We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet lovely getaway in Gozo”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for one night in the Junior Suite for my boyfriend's birthday. The room was very spacious, clean, large balcony, central heating, and spacious bathroom. The scenic view was incredible. We were on a B&B basis. The breakfast was good, and staff nice and helpful.

A suggestion is to refurbish the bathrooms, and a few details in the room such as the shades, lights, and doors.

We had an overall very good stay, and we would stay again. Thanks

Room Tip: the view of the junior suite is great, especially during sunrise. recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Spiral84
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel.
We are really pleased that all went well for you, and that you enjoyed the suite. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have two junior suites and one of them is currently being fitted with a new bath room. If all goes as planned will also do the suite you were in.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Cornucopia. Like many other reviews the rooms are basic however have an element of charm that draws you to them. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. Me and my girlfriend would have happily stayed there longer and were slightly gutted when our 5 nights were up. Maria and Josh were especially helpful.

Only fault the fridge didn't work in the room.

Room Tip: No fitness centre however 2 pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie0072004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Scottie 007 2004,
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel with Trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Maria and Joshua send their regards
Hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My dad and I stayed here for a whilst on a diving holiday, and we definitely would love to return.

The room was very basic, but very large and clean, the air con never seemed to work- which is why I haven't rated 5 (excellent).

However, the staff were all so friendly, helpful and cheerful. They all seemed to bend over backwards for you.

The evening meal was always delicious. We ate out only once at night as the food was to a great standard. The choice of the specials 3 starters and mains always varied. We also ate from the A La carte menu- which too was great.

On a Sunday there was an all you can eat BBQ- which had a lovely atmosphere and tonnes of food!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear bedslug,
We really appreciate your time to review your stay with us back in September, as feedback is highly important to us.
Your comments about the Hotel in general and about the staff have been noted and shared by all the staff.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Cornucopia hotel is a nice and charming hotel on the outskirts of the village of Xaghra. Our room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable with a lovely view over the valley of Marsalforn.
Initially we were booked on a bed and breakfast basis, but after dining there on our first evening,we decided to change to a half board basis for we enjoyed our meal very much. On the Friday there is a carvery night with live music. Also the breakfast was really good with plenty of choice (continental as well as cooked breakfast).
All the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and polite. They make you feel right at home. No wonder that some of the guests we spoke to were repeat guests.
There is free WIFI available in the lobby of the hotel and in the rooms against a small fee.
We did not use the pools since it was winter, but we can imagine that they will be very popular in the summer.
We found the hotel to be a good starting point for walks and also from the center of the village there is a bus service and the hop on hop off.
The island is simply beautiful with historic places, a beautiful country side and lovely beaches.
We had a nice relaxing holiday and will hopefully be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for a valley view room. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Miriam J.
Thank you for finding the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Cornucopia Hotel, with trip advisor community.
It is with great pleasure to read that all was up to your expectations.
Hope to welcome you back
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel looked great on the website, really capturing the old magic of Gozo. On arrival, the hotel did seem quite attractive, with a quaint and peaceful atmosphere, tucked away in a tranquil and scenic spot. My first impression wasn't great, however, as the receptionist was on a personal call (she probably thought I was a tourist and didn't understand Maltese). She left me waiting for a minute or so before pushing a card over the desk and gesturing me to fill it in, all the while still chatting away. I thought this behaviour towards a newly arriving guest was quite unprofessional in a four star hotel. Then, she couldn't find my booking. In fairness, the other staff were all friendly and courteous. The room was fairly comfortable and offered lovely views across the valley, but I wouldn't class it as a four star - three perhaps. Not a bad hotel on the whole, and I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear mdone8,
Thank you for finding the time to post your review and for your lovely comments about the Hotel in general.
We highly appreciate it for bringing forward your experience upon check in. Please accept our apologies for any short comings, as we know and understand that first impressions are highly important.
Stay assured that your comment has been fully noted and acted on.
Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Together with my family we dined at the Cornucopia Hotel in Xaghra Gozo. Must admit this is a place where people care and for sure we will be back again. The location, the food, and the friendly service was second to none.

Room Tip: We dined in the evening, but for sure we would have loved it even more if we been to the place in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Anthony g,
Thank you for finding the time to review your dining experience. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your evening from all aspects.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Arrived on 20th December for Xmas and New Year leaving on 4th January. This is a lovely quaint, and atmospheric hotel in a fab position overlooking Marsalforn Valley down to the sea.

Frank checked us in at Reception and we have to say he was a pleasure to speak to for the whole two weeks!!! He kept us laughing, he gave us tips on where to go and how to get there. He's a credit to the hotel. Likewise the other reception staff.

Brian the Manager was very helpful when we had just one minor mishap which meant we were offered a room change which was great.

Maria in the restaurant was a star and Ian would like to thank her again for the lovely mince pies she brought him. The chefs and all restaurant staff worked very hard to make sure everything ran smoothly especially the Gala Dinners which were superb. The food is plentiful and high quality.

Rooms are clean and airy with loads of storage etc. Outside areas are beautiful and pools very well designed. Not brave enough to risk the winter chilled water though. Would love to re visit in summer and take advantage :@).................... we'll see!

Finally, if Brian is reading this review, please pass on all our best wishes to everyone and see you all later this year.

Room Tip: Choose high room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Dizzy 2902,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and for your lovely comments about our staff whom we join you to congratulate them on their valuable service.
We are really pleased that all was to your satisfaction and your comments have been shared by all the team.
On behalf of all the staff would like to wish you all the best for 2014,
And hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing