We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection , plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfection , plus”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Three nights in this hotel has been a wonderful experience. We are fans of relaix et chateaux which have never disappointed us. The Xara has a great location within the walls of Mdina. It is an old palace , splendidly restored . Suite n. 8 is large, with a nice sitting room, and a great bathroom bathed by sun. The view on the island , all the way to the see, is nice. On the second day , I was hit by a bad flu, coughing, very high temperature. The hotel called an excellent doctor who arrived one hour later. He prescribed antibiotics but the pharmacies were closed. The hotel arranged for a driver to buy them at the Valetta airport. Having to stay in the room , We experienced their room service. We has also ordered a bottle of wine and water. This was brought to the room immediately, fifteen minutes before the food, so we could enjoy an aperitivo. My wife had also ordered an ice cream which was brought after we finished the meal, so that it would not have melted. I know that this does not sound so special but I mention it because throughout our stay the staff went out of their way to make everything pleasant. On the last night we could enjoy a superb dinner in their elegant de Mondion restaurant. Refined cuisine, large selection of wines. The sommelier, having noticed I was still under the weather , very rightly suggested an excellent half bottle of Nuits Saint George.
So, we were pampered throughout, in a beautiful hotel which deserves praise for its style and friendly attitude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We thank you for choosing The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and for finding the time to post a review about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our clients' feedback is of great value to us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Suite 8 and feel honoured to receive such words of praise from guests like yourself about our property, staff, service and facilities. This is truly encouraging.

We thank you once again and hope to be able to host you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    117
    46
    26
    16
See reviews for
53
328
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The only hotel within the walls of Mdina, this is a converted palazzo on a small square not far from the main gate. We booked rooms later, (via a website other than the hotel) and received very affordable prices for two suites. The communal area of the hotel are stunning, sympathetically furnished and decorated in a style that complements the ancient building. The central atrium is soaring, luminous yet cosy. Our welcome was warm and attentive. The rooms vary, but mine was truly spectacular. The high-ceilinged rooms have mezzanines allow the entire floor to be a spacious formal sitting room. Upstairs on the mezzanine, the well-fitted bathroom had every possible luxury (including a jacuzzi bath) and the bedroom area is well appointed and has a second television - my only cavil being that, since heat rises, the bedroom can be uncomfortably warm, however there are two separate air-conditioning controls downstairs to regulate this Downstairs in the 'living area', the furnishings are opulent and in keeping with the venerable building. The only disappointment is that the shuttered windows open onto narrow Triq Sain Paul, so there are no views, but give the hotel is built into the city walls, there is no other option.

The roof terrace affords magnificent views over the ramparts embracing the whole north-east of the island. Dawn here is spectacular. Complimentary breakfast is served in the rooftop restaurant, which feels a little staid, but breakfast itself is excellent. Coffee. (or drinks at any time) can be had on the terrace

Staff were charming, helpful and attentive without being obsequious. Since the tourists leave Mdina at dusk, the walled city becomes silent and eerily beautiful after dark.This is a truly stunning hotel and worth the treat - especially if, as we did, you can get a discounted rate)

Room Tip: Given how the building was renovate rooms vary in size and style. Room 4 (where I stayed) is magnifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Please allow us to thank you for choosing to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux during your visit to Malta and for finding the time to post a review about our property on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the general ambience, the decor and your room. We are also glad to note that you liked the service offered by our Team. On behalf of The Xara Team, I thank you once again for your comments.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future...it would be an honour for us to host you again at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This stunning beautiful Hotel in the ancient city of Mdina is an amazing experience. The setting is very unusual, a one time home of Nobility it reflects in all it's lovely furniture and paintings. I was there for my son's wedding and it was a spectacular occasion. A panoramic view from the restaurant over Maltese villages, green fields send winding roads. The food is superb, and the bedrooms romantic and beautiful. It's a small and unique Hotel, one of the world's best there is no doubt of that. A Hotel of first class proportions.

Room Tip: A car is a bonus if you are staying here. Lovely drives out in all directions. Half an hour into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and would like to take the opportunity to extend our congratulations for your son's wedding. Your feedback is of immense value to us and we appreciate that you found the time to post a review about our property on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that your experience at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux was a delightful one. On behalf of The Xara Team I wish to extend a big thank you for your motivating comments.

We hope that we will be able to host you again at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Situated in the medieval fortified city of Mdina this 17 room boutique hotel is absolute luxury at its best. Hidden away in the small streets of Mdina this hotel has an envious guest list of celebrity clientele. The rooms have stunning views and some have balconies with their own hot tubs taking in the views. There is antique furniture adorning every room and every room has been meticulously restored to its former Nobel standing. This is not a hotel for families with children. It is very much for couples and for honeymooners. The service was top notch and the staff were very courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and for finding the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Our guests' views about our property is extremely important for us to move forward and improve further.

We are very happy to note that you experienced a pleasant stay in our property and in the beautiful Silent City of Malta, Mdina.

We thank you and look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife wanted to try out this hotel and she definitely was not disappointed (neither was I!) Our first good impression was during check-in where our welcome was most courteous. As we were shown to our room we were also made to feel welcome by all of the staff members we met. When we arrived to our room, we immediately fell in love with it. Not only was the room itself very spacious but the private terrace that led up from it was very airy and the view from there was magnificent. However, this beautiful view was all but beaten by the one we had from the room itself that evening. When night fell and the lights came on, the scene was quite breathtaking. All in all, this was one of the most restful stays we ever had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We thank you for choosing to be our guests at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux.

We are extremely happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and found the right time and place to relax and enjoy the ambience, the service and the beautiful views of the island.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments which are truly motivational to The Xara Team.

We hope that we will see you again for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This unique boutique hotel has been sensitively restored to reflect its noble character as a little piece of Malta's cultural heritage. Situated on the bastions of the fortified city of Mdina, the view from the hotel is breath-taking, and the hotel itself, with its antique furnishings, paintings, and fabrics is truly charming.

The staff is attentive and helpful, and the restaurant offers an exclusive romantic dining experience. Don't visit Mdina without dining here and staying the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux on Trip Advisor.

We are always very excited to receive positive comments on the hotel's charm, service and dining facilities.

On behalf of The Xara Team I extend a big thank you and hope that you will be back for another stay in Mdina soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

our room had an amazing view over most of malta .Each morning we watched the sunrise over Valetta. The beautiful furnishings in the room were unbelievable and the bed was so comfortable ,amazing linen and goose down duvet and pillows.The staff were very nice and most friendly.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyannecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdina
2.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
5.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Property: The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Address: Misrah Il-Kunsill Citta Nobile, Mdina, Island of Malta MDN 1050, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mdina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux has 17 Rooms and Suites, all vary in size and style. Some of the Suites have Jacuzzis on their private terrace with spectacular views of the island. The Duplex rooms and Suites offer split level accommodation with the lounge area and private facilities on one level and bedroom services on the other level of the Room or Suite. Outdoor pool is available in an alternative location and shuttle service is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Xara Palace Relais And Chateaux
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mdina
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Malta/Mdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing