We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pisces

Pisces
Ranked #38 of 51 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Ate here on our 1st day in Malta - had the seafood platter for 2 lunch special - was amazing - only fault - Bigilla a little bland (only discovered this after tasting it else where!!) - followed by a lovely maltese fish soup and then the platter: white fish fillet, prawns, razor clams, clams, calamari, green lipped mussels, mussels & loads of little salty fish (not sure what they were) along with chips & salad - very large portions - couldn't finish - all for under €20!didn't have seafood as good anywhere else on the island!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    91
    57
    52
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Seafood at Marsaxlokk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Marsaxlokk is a stunning 'must see' fishing village easily accessible on any 'red bus tour' around Malta. Its bright coloured fishing boats and market make it an absolute delight. We had lunch at Pisces, freshly caught, it was delicious.We ate a starter of fish soup with freshly baked crusty Maltese bread (a treat on its own) followed by a platter of fish, swordfish, calamari, mussels, sardines, salad and chips... washed down with a local cold white wine... all for under 30 Euros, great value. The restaurant is more cafe like but if you can sit outside the views are stunning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Went to this restaurant based on the positive feedback it had. Went on a Sunday lunch but we were disappointed.

Side plate and main course plate both visibly chipped.

Starters were served before wine.

Male young waiter not not knowledgeable on food. When asked to carve fish, he said he didn't know. By the time his colleague came fish turned cold so decided to DIY.

Upon ordering 2nd btl of wine, this male waiter took the bottle (which still had a glass left) with him, to get an identical one. Hadn't we asked for it back , we would never have got it back! Not to say that to serve a 2nd btl of wine, you just don't take the bottle off the table!

We dined 6 people. And starter plates were not all cleared. Had main with starter plates on table.

Spaghetti vongole was literally plain pasta with no seasoning / garlic / oil / herbs topped with some shellfish.

Had a Pesce San Pietro. €50. It was meant to be shared but it was beyond question that could have ate alone.

Using a Gusto card in this restaurant proved to be more expensive than the 5 star Admiral's Landing at the Excelsior Hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delightful fish restaurant in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We chose this restaurant for a special birthday lunch. Our table was at the water's edge, watching the Marsaxlokk fishermen prepare their colourful little fishing boats for the next day's work.

We chose the duo of fish, grilled salmon and swordfish, served with vegetables (€15.00), and the deep fried calamari served with sublime tomatoes (€16.00). We had a side order of chips (€1.50), a glass of fruit juice (€2.50) and a glass of local white wine (€2.50). Our bill came to €37.50. Well worth the money for a super location, great food, excellent service. A lovely birthday lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shackleford_LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All about the owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The food is very good , specializing in sea food but the owner will make sure you are happy. Try the pasta marinara, my 5 year old just loves it. Service is excellent if served by the owner. Location is also nice, ambiance average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GSchembri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisces also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Pisces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing