We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to love! Memorable family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to love! Memorable family holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just got back from spending a seven night family holiday at this hotel.
We booked two bedrooms (each with two people in) and the hotel were excellent in arranging these to be adjacent and both rooms had a generous sized balcony overlooking the stunning pool.(see picture)

The rooms were always cleaned to a high standard and were fully air conditioned. Very much appreciated! There was also a good amount of storage space.
We felt the hotel fulfilled the 'Oasis of calm' nature that was described on its website. Staff were very friendly and happy to help with our individual requirements.
The breakfast was generous- plenty of choice from fresh fruit to a cooked breakfast and a selection of coffees. Perfect start to the day.
In terms of the pool area this hotel has 3 pools plus a Jacuzzi. We mostly used the Jacuzzi which was refreshing. Although we did hear some reports of the Jacuzzi being temperamental-we found it worked fine and used it to cool down in every day of our stay.
Both pools were lit up in the evening which created a nice atmosphere.

We also enjoyed the barbeque night (held every Friday at the hotel) which brought a relaxed and celebratory feel to the end of our holiday. There was a great range of food and the live band were brilliant.

One of the best things about this hotel is its location. It is sign posted from quite a distance away. Although we hired a car, the hotel is only a fifteen minute walk away from the central square in Xaghra, which has charming cafe's, a church and local events going on. This makes Cornucopia stand out amongst other hotels on Gozo as it has a handy central location.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We'd recommend it-its no wonder other guests we spoke to said they come back year on year. Staying here certainly made our first family trip to Gozo and Malta a memorable holiday, and we look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyandVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Kathy & Vichy,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with trip advisor community.
We are really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable week with us, as after all that is our objective.
Hope to welcome you yet again.
Wish you all the best
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    246
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
160
395
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks self catering. As stated by other reviewers, the accommodation is not 4* by UK standards, more like 3*. Bungalow was very spacious with adequate facilities for cooking. Very comfy bed and the whole bungalow had air conditioning and ceiling fans. We had a large patio with chairs, table and loungers with a pretty 'garden' providing some welcome shade. A pool was next to our bungalow, which although was very convenient, could also be quite noisy at times and also reduced our privacy. Having said that most of the time we had the pool to ourselves and it was very peaceful. A bungalow on a higher level would probably have better views of the valley leading to Ramla bay and would possibly be quieter (furniture being moved in the bungalow above was quite noisy at times!). Brian the manager was extremely helpful as were all his staff, nothing was too much trouble. Cleaning staff were also brilliant, they cleaned everyday. Buses were really good, very punctual but not very frequent and at 6.50 Euros per week were excellent value. We hired a car for 2 days but it's not essential to get around the island. All in all we had a lovely two weeks and would recommend the Cornucopia bungalows.

Room Tip: Higher bungalows probably have better views and more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissClumsy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear LittleMissClumsy1.
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your input.
Really pleased that over all you had a lovely two weeks at the Cornucopia Hotel Bungalows.
Thank you for the recommendation.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qrendi, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

my daughter wanted to give all the family a short holiday. Searching on internet she choose cornucopia and we didn't regret it. excellent service from all staff, good food, comfortable rooms, and wonderful views We go in the pool as we step out the farm house. As it was our first time in a farmhouse we like it. Hope this will not be the last time. Thank you all. We recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Rose B.
Thank you for expressing your recent stay at the Cornucopia Hotel with Trip advisor community.
It was our pleasure to meet all your lovely family and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Wish you all the best.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a bungalow at Cornucopia Hotel. Idyllic surroundings, incredible views, easy to reach other parts of Gozo. Privacy and exclusivity of the bungalow within easy reach of hotel services.

Room Tip: I would recommend a bungalow for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Patricia C.
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are really pleased that you were satisfied with all aspects of your holiday.
Wish you all the best
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth,England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I often wonder what criteria is used when rating hotels. The Cornucopia has been awarded 4 stars. Probably wouldn't agree...more like a good 3 star. I always feel a good guide is the state of the bathroom. In this case,although reasonably clean.it really could do with smartening up. In all other respects my stay was pretty uneventful. Room perfectly adequate size wise,comfortable beds, food(breakfast/dinner) very good and the staff were excellent throughout. The hotel is a little isolated,but having said that ,for those that can manage it I would suggest the 10 minute walk up (and it is up) to the village where a 6.50 euro bus ticket will take you all over the island for a week. I personally wouldn't spend out on car hire. This is a lovely island and I would imagine totally different to it's big sister Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Raycblue,
Thank you for finding the time to review your stay at Cornucopia Hotel. Although we are pleased that you had a good stay, your remarks have been noted.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having spent one week in Malta then took ferry to Gozo for 2nd week, weren't disappointed with this tiny island, really pretty and laid back and everything within VERY easy reach - beautiful churches and great to get involved in the fiestas and Ramla Bay was great - busy tho- and watch out for jellyfish

The hotel was a little tricky to find but a local pointed us to the right location and the village of Xaghra is quite large but still rustic and pretty.

the outside looked just like the photos on the website and as you enter there is a small cool area with seating and lots of green areas around. Once through main door you come straight to reception and the booking in process was quick and painless and they went to great pains to ensure you knew you had to pay for all drinks

bit disappointed with location of room which was round the side of the hotel facing street but could still the countryside which was stunning. Room itself had three beds , tv, fridge (small) some furniture, wardrobes. Bathroom looked quite new and modern. No complaints with standard of rooms at all

food was good at this hotel although the breakfast quality (buffet) was a bit hit and miss some days the bacon had a lot of fat. Friday night barbecue was excellent

Service was excellent at all meals. you were always asked if the meal was ok and they went to great pains to ensure you had what you wanted.


the restaurant was a lovely setting and had plenty of tables and chairs but you didn't feel crowded

swimming pool (there were 3) at top of garden area was lovely and unlike previous review, Jacuzzi was fine and we have only been home for a day so must have been recent that it stopped working.

everything was kept clean and all staff were friendly.

WIFI access was ok inside the reception/bar area but non existent in rooms or outside

good selection of channels on the TV.

there was a sign saying there was a shop within the hotel and when I enquired I was told it may not be open on Sunday or Monday as it was a public holiday so I waited until later in the week and when I asked again I was told it had shut down?

other minor points : bar not always staffed and had to go looking for someone to serve you - saw other guests having same problem

very cheap plastic beakers in bathroom to put your toothbrush etc in - shame because the bathroom itself was lovely

drinks quite expensive we only drank beer to keep costs down but soon added up to quite a bit

they had a very large group of children ( approx. 30) visit during our last afternoon and they had a pool party complete with loud music and this and their shrieking and jumping in pool drove guests away. the manager noticed this and pointed us in the direction of their 3rd pool.

would have been nice to have been given some notice- could have arranged to be out that day!!

above points have impacted on scoring resulting in 4 rather than 5 but overall a good holiday at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triploverSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Triplover Surrey,
Thank you for sharing your week’s stay at Cornucopia Hotel with trip advisor community.
We are glad that over all you had a good holiday and we do apologies for any inconvenience that we might have caused you. All points mentioned are noted.
Wish you all the best
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a weekend. We booked the hotel over the phone and we've never visited before. We stayed in a double room over-looking the valley, which I would say is a lovely view. The room was clean however the decor is quite old and certainly not up to the standard one would expect from a four-star hotel. The service on the whole was good. When we booked, we asked whether we can have a safe place to store a bicycle. The reply was in the affirmative. When we arrived they offered a place outside the hotel on the street in a dark area and when we complained that we were not happy about the spot they said that was the only place they had, which meant that we had to spend an evening running around with the bicycle in the car. The following morning we spoke to a different member of staff and he provided us with a solution by offering us a decent place for the bicycle in the hotel and therefore solved the problem. We've also made use of the pool area, which we enjoyed. The breakfast was also decent and food was also available when we breakfasted late. What we didn't like was that they had a jacuzzi which however didn't work. The location of the hotel is good, as it is away from the hustle & bustle of the city but yet it is quite central, practically just 5 minutes away (by car) from the village square where one could also find cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for the valley rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Annalisa D.
Thank you for finding the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that over all you had a good stay.
Regarding the comments you mentioned regarding the safe keeping of your bicycle, the receptionist on duty showed you our designated place where we have our bicycle rack which is located in an area next to our front garden. None the less on seeing that that you were not happy leaving your bicycle there, we were more than happy to help you out.
Thank you for your visit.
Regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
783 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing