We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo de Piro

Palazzo de Piro
Ranked #7 of 22 things to do in Mdina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique in its flexibility as a venue, Palazzo de Piro has been transformed into one of Malta’s premier hubs of culture and activity. The Palazzo features a program of various collections held by the Metropolitan Cathedral Museum and is also host to a wide variety of artistic events (independant art exhibitions, concerts, theatre plays, seminars...) Palazzo de Piro also hosts the Xpresso Cafe which enjoys spectacular views over the Maltese countryside and provides visitors with nothing but the freshest, top class and healthy Maltese dishes and delicacies.
Attard
1 review
“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The palazzo has a nice view where you can have a good food nice atmosphere friendly and polite staff

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank musicgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    102
    26
    25
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL FIND…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Palazzo de Piro is also a Cultural Centre… if that isn't clear from the other comments…and assuming I have the right place; the pictures look correct! : )

When you step into Palazzo de Piro it is a real classical treat; its classically crisp, white and clean. A touch of elegance with staff in crisp white shirts, long aprons… it feels opulent and of course you are culturally stimulated as well with art and other creative medias.

It reminded me a little of Fortnum and Mason; cakes to takeaway in elegant boxes. Afternoon tea; silver service and bone china. Yet, the food isn't stuffy and offers a good selection… sandwiches for those who are less hungry or wanting to spend less… or lovely pasta and salad dishes for those who want more. Wonderful courtyard… and amazing views from the walled seating.

We were told to visit this restaurant by a woman working at the Craft Village. She used to go to the Palazzo when it was a convent school… said it was strange to sit in her old classroom drinking tea. (Assuming this is the right place…) But nonetheless, definitely worth a visit.

On the downside, it is only open during the day…. so no dinner!

As regular visitors to the island Mdina is one of our most favourite haunts. Yet, the parking situation does cause some controversy as it seems a bit unclear what the set up is; plus we hear rumours from other locals. When parking below the city wall you are often approached by a man wanting parking money… yet on occasions he doesn't wear a badge and there are no signs suggesting that visitors should pay for parking. Sometimes, the parking attendants can be a little aggressive and their prices vary!

We asked in the local Tourist Information Centre… and this is worth noting. There is no fee to actually park in the allocated parking spaces at the time of writing. Any money paid does not go to the local authorities for the up keep of Mdina and surrounding area. The money paid goes directly into the 'Parkers' pocket.

On the down side… it does make you wonder why tourists are yet innocent victims in this weird set up… which at times can be unwelcoming and unsettling and unfair as prices differ. I certainly prefer to be either pay or not pay a set price for the time I am parked with clear guidelines to the rules etc…

However, the local attitude seems to be that when we park our cars we should expect to pay at a tourist attraction. If pay stations were allocated locals would have to pay to park to go to work; not necessarily if issued with a parking permit!

The 'Parkers' as they are called should wear a badge permitting them to collect money for parking; but this is apparently on a donation basis and up to individual. This should be made clear for all concerned. My attitude is… while in Rome… so we pay what we feel is a good price for the time spent parked. Don't be fooled.

Apologies for using this lovely restaurant's page for a moan/advice about local parking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend and worth visiting. We enjoyed it a lot both for the food which was excellent and also for the friendly atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Aaron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo de Piro, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Palazzo de Piro and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the food and the service offered and we appreciate your recommendations.

Once again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic View & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went there for lunch. Everything was perfect & the view is simply amazing. Great atmosphere, good food and fast service. I really recommend this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo de Piro, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We thank you for visiting Palazzo de Piro and for posting a review about us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that your visit was a positive experience and that you enjoyed the ambience, food and service.

We will be very happy to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We ate lunch here on a sunny day in February. The views are fantastic and the food excellent and reasonably priced. Staff friendly and we didn't feel rushed, everywhere fresh and clean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCusto, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo de Piro, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We thank you for visiting Palazzo de Piro and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback about the views, food, staff and service. We think these comments are truly encouraging.

Once again thank you and hope to welcome you again to Palazzo de Piro in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo de Piro also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Palazzo de Piro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing