also extremely hard so had to switch to the twin beds to sleep. Even though I normally like hard mattresses, this was just too much.
Brian switched the mattresses the next day which definitely helped. But problem was that the mattresses weren't very thick and the bed frame didn't have slats or springs, but just a flat board.
So probably the beds here are not to be recommended if you have a bad back or are tall (over 5'11/180cm your feet start hanging out over the end).
The breakfast is in a nice enough space with low, old ceiling beams but it feels crowded with the (cheap looking) tables & chairs. There's a basic buffet, with eggs etc under heater elements and bad instant coffee (from vending machine). I skipped the breakfast after the first time as preferred to go elsewhere and get decent coffee and food.

In general I would say that the Cornucopia is attractive looking though not too spacious in its communal areas. And fine for a 3 star hotel, especially the size of rooms, general cleanliness and friendly manager Brian are a big plus. But it is tired looking and the refurbishment (apparently some rooms have new bathrooms) long overdue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Joann166,
Thank you for finding the time to review your experience at the Cornucopia Hotel.
We are really sorry that on your arrival we experienced water cuts and when service resumes it comes yellowish which recede after letting it running for a while.
Unfortunately on that specific day the Hotel was fully booked, and the only alternative accommodation available was the bottom bungalow which to get to it there is some thirty steps. Coincidently at the beginning of this year all mattresses in the bungalow section were changed to new orthopedic ones, so maybe it was hard for your liking.
All the restaurant furniture is made from solid oak with a rustic design, and this is the first time that any one described them as cheap.
Although we try our best to give the best possible Holiday experience to all our guest we understand and respect that everyone has his own perspective of things and we do apologies for not meeting yours to the full.
Wish you all the best
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Cornucopia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
682 reviews
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing