We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would like to revisit sweet little bay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mgarr ix-Xini

Mgarr ix-Xini
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.98*
and up
Gozo Ta' Cenc Cliffs Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Xewkija
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would like to revisit sweet little bay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We only came for a quick look so didn't really come prepared for getting in the sea properly. It has a very small sandy and pebbly beach which is ok for young children. It has a small board walk with railings and metal steps to get into the sea. We spotted a few fish so it would probably be good for snorkelling. They were doing some construction work for a film set but it didn't stop us enjoying our short time there. It was also quite tricky to find you really have to look out for the signs and then follow quite a long dirt track down, there was still quite a lot of parking when we arrived around midday.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpanther74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    13
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay with great beach restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A breathe of fresh air compared to busy Ramla Bay this tiny bay offers great swimming in beautiful blue water. The beach restaurant is also recommended. It serves everything from an ice cream to a bottle of champagne and the food is top class. Sunbeds are available but most just spread out a towel on the sands and enjoy....I almost want to keep this secret to myself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BOSKER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Slightly surreal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't try the restaurant, this is a review of the beach, based on a visit on a Monday in July.

We visited because it was recommended by a resident and I can imagine that off season it would be fab. The snorkelling is lovely, the swimming is safe because it's sheltered and it's very easy to get in and out of the water, but the beach is the size of a postage stamp and you have to pick your way through the bodies to squeeze into a space. Combine this with the noise of the building work, the screams of the children who were having a lovely time dive bombing off the steps and the party music from the "crazy UFO" boat taking trippers out and it didn't exactly make for a relaxing visit.

Yes, there were some lovely views but we won't be returning, unless we come back out of season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rwsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
182 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The fish was very fresh, cooked on a grill. Side dishes very poor, the only option a simple salad and greasy potato chips. Service quite friendly so for a shed by the sea i thought it was ok overall! but when you re given the bill you reconsider everything as you are charged the prices of a 5* restaurant

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sannat, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with lovely open air restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Restful cove with stoney beach....need to remember flip flops to get to the water! One of two beaches on Gozo where dogs are allowed to bathe.
Open air restaurant is clean and food is tasty as well as fresh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mgarr ix-Xini also viewed

 
Sannat, Island of Gozo
Island of Gozo, Malta
 

Been to Mgarr ix-Xini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing