We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cornucopia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gozo Hills Bed and Breakfast(Xaghra)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Preziosa(Xaghra)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Sardinella Bed & Breakfast(Xaghra)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gozo Tranquility Bed and Breakfast(Xaghra)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
398
282
85
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
282
85
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardfriday nightlovely hotellive musicvalley view roomfour star hotelthe main hotelset menufood is excellenta la carte menucleaning staffconverted farmhouseshared poolfried eggspublic areasbbq nightceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a weekend break at the hotel for Father's Day-2 rooms in all! Upon arrival we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and they had only reserved one room. They tried to claim that it was our fault however when we told them that we had confirmation for 2 rooms they said that they could only offer us a bungalow which costed more than the price we paid and said that we were lucky as this was an upgrade! We had no other choice but to agree since we needed a place to stay!!
On our last day we asked them the time for check out which was at 12.00 pm and we asked them whether we could stay and check out later even for an extra charge if needs be but they a adamantly refused! To add insult to injury prior to the check out time they called us and sent the house keeper to remind us that we need to check out!!
Furthermore, we realised that they were going to charge us more since 2 rooms costed more than the price of the bungalow and only after telling them this did they agree with us!

On the whole staff were arrogant, not helpful and cheeky! It's a shame since the location and view are priceless even though the furniture desperately needs upgrading due to broken sunbeds and chairs, broken lights etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Grazi,
It is with great dissatisfaction that I reply to your review as you very well know that events happened differently than how you wrote them.
It is true that we made a mistake with your booking as both your bookings were done in a three minute time frame with same name, dates and credit card details, and the person involved thought it was the same.
On your arrival date at around 23.45hrs you checked in and on realizing our mistake we offered you an option; either take the two rooms you booked or take a three bedroom bungalow or bungalow and a Hotel room, which after showing you all rooms you chose to stay together in the three bedroom, three bathroom bungalow!!
On Sunday morning on your way to breakfast your mother was engaged in small talk with the receptionist and it was at that moment that we informed you that we were going to charge the rate of a bungalow which comes cheaper than the two rooms which you originally booked
When after breakfast one of your party came to reception to see if you could keep the Bungalow longer than the normal check out time , we explained that we had new arrivals coming in that bungalow but agreed to allow an extra hour meaning 13.00hrs instead of our usual 12.00(noon) checkout time at no extra charge, and if they wanted, stay and use the pool till the evening.
We never called you and certainly did not send any member of housekeeping to remind you!.
If you were so disgusted why did you want to stay longer?
We tried to make contact with you several times to try and understand why you twisted all the events the way you did, but to no avail.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in one of the bungalows which had a lovely view over the valley and Marsalforn. Patio area was huge and there was plenty of space in the apartment. The kitchen area was ok although the fridge door was a bit skew whiff. The surrounding area was generally very peaceful. The food was good with flavoursome soups and meat dishes. There are lovely grounds with lots of sun beds, tables and chairs. We found the entertainment at the BBQ excellent.
The restaurant staff were very efficient and and showed concern and support when I went for my meals on my own as my husband was unwell, particularly Maria and Alan. Brian the manager was also supportive regarding my husband being ill but as he was off duty when we left I was unable to thank him.
I would say that if you have mobility problems that a car would be an essential as it is quite a walk to the main square where the bus stop is and the roads are uneven.
I would consider returning here again if I was to go to the Maltese Islands again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Connie141,
Thank you for finding the time to share your recent holiday experience at the Cornucopia Hotel.
It is with pleasure to read that over all you had a positive experience despite your husband getting ill.
Maria & Alan send their regards. We hope that he is fully recovered.
Wish you all the best and hope to welcome you both again in the near future.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cornucopia is a lovely, intimate hotel in a tranquil and picturesque setting, and is certainly the perfect place to spend a quiet weekend.

Bougainvillea, in purple and orange, adorns the hotel's façade, and decorates its outside BBQ and pool areas. The cottage feel extends from the hotel's reception area, which includes a shady green courtyard, a lounge, a restaurant and a bar, to the room (which was homey and comfortable).

The regular Friday night BBQ buffet by the pool is a scrumptious experience and a must.

Cornucopia must be commended for its very friendly and very helpful staff, and the excellent service offered.

Well done, and thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne_Borg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Roxanne_Borg,
Thank you for your review.
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed all Hotel’s amenities, especially your comments about our staff whom would like to take this opportunity to thank them for their dedicated work.
Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Amazing staff,so friendly with an excellent location for Victoria,village of xaghra,Ramla bay,restaurants etc. lovely private pool and hotel pool,view amazing at sunset and morning.perfect holiday for adults and kids.

Room Tip: Apartment on other side of the road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimOTourrettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Tim O Tourrettes,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Cornucopia Hotel with trip advisor community.
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Generally a nice spot, and it seemed quieter than a lot of the other places in Malta that are swarming with busloads of (mostly older) tourists. I stayed in a "bungalow," which is actually an apartment on the other side of the road from the main hotel. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, good sized living room/kitchen. I was there mostly to get out of the city and prepare for an exam, so I wasn't really looking for much - just a place to sleep, eat and enjoy the view. The view is very nice. The room was fine, though the furniture was old and the bathrooms could have used a makeover. The smaller bedroom also smelled pretty musty. There was a semi-private pool, deck chairs, a private patio all looking out over the country side -- all very good.

The food at the restaurant was generally good, though forgettable. Not surprisingly, the fish was a strong suit. Friendly wait staff. Breakfast was also consistently OK. Buffet with toast, jam, some pastries, some sausages I didn't want to try, a bit of cheese, eggs over easy.

I'm not sure what the actual hotel rooms are like - maybe they're nicer. But I wouldn't go there thinking it's going to be a particularly luxurious place. Mostly older couples, though everyone seemed pretty happy. I went mostly for the quiet and the view and wasn't disappointed with either.

Also, the service was pretty spotty. I asked for a working phone on the first day so I could order lunches to my room. Twice, actually. The girl at the desk said she would make a note, whatever that means, but no one ever tried to fix it. Which, again, isn't really the sort of thing that ruins a vacation, but it speaks to the attention this place's owners are putting into it.

This review feels a little more negative than I wanted it to be, but Cornucopia calls itself a four-star hotel, which clearly it is not. If you go there expecting less than that, it really is a good and affordable place to stay and enjoy the weather & view.

Room Tip: See above. The "bungalows" have a nice view and lots of space.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rprose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear rprose_10,
Thank you for your review, as feedback is highly important to us.
Although we are pleased that in general you had a good stay, we have noted the shortcomings you mentioned and will be discussing issues with head of departments concerned.
Wish you all the best with your exams,
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews