We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very modern 3 star hotel fabulous view , the Fockers love Birzebbuga”
Review of Water's Edge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birzebbuga
Certificate of Excellence
blackpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“very modern 3 star hotel fabulous view , the Fockers love Birzebbuga”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotels rooms over look a bay , called Pretty Bay , we went out of season end of Feb and it wasn't busy at all . We loved the fact that our Balcony was made of glass and looked over a lovely Beachy Bay that are very few and far between in Malta .At the side of the Hotel was a large square with childrens play area and seating next to the beach . Just a short walk away was ST Georges bay , filled with lovely colourful little boats , The Hotel was very modern , food and drinks downstairs very good and reasonable , the bar and reception staff were lovely , In fact all Maltese people were lovely , spoke great English , Being only 3 star , it had no hairdryer , safe , and the beds were meant to be changed every 3 days , and this was my only gripe , the first cleaners were rubbish , by day 5 bed still not changed , and wasn't cleaned well at all , then my Husband asked to get it all done , and it was by a different cleaner , she was 100% better. ., but the hotel was in a great spot with the bus stop next to it . For 1Euro 50 cents , you can bus ride anywhere all day long . We used the airport , and Valletta , as the main bus terminals , and from these places you can go anywhere . We found a cheap bar that was very friendly , lots of xpats go in , , great service , opposite church in Birzebbuga centre , also we loved a little food station , so cheap it was on the road just up from the hsbc bank ,called Hot Spot , yummy pizza ans sausage rolls to die for , better than the restaurant's , we loved getting a takeaway and eating it on our veranda at night ,we had a lovely Chinese from over the road above renos , watching the lit up container ships coming and going . We loved this little town , and Malta , this place is so easy to get to , 20 mins from the airport and a different side to the very touristy place , but just a buss ride from everywhere .We went to Valleta on the bus , it was superb , and we went from there to Sliema ,loved this place , it had great shops , fab promenade and bars , it also had boat trips from here to Gozo Island and also to Sicily for the Day , We also visited Valletas carnival , and the Blue grotto via the airport by bus , all a must to visit . I would defo stay here again , and would recommend it to anyone , would like to go maybe when its just a tad warmer next time , one last thing if you go in winter , Black jeans , jumpers , tshirts ,boots ,warm cardi , fleece any thing black is all you need , and a nice pair of sunglasses . Also forget hiring a car , bus service to anywhere is fabulous

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, take hairdryer . if you are a couple ask for a double bed , we got singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank theFockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    43
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
50
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

well, this new built hotel is definetly one of the best, nice design, nice view, nicely built and well located near the beautiful beach. i liked the breakfast and everything else. restaurants in total, good food really.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

the hotel building is very nice, the room was well equipped, with a nice sea-view. that this view also includes the free-port of Malta is not the hotels fault , and it did not bother us.
every evening there is a bingo-game-event in front of the hotel on the seashore.

the buses x4 to the airport 82 to Valletta and 119 stop right at the hotel.

the breakfast was ok, and the restaurant on the ground floor offers good meals compared to the ones in the village.

every staff-member we met was very nice and helpful.

check-out from 8 am, we almost had troubles due to an early flight, and if you ask for a cab, make sure, they really do call one.

Room Tip: every room has sea view, I would go for the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VargaOrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada del Hoyo, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We ate at this hotel's main restaurant and were quite blown over by the quality particularly because we were not expecting such high standards in this area of Malta.

The hotel is new as it opened in May 2013 and it is just a few metres from the sand of Pretty Bay. The menu is interesting and based mainly on fish and pasta with some meat dishes. It became obvious, as I read it, that the menu was designed by an Italian chef because the descriptions of the dishes are very short unlike the modern trend which tries to overawe clients with hype.

We had complimentary bruschetta with baby tomatoes in olive oil and another type which was with char grilled and then liquidised red peppers. This is a sauce that requires time to make and it is the first time that I ate it on bruschetta. The wine list has a good selection and they also have wine by the glass. The glass of wine my partner had was an oaky white by Montekristo, a local producer.

My starter was an orange salad with walnuts, rocket leaves, lettuce and anchiovies. It was big for a starter and quite filling apart from being an excellent mixture of flavours. I applaud the fact that it did not come already 'dressed' as I find that some restaurants tend to overdo it with the oil. My partner had a pasta dish with aubergines and fresh tuna. It was another interesting mix of flavours but perhaps the chef is trying to cater for Maltese tastes because the pasta was slightly overcooked. Many Maltese people prefer it that way but this is something that can be easily remedied by asking for 'al dente ' when ordering pasta here.

We were offered a selection of fresh fish for main courses. My partner had a small fish which was beautifully grilled. It had a simple stuffing of green peppercorns which infused the flesh with their subtle falvour. The presentation was beautiful. My main was simply described as 'tuna rolls'. When I asked what this was the waitress went inside to check and I was told that it was tuna with parmesan. It turned out to be skewers of tuna rolled around a cheese / bread stuffing with what looked like small peices of ham. It was presented beautifully and tasted great but the restaurant should give more information about the ingredients as some people might not eat meat, especially pork. The vegetables are also quite good and the chef does not shy away from the butter (or was it duck fat?) in his roast potatoes... but as the saying goes: '' a little of what you fancy..."

After the mains my partner had lemon sorbet which was a lemon stuffed with sorbet and it came out of a packet from the freezer. I see nothing wrong in this unlike some who insist on what is euphemistically called 'home made food'. There is no need to reinvent the wheel when it comes to desserts. I am not sure whether my 'tartufo' ice cream was made at the restaurant or bought someplace else but frankly, I don't care, as it was excellent.

The two waitresses were friendly and efficient and the Italian chef popped in for a short chat halfway through our meal.

The decor is very bright and modern with a nod to the baroque influence so prevalent all over Malta. It is a little too bright for me but then again it would be difficult to eat fresh fish in dim lighting. During the day there are excellent views of the bay and beach.

Will return again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ultra5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked 2 rooms, one for self and wife and one for daughter and friend.
The bad bits:
Showers in both rooms leaked water on to the floors. The leakage in our daughter's bedroom was quite severe with part of the bedroom underwater. This could only be resolved by building a dam with extra towels.
The Freeport is a blight on the view and increasing in size.
Only allowed one key per room which was a pain when we were separated. Could not see a problem with issuing 2 keys!

The good bits:
This is a very modern clean hotel in a perfect location for the beach, local bars and restaurants. The staff are very attentive and very helpful. The bus stop is by reception. Food is to a good standard.
Beds and pillows of a good size and very comfortable, towels changed daily bedding every 3 days.
Mirrors everywhere and no shortage of sockets.
Air conditioning worked well and waterflow in shower excellent.
We would definately return to this hotel.
Warning, if you hire a car parking can be a nightmare.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing, no sun in afternoon hence room is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fiestalover246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birzebbuga
3.5 mi away
Cerviola Hotel
Cerviola Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marsascala
150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,251 reviews
10.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
10.7 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
701 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge

Property: Water's Edge
Address: Summit Square, Birzebbuga, Island of Malta BBG 2310, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Birzebbuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birzebbuga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 50 metres from the sandy beach in Birzebbugia, Water's Edge is a brand new property offering air-conditioned rooms with sea views and a terraced restaurant. The lively city centre is a 5-minute walk away. Modern-style rooms at the Water’s Edge feature a balcony, satellite TV, free wifi service and a private bathroom. The property is a 10-minute drive from the Malta international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Malta/Birzebbuga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing