We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful palazzo and extremely welcoming hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
The facade of the Palazzo - the only detached private home in Mdina, dominating Bastion Square.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The facade of the Palazzo - the only detached private home in Mdina, dominating Bastion Square.
The internal courtyard of the Palazzo, with our hybrid cold-water pond/pool and garden. The central hallway on the ground floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The facade of the Palazzo - the only detached private home in Mdina, dominating Bastion Square.
The internal courtyard of the Palazzo, with our hybrid cold-water pond/pool and garden.
The central hallway on the ground floor.
Our art-nouveau inspired dining room and display cabinet.
The Ground floor Kitchen. A recently refurbished kitchen with all modern appliances.
Ground floor ensuite bedroom. Cast iron bed with direct access to the garden.
ngeniously designed ensuite bathroom - with separate opening/closures for the shower and W.C.
Our hybrid conservatory-dining room, with direct access to the garden.
Ground floor - A nearby separate W.C. for convenience sake.
The garden: centred around our hybrid pond/jacuzzi. A jet-powered pond/pool with only COLD WATER.
A relaxation corner in the garden.
Majestic staircase leading to the upper levels.
A bedroom- 2 single beds-half-way up the stairs. An additional folding (single) bed can be put here.
The hallway on the first floor.
Imperial bedroom - art nouveau style - 1st floor. Additional folding (single) bed can be here.
A large family bathroom - with W.C., bath AND shower.
The impressive drawing room/Sala Nobile (serving as a living, dining and study area).
Additional folding (single) bed can be placed here, though it does detract from overall experience.
The drawing room/Sala Nobile overlooks the Bastion Square - one of Mdina's most picturesque spots.
Our double ensuite bedroom, titled the Balcony bedroom, with a balcony overlooking the garden.
Ensuite shower.
View from the balcony bedroom overlooking the garden.
The final bedroom  on the top floor of the property. Access to the roof is NOT allowed.
2nd floor - separate shower and W.C.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edson S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful palazzo and extremely welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Mdina itself is a truly picturesque town. It is a very unique place. Andrea and Joanna's palazzo is gorgeous. We worried that without a car, it might be inaccessible but Malta is small and public transport gets you everywhere. We were so thrilled that we had chosen Mdina as our base. It is so silent and majestic! Great restaurants. The house itself is on two main levels with several roof terrace areas. The kitchen is well equipped. Joanna was helpful in every way and welcoming. Don’t be fooled into thinking there isn’t plenty to do in Mdina and Malta - we could have stayed another week and still not had time to do & see all that Malta has to offer. Staying in Mdina showed us a world unexpected - it’s like a film set. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M90WASD
Marsascala, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed here for 8 nights and have absolutely no complaints. In fact, we can only speak positively about this amazing villa. It is set in the most beautiful town of Mdina just steps away from many restaurants and multiple places of attraction. The house was spotless and had all the necessary amenities we needed. To top it all off, the owners were extremely helpful - organising an airport transfer for us, and facilitating a very late arrival. They helped us with everything we needed! I highly recommend this home to anyone wishing to visit Malta, and to experience living in a Medieval town. You will not regret it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil20182...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Style, history and modernity!”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for unique accommodation in Malta that offers style, history and modernity in a superb setting, then look no further. We recently had the privilege of staying in this magnificent palazzo. Located in Bastion Square, Mdina with its superb views across a large swathe of Malta you also have access to a number of very good restaurants, all within a short walking distance. Public transport to all parts of Malta and taxis are also well catered for, again, all within a short walk from the palazzo.
The owners of the palazzo (Joe and Joanna) met us on arrival and we’ll never forget their graciousness and kindness, nothing was a trouble to them.
The palazzo itself is truly grand, stylishly furnished but with all modern conveniences. We particularly liked the classical furnishings, the high ceilings, the enormous rooms and beautifully appointed bathrooms. In quieter moments it was a real pleasure to make use of the rear garden to relax and watch the world go by.
We were very reluctant to leave this very special place but we’ve already began the conversation concerning a return trip in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkJohns...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime visit!”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Andrea and his Mother were very good at communicating and responding to all our questions very promptly. This is a very well kept, clean, comfortable, spacious, VERY old and VERY Maltese style Palazzo. It was everything we had hoped for and more. Perfect for our group of 8 friends. We absolutely loved the garden and conservatory, and ate most of our meals here. The location of the home, and the nearby parking - we decided not to park inside Mdina given the large number of tourists, it seemed too stressful to pass through them every time we needed to enter and leave - make this an excellent home to tour Malta. The nearby restaurants are plentiful, and the views and atmosphere on the Bastion Square are spectacular. With the high walls, narrow streets, and slight breeze, the streets of Mdina are cool and provide shelter from the sun. We plan on staying here again should we return to Malta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214joell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Magical ambiance and views. From the moment you reach the bastion square, and you see the magnificent house, you know you are in for an excellent experience. Joanna (Andrea was away) was a gracious host in meeting us and making sure we could enjoy our stay. The house has everything you need and charm to provide great memories. From the house you can easily walk to the bus station, restaurants and the best pastizzi shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milosdimi...
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, beautiful and the most hospitable place !!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Andrea and Joanna were AMAZING hosts. Andrea was so helpful listing helpful websites, places to go and see, he even suggested locations around the island for our entire holiday. The palazzo is spectacular. Words cannot even begin to describe what a great experience we had there. The small balcony view overlooking the square was my favorite spot in the house. It is also very homely. You feel very special here. Joanna was such a welcoming host, and made us feel like family. The dinning area was perfect for our group of 6, and with a correspondingly large and equipped kitchen. We very much appreciated the coffee, sugar, milk, eggs and fruit that awaited us in the home. The bedrooms are beautiful, and each one is unique. It was hard to decide which one we wanted to stay in. I opted for the one with direct access to the garden, and wasn't disappointed. Although there are no air conditioners in the home (truthfully outlined in the property description), the house is well equipped with a number of fans. Also, we left all the windows open to let a lot of airflow in, which cools off the place nicely. The beds are comfy and there was enough linen left in each room, if needed. The home is spacious enough for our group of 6 to have their own space but cozy enough for everyone to spend quality time together. This would also be the case with larger groups. The outdoor space is also wonderful. The pictures CANNOT possibly due this place justice! You really have to be here to see what I mean. You won't regret staying here. A resounding thank you to both Andrea and Joanna !!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy476
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay, 5 stars!”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures of this home, cannot possibly do it justice. This palazzo is spectacular and our experience staying here was beyond our expectations. The home is so unique and absolutely wonderful. The hosts could not have done a better job and made sure that we had everything we needed! They made us feel like family. You must stay here when you are in Malta, even if only for a short stay! There is so much history here. You cannot just come for the day. This home made our trip to Malta so special. I wouldn't change anything! We all loved this place and hated to leave. This is one of those properties you see on your travels and wonder how people find them...well now you know. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing