We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor ingredients and very over priced”
Review of Terrone

Terrone
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$70
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in a quiet area on the coast of Marsaxlokk, Terrone offers a variety of local and freshly prepared dishes. Terrone is the ideal restaurant to enjoy a quiet meal with the family, or to host a productive business lunch. Paying attention to detail, the Terrone staff will make sure your dining experience will be one that will make you come back again and again.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had heard great things about Terrone and came to Marsaxlokk especially to dine here. The starters were quite good but the main courses were very poor. My husbands seafood pasta did not have the stated two langoustines on top and the seafood in the pasta was obviously from a frozen packet. My pasta had hardly any fish in it and the pasta was seriously underdone (not al dente! but pretty much raw and chewy). The prices were very high when compared to other places in Valetta and Marsaxlokk and the quality far less than these better priced places. We left very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Hili, Owner at Terrone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Katherine L
We are sorry you were disappointed after your visit to our restaurant. We work hard to ensure all customers have a great experience. We are somewhat puzzled by your comments though. We do not have a pasta dish with ‘two langoustines on top’ and we certainly do not use ‘seafood from a frozen packet’ either. We are surprised you did not bring your concerns to our attention on the day as we assure you we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues and ensure you were completely satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is nice, the waiting service is good, however not value for money that's for sure! The most expensive plate of pasta (20 euros) in the Marsaxlokk! Ordered • Spaghetti, hand-dived sea urchin roe but the roe was nowhere to be seen!

I don't mind paying but match your pricing with expectations!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andreaburl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian_Hili, Owner at Terrone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Andreaburlo
Thanks for your visit and comments. As we explained at the time, the sea urchin roe is supplied by a local who dives for the sea urchins and supplies us with the roe in liquified form. This is not cheap. As such there is no bits of roe to see but the liquid roe is mixed with the pasta during cooking. The taste is certainly there as this is one of our customers’ favourite dishes. The price is a reflection of the quality of the ingredients namely the pasta and the roe. We do not use cheap pasta either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good service and food. Perfect after visiting the market. The food is not cheap but lovely. I would definitely go again :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank avdalessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely meal, of course you will not dream of having meat in this place, it is a fish restaurant. The food is not cheap, but nicely cooked, well presented, and adequate portions, and you don't wait a lot for the food to be served. I had the fish platter, swordfish prawns and a piece of cuttlefish served on a bed of lentils, next time I would try to share a whole fish.

Thank jivella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxing setting and insanely good fresh fish and veggies. We had a half bottle of local wine that was extremely good. The price, though, is a little higher than what we would have paid. Seems like to have very good products but at a touristic fare.

Thank Renata d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrone also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Terrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing