We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Just, wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Just, wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I cannot say enough positive things about our experience of the Xara Palace.

Firstly, the staff are magnificent. Before making a reservation, I was in e-mail contact with them, trying to arrange a table in their restaurant for the night we were looking to stay in the hotel. The correspondence was very prompt, professional and concise. It transpired that the restaurant was fully booked on the night in question, so I was offered private in-room dining. I obviously thought this would incur an extra charge, but was amazed to find out that it was being offered for free. I wanted the night we were staying there to be very special as I was planning to propose to my partner that night. I asked if it would be possible to dine on the roof terrace of one of their suites and was amazed to be told that not only would this be possible, but that they would also move me to a larger room with a larger roof terrace to accommodate this request, again at no extra charge. Needless to say I took them up on their offer and booked it all immediately.

On the day we arrived, we were greeted by the receptionist and taken through to the bar area where we were brought a bottle of champagne and left to relax for a short while. We were the only ones in the bar area and it was nice to be able to sit for a while and take in the décor of the palace. It is a very grand building (obviously as it used to be a place for the knights of St John!), but it is tastefully decorated and has a very relaxed atmosphere. Certainly not as stuffy and formal as you would expect from a 5 star palace.

We were then lead to our room, which was situated on the battlements of the palace overlooking the east of Island. The room itself was a very good size. The king size bed was very comfortable and it was tastefully decorated and had all the mod-cons you would expect.

The roof terrace, however, is where this room came into its own. It was spectacular. The terrace was large enough for a table and two chairs, 2 sun loungers, a large hot-tub and still had room to spare. The views were extraordinary. You have a 180 degree view of Malta where you can see from as far up as St Pauls bay, right down to Marsaxlokk. It is phenomenal and worth the nightly fee alone.

We proceeded to take our newly acquired bottle of champagne into the hot-tub and relaxed whilst casting our gaze across the view afforded to us. This remains one of the best afternoons of my life. Bright sunshine, cool breeze, warm water, great company, amazing scenery and fantastic champagne!

We went for a stroll around the silent city before dinner. When we returned we found our table had been laid and our waiter was standing by ready to take our orders. Dinner was amazing. Without a doubt the best food I have eaten. Everything was perfectly cooked, succulent, flavoursome and well presented. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. He struck the balance between being there to assist us and leaving us to enjoy ourselves in peace perfectly.

The following morning, breakfast was served to us on the roof terrace. Again, it was delicious and there was so much of it! We finished breakfast and sloped off back to the hot-tub again to enjoy the remainder of our time there whilst taking full advantage of a most welcome late check-out.

After checking out, we headed to the Trattoria AD 1530 restaurant which is part of the Xara Palace. We enjoyed a couple of fantastic pizzas before waving goodbye to Mdina, happy, well-fed, well-rested and newly engaged!

All-in-all, the Xara Palace was an amazing experience which I would definitely recommend to all and sundry. I read certain reviews and complaints prior to booking about the décor being a little dated and not being up to 5-star standards. Personally this is the least of my worries when staying somewhere. When you are staying in a 16th century palace, you do not want everything to be prim and proper. Having things a little rough around the edges adds to the charm of the place. Besides, with a view like the Xara Palace has and an amazing roof terrace, you’ll hardly be spending any time in the room to notice.

I sincerely hope to return someday. After setting the bar so high, I just hope they don’t let their standards slip.

Room Tip: Choose one with a roof terrace and a hot tub. Amazing views that are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sir,

Whilst thanking you for taking your time to provide us with very positive and useful feedback we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in your room as opposed to de Mondion.

Should you require any further information from our side please do not hesitate to contact me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt

The team at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux look forward to welcome you back to Malta!
Wish you a good day!
Warm regards from Malta

Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    116
    46
    26
    16
See reviews for
53
324
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here in October with my boyfriend and his parents for his mother's birthday, and we couldn't have asked for better service if we tried. Our baggage had gone missing and the staff worked tirelessly to find it and get it back, even placing it in our room for us when it finally showed up. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore the beauty that is Mdina - it's even an attraction in its own right. It was definitely pricey but you most certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Madam,

We are very pleased to hear these positive comments and for remembering to write to us.
The staff at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux always make our best for our guests and to help and accommodate them. I am greatful to hear you were satisfied and we do look forward to welcome you back to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux soon again.
Wish you a good day and should you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt

Kindest Regards
Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive





I stayed here in October with my boyfriend and his parents for his mother's birthday, and we couldn't have asked for better service if we tried. Our baggage had gone missing and the staff worked tirelessly to find it and get it back, even placing it in our room for us when it finally showed up. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore the beauty that is Mdina - it's even an attraction in its own right. It was definitely pricey but you most certainly get what you pay for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and myself have just spent two days at this unique family run hotel inside the walled city..the staff were so welcoming and friendly nothing was too much.. the room clean and tastefully decorated. Dining at the de Mondion resturant situated on the terraced bastions of the castle, where the food was superb and the petits four to die for is a definite must. You pay for what you get and although a bit expensive it was the highlight of our trip.. thanks again to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable..

Room Tip: Only suggestion is ask for a room that is not situated right beneath the dining area as can get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmhrAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Ms,
We are very grateful for your positive feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux.
We are also very glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at de Mondion.

The Team at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux look forward to welcome you back to Malta and Mdina.
Should you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt

Wish you a good day!

Kindest Regards
Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

An incredibly atmospheric hotel built in the walls of this ancient city. We stayed in March through very bad weather but it was still great. It is expensive but the attention to detail in the rooms and the exceptionally helpful reception staff make it worth the money. There are 2 restaurants. If you want to blow the bank the restaurant on the top floor has very good food and I would imagine in good weather a beautiful view but if you want more reasonable comfort food the trattoria also Delivers. Make sure the staff know you are staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coliemorecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky_Paris, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We value your feedback and positive comments. The spring weather can be very unpredictable at times so we are pleased to hear we changed your experience due to the weather.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateux. Should you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact me on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt.

Kind Regards
Heidi Pantzar
Marketing and PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for our 30th wedding anniversary for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had room 18 which had it's own terrace with a hot tub which was wonderful to sit in with a glass of champagne overlooking Valetta! We dined in de Mondion retaurant each night part from one because the food and service was so very good, not to mention the views over the island. I can totally recommend the scallops! Wandering out of the hotel into the silent city each night was truly magical.
There is a lot of effort gone into the restoration of this wonderful old Palazzo and it's obvious the owners and the staff love it too. One small observation is that our room was quite dusty and the sealant round the bath needs replacing.
Like all great hotels the staff make the difference and the staff at the Xara couldn't have been more genuinely helpful and charming.
Would we go back? Yes definitely!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Marion B,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your dining experience, as well as your visit to Malta.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Xara Palace and to Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The building is fabulous, romantic and artfully furnished. Hidden down tiny streets within mdina's walls, it feels special. Reception staff could have been described as a little over friendly (for us) and we paid for the cheapest room (still pricey) and we got it, the window faced a wall and the bed was on a mezzanine level but it was nicely done. It's worth staying within the walls so you can wander the empty atmospheric streets and the trattoria outside had nice accommodating staff and good food. Rooftop restaurant staff were also friendly and the setting is pretty. Generally high standards and they seemed to really care for guests and the building itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the
dining experience at De Mondion. We look forward to see you back at the Xara Palace and De Mondion as well as to Malta in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We spent a night in the Xara, having visited Mdina on several occasions and always promising to treat ourselves, we finely booked in. Room 14 is very tastefully decorated and has a really comfortable bed (better than home!) Our terrace upstairs came complete with a personal jacuzzi (extra towels provided) and the views over Malta are beautiful. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We ate in their Mondion Gormet restaurant which did not disappoint either. Mdina is an enchanting walled city and delightful after the bulk of tourists have left. Only downer was some noise from local discos/and wine bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityfan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdina
2.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Property: The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Address: Misrah Il-Kunsill Citta Nobile, Mdina, Island of Malta MDN 1050, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mdina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux has 17 Rooms and Suites, all vary in size and style. Some of the Suites have Jacuzzis on their private terrace with spectacular views of the island. The Duplex rooms and Suites offer split level accommodation with the lounge area and private facilities on one level and bedroom services on the other level of the Room or Suite. Outdoor pool is available in an alternative location and shuttle service is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Xara Palace Relais And Chateaux
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mdina
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Malta/Mdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing