We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Gattopardo - CLOSED

Il Gattopardo
Price range: US$5 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant is run by an anthropologist and his charming wife, Kristina. We produce home-made food with the highest quality local ingredients chosen by us daily. We serve our own blend and interpretation of Maltese, Mediterranean and Greek food - particularly a Greek-Maltese fusion cuisine, in affordable mezes and anti-pasti We have a wonderful orange tree roofed leafy courtyard, unpretentious in its decor but with an attractive, eclectic mix of 18th century works of art (including some ancien regime wall paper) and contemporary artworks. We run this restaurant partly as a hobby. We do not advertise ourselves on social media and prefer a small clientele who have the same antipathy for contemporary consumerist pretense and a liking for straightforward honesty as we do.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The sausages are to die for. My favourite Maktese lunch and in a great setting.
This is the second time we have been, highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ceejayt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Avoid Tzatziki and Hummus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We chose this restaurant because it didn't have the usual Pasta dishes on the menue. Moreover it looked nice and interesting from the outside.

The restaurant has a nice looking yard which, when warmer, is probably very nice to sit. We ordered some grilled Haloumi cheese, some Armenian sausages and hummus, olives and tzatziki. Our review for that: the sausages were really nice but the portion was really small and for that totally overpriced. The halloumi was just grilled halloumi and nothing special but the tzatziki too little oil, the yoghourt too thin and not enough spicing but too much garlic (in the tzatziki) and hummus (no spicing at all) were just awful. .

Maybe the other dishes are all nice. We don't know and we will probably not find out any time soon because the food we had is no reason to go there again - maybe the yard is when it gets warmer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely little informal restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We chanced on this restaurant at lunchtime. There were very few other diners, and so there was plenty of space for us in the charming courtyard garden at the back. We found the food perfectly good enough for a relaxing lunch, albeit not "fine dining". We were served by the owner, an interesting character who chatted to us. The courtyard was a mini-oasis on a hot day, though to be fair it might get a little cramped if there were a lot of diners. The Greek dishes added a touch of variety, and we enjoyed a leisurely and ample lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkWellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere at this restaurant. It serves Greek food as mezes - which are appetizers - and some interesting dishes we could not taste elsewhere: a "timpanaki" - a cross between a moussaka and a lsagne- and "pastourman" - an Armenian sausage; plus "sarde saor" (Venetian dish of sardines in a sweetish sauce). Very pleasant and a most relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Megalexandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“In a Word -- Awful!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I've never written a poor review for a restaurant before. But this place is so bad it deserves one. In a word, our meal was awful. Actually, the whole experience was awful. From the outside, this restaurant looks so nice which is why we chose to eat here. Plus, it offered an international menu colorfully written on a chalkboard beside the entrance. It's located on a main pedestrian street at the top of Mdina. It gets lots of passers-by due to its location. But this is definitely not the place to stop for lunch or dinner. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. It's a little restaurant divided into 2 parts. The back garden is very pretty, but small so you'll likely be seated on top of a couple of dozen other tourists packed in around you. So be prepared. We sat inside with tables against the wall since no one was eating there. The modern decor was very nice. Visually, the entire place rates an A.  But the food was really bad. In addition to wine and water, we ordered 3 starters for 2 people: 2 hummus and a specialty dish of lemon and coconut dal. Both were way overpriced for what we got. Each was served in a small cup that couldn't feed a child. Both dishes tasted dull and drab – not at all flavorful or spicy. The hummus had no olive oil on top (none was on the table either), and came with only a few thin slices of bread in one small basket – for 2 people! Surrounding the small cup instead were a dozen tasteless water crackers! The same with the lemon and coconut dal. It came without bread, and it too was surrounded by another dozen tasteless water crackers. There was hardly any lemon or coconut flavor either. We ordered Greek and Indian food, but ended up with 3 dozen tasteless water crackers and 3 small cups of nothing. On top of that, our British waiter was gruff. After a wait, he brought us a menu missing several pages. We ordered a sparkling water, but got a still water instead. Of all the restaurants we ate at in our 2 week trip to Malta, by far this was the worst one. It's a real tourist rip-off and not Greek in the least. Instead, go to Trattoria 1530 – a great place to eat with excellent food, large portions, reasonable prices, and great service too.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rmitgoteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Gattopardo also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing