We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fantastic New Year Break!!”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A really quaint hotel with fabulous food and exceptional customer service. The staffs' approach to guests is naturally friendly and helpful. The food was really good especially on the buffet nights and New Year's Eve. The room we had was spotless with plenty of storage space for clothes. All in all a brilliant holiday if you want a quiet and indulgent break!!!
Many thanks to everone at the hotel and especially Joanne, Allan, Marie, the female Receptionist and Manager who booked us in, the Chefs and the Cleaner who took my husband's muddy trousers home to wash as the laundry service had been postponned over the New Year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear bev b.
Thank you for finding the time to review your experience of your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel.
We are really pleased to read that you found the Hotel and its amenities up to your expectations. We join you in complimenting all the staff for the hard work and sacrifice they have put in, especially during the past festive season.
Wish you all the very best for the New Year.
Hope to see you all again,
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is excellent! I like to spend some days in Gozo every few months and this hotel is my automatic choice. it's homely, the staff is very helpful and they all go out of their way to give you an excellent service. Most of them have been working there for years and would immediately recognise returning guests. The manager, Brian, is very friendly and is approachable to guests and staff members alike. He's always there to help and has managed to create an atmosphere where everybody works hard in a friendly environment. Guests are provided with excellent food, spacious and comfortable rooms, ample pool space, clean and large pools and much more!
The breakfast is delicious with ample choice. You can have continental or English breakfast or both. The English breakfast includes chips or potato balls/ croquettes. There are many cereals to choose from, three flavours of juice, water and about 8 hot drinks to choose from. You can have cake, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread, cold cuts, fresh fruit (especially in summer). The choice is infinite. Their breakfast is equal to a lunch in any other hotel. It's a buffet breakfast so you can have as much food as you like.
The lunches and dinners are excellent. You are either given a set menu with three or four choices for each of the three courses, Starter, Main course, Dessert. The menu is not so rigid so if you don't like any of the choices given you might opt for something else. The staff is usually very helpful on this and is able to provide you with solutions even if you have allergies or some condition preventing you from eating certain foods. The food is always delicious and waiting time is minimal. The restaurant is also very clean and room service is available. On Tuesday and Friday evenings guests are treated with a lavish buffet including all sorts of salads, two/three different choices of pasta (you may take all three), four/five different meats accompanied by vegetables, potatoes, etc. The desert table includes about five different options and one may opt to have an ice cream. In summer, you can enjoy all this by the pool and the chefs include bbq food like sausages, hamburgers, etc in addition to the usual foods. One is surely spoilt for choice.
One thing I love about this hotel is that even when it is full, the place is still very quiet and you are allowed to relax peacefully in your room at any time of the day. Room service is excellent and waiting time is about 15 minutes. The maids are very friendly and have been working there for years making you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The waiters in the restaurant do the same thing and the people are the reception are extremely friendly, trying to accommodate every request and answer every question guests pose. They all do their utmost to make people feel at home and in fact, many guests are returning guests as many get what other hotels do not offer. The fact that the hotel is not very large helps keep a homely environment with guests being treated as family members by the staff.
I usually visit the hotel with my family and stay there for four or five days about three or four times a year. Children are welcome. They have a children's pool and the restaurant caters for children as well.
The only problem I see is that there are no lifts and so wheelchair bound persons may have a hard time in this hotel as the old structure is full of stairs even between rooms and so that might cause a problem. The hotel management should do something about this. There are only two floors, the ground floor and the first floor so it is not tiring to climb the stairs and elevators may not be available for this reason and to keep the old look. This hotel is a converted farmhouse and contains most of the features one may find in a farmhouse. These features give it a rustic style which make this hotel unique and very attractive. Elevators may ruin this look, somehow. The staircases are surely those which were originally in the property before it became a hotel and give it a lovely look.
The rooms are very spacious and include a bathroom, which includes a bath not just a shower as most hotels offer nowadays. The bathroom is well equipped. The beds are very comfortable and additional pillows can be provided on request. Air conditioning and central heating together with ceiling fans are available. All rooms overlook either the pool/s or the beautiful valley so you will surely enjoy wonderful views waking up in the morning.
Guests are also able to use the facilities in the sister hotel Ta' Cenc Hotel, which has its' own spa, pool facilities (indoor pool included), gym, etc. So, anything missing from Cornucopia could be found at Ta' Cenc Hotel free of charge!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and most of my friends visit regularly as I do, since many people end up returning to this hotel. I've been to many hotels in Malta, Gozo and abroad but none of them offer the tranquil and relaxing holiday, Cornucopia hotel offers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ruth S,
Thank you very much for such a detailed and optimistic review.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your lovely family.
Wish you all the best, and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I just checked out this morning of the Cornucopia hotel after a two night stay over the New Year.
Our stay was simply wonderful.Nice cosy rooms,friendly staff and a excelent service.
We booked for the NewYear's Eve Gala Dinner and had a lovely evening with fantastic food and there was a very nice festive admosphere with live music and countdown at midnight.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Maria F,
Thank you for your review. We are really glad that we managed to start your New Year on a positive note.
Wish you all the best.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was really looking forward to this visit to the restaurant, the staff were very nice and polite. The place is nice and clean. The menu was poor. I had vegetable soup which was bland and my main meal was mushroom whatever and that is all it was a pile of them with onions. Very poor and basic for the money. My other half had prawns (all fresh) and good and quail which wasn't great.... The wine I wanted from the menu was out of stock so I chose another to be served a 2005 Chardonnay wine which had lost all it's flavour and turned brown a new world wine which should be drunk sooner. I guess I should have complained!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Clare R.
Thank you for visiting our Restaurant and for your comments regarding the cleanliness and politeness of staff.
We are really sorry to read your comments about the food especially when asked if all is ok you did not mention anything. We would like to verify a point as to regards the mushroom dish you mentioned. You opted for the A La Carte menu and chose a starter dish for your main, which if you read the description it clearly says that it is ‘oven baked fresh mushrooms, onions, garlic in wine and herbs’.
As for the wine we do apologies for that, but again if you had said something we would have gladly changed it for you.
Having said that, we do apologies for not meeting your expectations and all points noted,
our intention is and always will be the satisfaction of all our guests.
Wish you the best for 2014
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a lovely comfortable and homely hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the helpful staff. The food was excellent (we have also eaten here on other occasions as the restaurant is open to non-residents), particularly considering that this was Christmas Day.
The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean with their own small terraces to sit outside. Yes, maybe the bathrooms could benefit from an update as other reviewers commented but you can be assured of a pleasant and relaxing stay.
Pools and public areas are very clean too.
2km from the nearest amenities so car hire would be beneficial but the same can be said of most of the higher end hotels on Gozo.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Coral008,
Thank you for finding the time to review your stay over the Christmas period at the Cornucopia Hotel.
It gives us great satisfaction to know that we managed to give you a good experience.
I would also like to take this opportunity, on behalf of all the staff to divulge our best wishes for 2014 to all of you and all trip advisor community.
Hope to be able to welcome you in the near future.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It could be the time of year and a holiday season but.......
Pros: Very nice hotel in a quiet location with excellent ambience, helpful and attentive staff.
Christmas eve dinner gala was exceptional with many course dinner and excellent entertainment.
Christmas day dinner was a buffet and average.
Plenty of hot water and well stocked bathroom.
Cons: No real coffee for breakfast but choices from a Nescafe dispenser.
Breakfast buffet quite adequate but was not hot enough for my liking.
Although internet connection in the room was excellent, it was 3.00euros for 300 minutes.
All in all a pleasant experience and I would go back.

Room Tip: Room 33 was comfortable with view of countryside and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Crazylimey,
Thank you for your contribution. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Eve dinner and had an overall pleasant experience. Please stay assured that the ‘cons’ you mentioned have been fully noted, and acted on were possible.
Once again thank you and would also like to wish you and your family all the best for 2014.
Hope to welcome you in the near future
Regards3
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in one of the Bungalows overlooking the Valley. This is not our first stay at the Cornucopia Hotel, we have stayed in different locations around Gozo but keep returning to this Hotel not just because of the views and amenities but because the staff is really helpful and goes the extra mile without ever being intrusive. Kudos for keeping it this way along the years.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcaruana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear rcaruana_11,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia hotel with trip advisor community.
We really appreciate your lovely comments about the Hotel, especially about our staff whom we join you to congratulate them on their invaluable service.
Once again thank you and wish you and all your family all the best.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future ,
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
738 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing