We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good small hotel in a nice fishing village”
Review of Harbour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Marsaxlokk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A good small hotel in a nice fishing village”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Harbour Lodge Hotel 38 Harbour Lodge St. Piju Street, Marsaxlokk, Malta is a very good hotel for a quick stopover in Malta. It is the nearest hotel to the airport and by prior arrangement it provides a free car to pick you up and take you back to the airport. The hotel is new and small in a side street in a beautiful fishing harbor 15 minutes from the airport. The hotel also has a nearby fantastic restaurant where the seafood is excellent. For short stays it would be a good location to chill out. The harbor is beautiful and there are several restaurants and bars and nice churches to visit. The owner and his staff are very friendly and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    59
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
75
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My girlfriend and me spent 10 days in the Harbour Lodge.
Our room was small, but ok for us. We got a Minibar, AirCon, Wifi and TV.

The only problem we had was definitely the cleanliness. It seems that the house keeping had no vacuum cleaner, because the floor was covered with hair.
We were afraid to walk barefoot within the room. At least the bed sheet was clean.

The Hotel is situated pretty close to the harbour and the interior is very nice

The breakfast room was pretty cold, due to the AirCod. The breakfast itself was ok, since they serve only continental breakfast.

One last advice: a "good morning", a nice smile and a bit more attention to all guests in the breakfast room would make the start in the day more pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a room on the first floor with no exterior view (closed in) and the bathroom was very tiny. Sitting on the toilet had to be done sidewards :-)
In the morning there was a lot of noice from the breakfastroom because it was not separated from the corridor. The breakfast was good but no extra's. Free WIFI is available.
Marsaxlokk is a very nice town to visit with plenty of nice fish restaurants! The hotel is very close to the harbour and close to a busstop.

Room Tip: Ask room on the second floor far away from the breakfastroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRIET D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just back from a couple of weeks vacation in Malta. We booked the Harbour Lodge for two weeks, because we'd heard good reports of Marsaxlokk and Duncan's was full. It was a little more expensive than Duncan's, so we were expecting something slightly better. We were collected by Mario, one of the owners, at the airport (also dropped back by his father two weeks later). It was a great start, because we were tired and it was late. When we were shown to our rooms, our initial reaction was a little disappointment as it had no balcony and the small windows just overlooked a tiny internal courtyard. The room was OK but very small as was the bathroom. Then again, the overall style is "boutique" and modern, so perhaps small rooms were to be expected. But on the plus side, the air-con worked and it was easy to sleep there at night. Things got better next morning. Vincent, who served us coffee at breakfast was very friendly and we got a lot of helpful information from him. Over the next fortnight, we discovered that Vincent appeared to do a bit of everything from checking guests in and out, setting up the buffet breakfast, to doing the laundry and ironing sheets! And always with a smile - a real treasure.

During our stay the Harbour Lodge appeared to be full almost every night, so it has to be doing something right. Then again, options in Marsaxlokk are limited, with only a couple of other guest houses. If we went back to Marsaxlokk, we would definitely consider staying there again. When you can sit on a bench overlooking the harbour just a few yards down the street, who needs a balcony!

Room Tip: Probably paying a little extra for one of the four rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilafant, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was with my son and we had a very large room with a table and two chairs, a sofa, a huge TV, balcony, space for things ... The bathroom was small relative to other countries but had everything you need. You pick the airport and taken without pay. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gouna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good value for money Hotel, with very helpful owner, Mario.
The Hotel is quite new and nice finishing. The breakfast is good enough, althought improvable.
The cleanliness must be definitely improved: the hotel is good and must keep a good reputation, as it deserves....doing cleaning like that could result difficult.
The temperature in the breakfast room is too cold and not comfortable.
The location is very good: 50mt from the bus stop that brings you to Valletta in half an hour.
The free transfer from/to the airport is a good pro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrejon De Ardoz, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Xuereb family owns a brand-new hotel establishment opened on current year's February.

We must note their kindness and the quality of the services provided, including Pisces Restaurant and the car hiring company Tapram LTD.

Finally, we cannot forget to mention the delicious and plentiful breakfast with fresh fruit, pastry, cold meat and, of course, expresso coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMGPEREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsaxlokk
1.3 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cerviola Hotel
Cerviola Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marsascala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
6.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port View Guesthouse
Port View Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Marsaxlokk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lodge

Property: Harbour Lodge
Address: 38 Triq San Piju V, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1472, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsaxlokk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marsaxlokk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lodge Malta/Marsaxlokk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing