We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Harbour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Marsaxlokk B&B and Inns
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just back from a couple of weeks vacation in Malta. We booked the Harbour Lodge for two weeks, because we'd heard good reports of Marsaxlokk and Duncan's was full. It was a little more expensive than Duncan's, so we were expecting something slightly better. We were collected by Mario, one of the owners, at the airport (also dropped back by his father two weeks later). It was a great start, because we were tired and it was late. When we were shown to our rooms, our initial reaction was a little disappointment as it had no balcony and the small windows just overlooked a tiny internal courtyard. The room was OK but very small as was the bathroom. Then again, the overall style is "boutique" and modern, so perhaps small rooms were to be expected. But on the plus side, the air-con worked and it was easy to sleep there at night. Things got better next morning. Vincent, who served us coffee at breakfast was very friendly and we got a lot of helpful information from him. Over the next fortnight, we discovered that Vincent appeared to do a bit of everything from checking guests in and out, setting up the buffet breakfast, to doing the laundry and ironing sheets! And always with a smile - a real treasure.

During our stay the Harbour Lodge appeared to be full almost every night, so it has to be doing something right. Then again, options in Marsaxlokk are limited, with only a couple of other guest houses. If we went back to Marsaxlokk, we would definitely consider staying there again. When you can sit on a bench overlooking the harbour just a few yards down the street, who needs a balcony!

Room Tip: Probably paying a little extra for one of the four rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    59
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
76
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilafant, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was with my son and we had a very large room with a table and two chairs, a sofa, a huge TV, balcony, space for things ... The bathroom was small relative to other countries but had everything you need. You pick the airport and taken without pay. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gouna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good value for money Hotel, with very helpful owner, Mario.
The Hotel is quite new and nice finishing. The breakfast is good enough, althought improvable.
The cleanliness must be definitely improved: the hotel is good and must keep a good reputation, as it deserves....doing cleaning like that could result difficult.
The temperature in the breakfast room is too cold and not comfortable.
The location is very good: 50mt from the bus stop that brings you to Valletta in half an hour.
The free transfer from/to the airport is a good pro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrejon De Ardoz, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Xuereb family owns a brand-new hotel establishment opened on current year's February.

We must note their kindness and the quality of the services provided, including Pisces Restaurant and the car hiring company Tapram LTD.

Finally, we cannot forget to mention the delicious and plentiful breakfast with fresh fruit, pastry, cold meat and, of course, expresso coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMGPEREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Mario and his crew were just fantastic, did everything to make our stay good. Our flight home was late in the evening, and they let us keep the room until we left, no extra charge! Free shuttle to and from the airport, and very helpful and friendly all over. The room was not very big, but clean and had everything we needed. Minibar, kettle and free wifi. The balcony is mostly for smokers, not much room to sit there. Breakfast was included and good, a hot dish every day and fruit and yoghurt, cold cuts and cheese. Very good value for a very reasonable price. There isn't all that much going on in Marsaxlokk, but the bus to Valetta is just around the corner and from Valetta there are buses to every destination of the Island.The hotel restaurant Pieces down at the harbour (where Mario also works) has excellent food and great service there too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Rooms are budget size and the double bed adequate but just. The location is great as the town has heaps of great places to eat. Vincent was great and we enjoyed our stay. The bus service was a great way to get around but the hotel does offer a hire car service as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel in itself is nice with all comfort and equipments, everything being brand new. The interior deco is very neutral but not unpleasant. However let me please tell you about the staff ... our most unpleasant experience ever in a hotel (worldwide). First, the welcoming: my half and I had to ring the bell 3 times and wait for long minutes before someone deigned coming; a phone stuck on his ear he opened the door without any smile or hello nor invitation to come in; he did not hold the door open so that we had to manage it by ourselves despite our heavy bagages; he did not even propose to carry one of them (madame's one for example) upstairs (up to the reception desk); check-in was on the same tone as well as the presentation of our room. Second, the breakfast where we, again, had to wait before a member of the staff came, looking annoyed, asked our room number and do not order our drink (we had to run after her) ... In short, everything that can ruin your mood for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Je R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsaxlokk
1.3 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cerviola Hotel
Cerviola Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marsascala
150 reviews
13.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,837 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lodge

Property: Harbour Lodge
Address: 38 Triq San Piju V, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1472, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsaxlokk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marsaxlokk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lodge Malta/Marsaxlokk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing