We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loads of character”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Set in the heart of Mdina this hotel has so much history and this is reflected in the decoration and style of the place.

Staff at breakfast were really helpful with suggestions for walks and visits. One word of warning, if you have booked through Bellair and expect a full cooked breakfast then don't. It's six euros extra for anything cooked, one poached egg etc.

Some areas look ready for a refresh but overall a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    117
    46
    26
    16
See reviews for
53
328
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fantastic, reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Malta Mdina. Quiet night walks around the walled Mdina. Thoroughly enjoy my short stay in this top class hotel and looking forward to my next visit. This is ideal for a surprise romantic escape from the hustle and bustle of London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15jm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Greetings from Mdina! Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We agree with you about the night walks in Mdina...they are truly fascinating. We are glad to note that you are planning to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you once more at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This boutique hotel is exceptional in all respects. We stayed for 4 days and were delighted with the beautiful and historic setting, the facilities, our room with that superb view and the service we received. We were particularly impressed with the helpful, efficient, cheerful and attentive staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor with a terrace and a wonderful view of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for choosing The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful and historic setting of the Palazzo. We have communicated your positive feedback about our service to our team; your comments are really encouraging.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you once again at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I chose to stay at The Xara Palace because of its history and location and what a good choice it was. I have had a wonderful 7 days, the hotel was comfortable and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel feels that it is still a historical palace but it is very comfortable and whilst there were other people staying while we were there we felt we had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khwayjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and we are glad to note that your stay with us was a delightful experience. We value your feedback and are extremely encouraged by your positive comments.

We hope that you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had the possibility of staying in Malta for two days. We spent the first night at the excelsior hotel in Floriana (right by the beach) and the second night we moved to this hotel in mdina.

The two hotels are both five stars but Xara is by far superior to any hotel hotel in the island of Malta.
The location is amazing , just in the very hearth of the ancient city of mdina. Far from the sea, but the panoramic view you can enjoy from the top floor is just magnificent.

The rooms have been restored with a superb taste, are comfortable and very spacious. It might be a bit chilly in winter times, as the temperature is set to low and the AC in the room is very noisy.

The service is just perfect.
Don't miss out the restaurant on the top floor!!!! Delicious :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux during your visit to Malta. Your comments about your experience with us are very encouraging.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you once again at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A very good Maltese friend of mine showed me Xara Palace a few years ago, and I fell in love with its style, design, and the history, As I come to Malta quite often, I decided (rather wished) I would stay at least for one night one day in this lovely hotel. This year I had the opportunity to stay for 2 nights on a business trip, and it was a fantastic experience! I have been to many 5 star hotels in Malta but Xara Palace is a unique treasure, with professional and committed staff. I enjoyed the private atmosphere, it was very quiet, calm and relaxing, giving me exactly what I needed. Heating in Malta is not available in many places in winter, but Xara Palace is taking care, and every rooms have their own heating facilities. Thank you for the excellent service throughout my stay, it was really one of the top stays I had on Malta, and I believe I will return to your hotel for either business, private, or maybe for my own wedding :)

Room Tip: All room has a different style, size, view. Room 10 has an amazing view to the island. Very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsofia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are very happy to note that you visit The Maltese Islands often and that this time you decided to stay at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux for your business trip. We feel honoured to receive such feedback from our esteemed guests.

We do hope that you return soon in the near future. It would be great to celebrate your wedding at our property. Should you ever wish to discuss this in detail please do not hesitate to contact us on marketing@xarapalace.com.mt

Once again thank you from all of us at Infinitely Xara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Three nights in this hotel has been a wonderful experience. We are fans of relaix et chateaux which have never disappointed us. The Xara has a great location within the walls of Mdina. It is an old palace , splendidly restored . Suite n. 8 is large, with a nice sitting room, and a great bathroom bathed by sun. The view on the island , all the way to the see, is nice. On the second day , I was hit by a bad flu, coughing, very high temperature. The hotel called an excellent doctor who arrived one hour later. He prescribed antibiotics but the pharmacies were closed. The hotel arranged for a driver to buy them at the Valetta airport. Having to stay in the room , We experienced their room service. We has also ordered a bottle of wine and water. This was brought to the room immediately, fifteen minutes before the food, so we could enjoy an aperitivo. My wife had also ordered an ice cream which was brought after we finished the meal, so that it would not have melted. I know that this does not sound so special but I mention it because throughout our stay the staff went out of their way to make everything pleasant. On the last night we could enjoy a superb dinner in their elegant de Mondion restaurant. Refined cuisine, large selection of wines. The sommelier, having noticed I was still under the weather , very rightly suggested an excellent half bottle of Nuits Saint George.
So, we were pampered throughout, in a beautiful hotel which deserves praise for its style and friendly attitude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We thank you for choosing The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux and for finding the time to post a review about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our clients' feedback is of great value to us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Suite 8 and feel honoured to receive such words of praise from guests like yourself about our property, staff, service and facilities. This is truly encouraging.

We thank you once again and hope to be able to host you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdina
2.6 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,473 reviews
5.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Property: The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Address: Misrah Il-Kunsill Citta Nobile, Mdina, Island of Malta MDN 1050, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mdina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mdina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux has 17 Rooms and Suites, all vary in size and style. Some of the Suites have Jacuzzis on their private terrace with spectacular views of the island. The Duplex rooms and Suites offer split level accommodation with the lounge area and private facilities on one level and bedroom services on the other level of the Room or Suite. Outdoor pool is available in an alternative location and shuttle service is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Xara Palace Relais And Chateaux
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Hotel Mdina
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux Malta/Mdina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing