We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Duncan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duncan Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Marsaxlokk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had stayed in Valletta for 4 nights prior to coming down to stay at the Duncan for 3. We hired a scooter for duration of our stay, a great way to get about and see so much more of the island.From the moment we arrived Michael gave us a warm welcome along with a cup of coffee.
We had a surprise when given the room key, as this turned out to be the best room in the hotel overlooking the harbour from our balcony something quite unexpected.
Breakfast was superb full English if you wish, what ever you want really, nothing was too much trouble "no problem".
We were there on the Sunday, the only day they have the fresh fish stalls. We decided we would buy some fish, prawns, langoustine, mussels, clams, and have our own private platter on our own balcony overlooking the harbour. Having the cooking facilities in the room enabled us to do this and it was wonderful..... the best meal we had all week!
Marsaxlokk is a pretty little harbour, and staying here you won't do any better than to stay at Duncan's for Service, Location, Friendly Staff, Room and the Breakfast !!! Thanks Guys, Cheers for lift to Airport Dave ! Hope Hire firm got the scooter back ok! ....Kel & Kathy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
98
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We paid our 2nd visit to Duncan Guest House at beginning of October.We really like to stay here as it is just like home from home.Everyone is so friendly and helpful,nothing too much trouble.We really enjoy having our breakfast in Duncans,whatever you want,plain or cooked,all really good.We also had our evening meal there most evenings,again very good choice and generous
helpings.
We have already booked for next year!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernIrelandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were absolutely blown away by the hosiptality that was shown to us by Michael, David, John and Lewis. They could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Ours was only a two night stay and it was with immense regret that we left this beautiful corner of marsaxlokk.

We were collected at the airport - shown our beautiful, clean, spacious room and having a glass of delicous Maltese red wine whilst perusing a menu, 20 feet from the Church of our Lady of Pompeii - 30 minutes after our plane touched down.
Hassle free - bliss !

The service was prompt, easy going and friendly - the portions were enormous - and the prices were some of the best in Marsalokk !

If you are flying late into Malta - Duncan`s Guest House should be a serious consideration.

Valletta can wait .......

We choose to begin our holiday outside of the hussle and bustle of Valletta - Marsaxlokk`s close proximity to the airport and also the Hypogeum made it the perfect destination to begin our Maltese experience.

Our experience:

From Michael putting our first round of drinks on the house, to David closing the bar to show us the views of Marsaxlokk from the rooftop - an accumulation of small gestures of hospitality add up to produce an amazing few days in Marsaxlokk.

Wonderful people who set the bar for the rest of the holiday.

We will return to the Duncan Guest House and I strongly reccommend you do also.

The Irish HoneyMoon Couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishCouple300813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this very comfortable, clean guest house for one week. The rooms are big and comfortable and the bathroom is huge. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly especially Michael. We recomend breakfast at their restaurant, fruit and a bottle of water was always put on our table to take with us on our outings............very nice gesture. We highly recomend Duncans. Thank you so much Michael and staff, we will see you again soon. Tony & Sabina (Cyprus)

Room Tip: The area of Marsaxlokk is very picturesque as this is fishing village. There are many restaurants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful two week break at Duncan. Started well with being met at the airport and driven to the hotel. Lovely room, air con, good storage, nice decor, Our room faced the side street, but double doors stopped any sounds at night. Nothing was too much trouble for Michael and his family. As well as the rooms, the restaurant is great and friendly. It was a wrench to have to come back home!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent the last two weeks of August 13 in Duncan Guest house, away from the tourist saturated north, yet close enough to make a day trip to Gozo and Commino and back for an evening swim in the local beach.
This is a delightful family run business, with Michael and David the two brothers who look after you and John and Josef the other two brothers in supporting role.
The views out of the windows are nothing to write home about, however, the service and hospitality is fantastic. I never forget on arrival to our room while Michael showing us around I asked him if the room has a safe to keep our valuables and passports, he turned round and said: “the room is safe”. I loved the confidence and the way he said this. How right he was we left everything around and nothing ever was even touched. Breakfast is served cooked from full English or bacon and egg….etc. However, every day we went for continental, Tea, coffee, large bowl of fruit, serial, yogurt, orange juice, Jam, beautiful Maltese bread…etc. plus two bottles of water to drink or take away for your day trips. If you want to eat your lunch and or dinner the menu is crammed with mouth-watering food, I cannot name a favourite whatever you tried seems to be better than what you ever had before.
If you do not want to drive bus number 81 will take you to Valetta, 119 and 206 to other local areas.
If you want to hire a car don’t waste your money on expensive know hire companies, ask Michael to arrange it for you locally same is true about excursion throughout the main land and Gozo and Comino.
The only crowded day is Sundays when all the Malta tourist population descend on Marsaxlokk for the famous Sunday Market, The marketer’s start at about 3 AM but you can shut your balcony door and the double glazed balcony windows and no sound. In the earl evening get yourself a drink sit on the small balcony an watch people go by and the tourist look at you with envy, and wished they seen this place before booking in their hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very similar and good, if you want to stay during the summer season you need to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40sotoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

What a delight our stay at Duncan's turned out to be! Although our balcony overlooked a side street, there was no traffic noise whatsoever. The 4-bed room itself was very comfortable, with air-conditioning, plus two fans, just in case! Plenty of storage space, enough for a month's stay let alone for a few days. The free use of the washing-machine on the roof is a very large bonus. I don't think I can add anything to what other reviewers have already said, except to say that you need not worry about quality of service when booking at Duncan's. Michael and his family will make sure of that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmsie_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsaxlokk
2.0 mi away
Cerviola Hotel
Cerviola Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marsascala
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
102 reviews
13.5 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncan Guest House

Property: Duncan Guest House
Address: 33, Xatt is Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsaxlokk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marsaxlokk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duncan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Duncan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duncan Guest House Hotel Marsaxlokk
Duncan Guest House Malta/Marsaxlokk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing