We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, full of charm”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at the Cornucopia and thoroughly enjoyed it. You can't expect a building that is based on an old farmhouse to be ultra modern, but it had character and charm in spades! We found the air con in the rooms (2) we stayed in was perfectly adequate for sleeping and during the day, the fan added extra coolness. Rooms were clean and well-kept - yes, a little dated, but it didn't bother us. We had bed & breakfast and found the breakfasts very good - plenty of choice, well-cooked. The 2 barbecue evenings were superb - so much lovely food! We asked to change rooms, as at first we were in one on the front, which shared a balcony area with 4 or 5 other rooms, so there was not quite so much privacy as we would have liked. The manager, Brian, was really helpful and sorted out a new room for us which had a private balcony and better view. Brian was a fantastic manager, always prepared to help make our stay as good as possible, and other staff were friendly and helpful. As the hotel is relatively small, you can get to know the staff during your stay. Xaghra is a small village, ( a good 10 minute walk from the hotel) but has a number of restaurants all serving reasonably priced, good food and, while we were there, we found village entertainment in the Square on a number of evenings.The Cornucopia is a picturesque, quiet hotel, ideal for relaxing. The smaller pool, in the beautiful central courtyard, is the quieter and the larger, back pool tends to be used more by families. Both are clean and well-maintained and we didn't have any problem finding a free sunbed. For travelling around Gozo by local bus, get a timetable, but be prepared to wait - it's Gozo time!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the valley or smaller pool have the best views/balconies. Rooms 33 - 37/38 share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Lynda B,
Thank you for your positive comments as this motivates us even more.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your week’s stay with us and hope to welcome you once again.
Best regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We booked the Cornucopia Hotel purely on the images on their website and the reality was even better. A very pleasant hotel with very friendly, attentive and helpful staff and good size rooms. The hotel has more than one swimming pool and with good sun beds and a local glass of wine it was a pleasant way to relax after visiting the beautiful island of Gozo. Breakfast was ok but not great.
Our room was on the outside and had a great view over the valley and you could even see the sea,
The sort of shared balcony /galley offered sufficient room to sit outside, nip a drink and enjoy the scenery.
The only downsides of our room was that there was no way to open a window or have fresh air while we were sleeping and that the AC only made a lot of noice but did not cool a lot. And the beds were rather short and springs in the mattress were quit noisy.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms on the inside because of the swimming pool noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gijs-Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Gijs G,
Thank you for posting your review.
We are pleased to read that over all you had a pleasant stay and will see to the short comings you mentioned.
Wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Friendly staff and a great location but unfortunately i will not choose cornucopia hotel for my next summer Holiday in gozo because i never went to a 4 star hotel in the middle of a heat wave and found that instead of a PROPER air condition you find a fan with a little bit of fresh air. This is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose the Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Dennis L.
Whilst thanking you for your feedback and the lovely comments about our staff we do apologies if you found the air condition system not up to standard. As you probably know the islands experienced several power failures in a very short time which affected our system. Although we tried our best to get the system to its full capacity in the shortest time, sometimes things are beyond our control.
Once again our apologies,
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just got back from a 5 night stay. overall i can say that the stay was agreeable. for a 4 star hotel i feel it is i dire need of a face lift both in facilities and rooms.The A/C in the room while functional was never really cold, just in fan form if you ask me. the mattress was worn out with the springs easily felt through the material. The bathroom was also a bit worn out with the wall mirror shelf coming loose.The breakfast was adequate but the fresh fruit selection could be better not just melon and watermelon. the pool areas was secluded and quiet never really overcrowded but maintenenace and supervision are required with broken and chipped stair tiles which can cause injury. people are allowed to 'book' sunbeds by putting towels on the sunbeds in early morning aln then coming to use them at mid-day. Management fails to remove said towels and opeining up space for other clients.

Room Tip: Pool view or country view best choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear John Michael Z.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor as that is highly appreciated from our end.
I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that all bathrooms in the section you were in will be replaced this winter as part of an ongoing refurbishment program.
As you could have seen half the top pool area is already redone and will conclude the renovation of this area this fall.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you once again.
Wish you all the best
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel set in an idyllic spot with beautiful views of the valley and Mediterranean. Wonderful friendly staff. Very attentive and nothing too much to ask of them. Always willing to help. Delicious food. The Friday BBQ is an absolute must. Sooo cheap yet eat as much as you like as many times as you like. Great choices of many local and fresh meats, salads and mouth watering desserts. All freshly prepared. Room had air conditioning and a fan and kept the hot nights cool. Very clean and tranquil. Ideal to relax. General Manager Brian was so helpful, friendly and polite. Made us feel very welcomed. Great that pool towels are provided complimentary too. Pool bar smoothies made fresh on the spot. Lovely! If you want to chill amd have a peaceful relaxing holiday, this place is a must!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NAC1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We rented the villas across the road, rooms were air conditioned and had a separate shared pool plus we could use the pools in the hotel as well, breakfasts in hotel were ok , fairly standard stuff. Nice balconies looking over the hills and view of the sea. Kitchen was clean and had everything we needed.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Rottingwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just got back from a week's stay. We enjoyed our stay as the hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. We only wanted a completely relaxed week and spent most of the time at the pool, which was clean, never overcrowded and there was service for drinks and ice cream. So it was ideal for our needs. It is ideally situated near to the village and yes, it is 10 minutes up a not too steep hill, but at least the return journey is quicker! Although anyone with mobility problems might find the walk a problem. The room and bathroom were a good size and although not immaculately clean, were clean. However, as others have said, this is not a four star hotel and it needs a refurbish quite urgently. Also no one else has mentioned that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, there are fridges with a mini bar of water, but no kettle etc. I'm addicted to tea, so went and bought one. (The hotel tea is horrible) The buffet breakfast is good, but apart from the rabbit (which was lovely, both braised and the pasta) we found the restaurant food quite bland and average. Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would go back to Gozo, but would not stay here again as it needs to have a complete overall of furniture, air conditioning, plumbing and redecoration to justify it's prices. It's a shame it is a lovely hotel, but it's fixtures and fittings are worn and need updating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornucopiaGozo_Malta, General Manager at Cornucopia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Hazel R,
Thank you for your nice comments, especially about the staff and their service which contributed to an enjoyable stay.
Although we are constantly upgrading our product especially the bathrooms, we do apologies if you felt that you did not get value for money, stay assured that that is not what we are here for and all your points are truly noted.
As for kettle it is a real pity that you did not ask us as we always provide tea making facilities on request.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Brian Caruana
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
2.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
737 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing