We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was great to stay at Ian’s house”
other travellers have booked this property
Perched right next to century-old bastions, surrounded by stunning baroque architecture.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perched right next to century-old bastions, surrounded by stunning baroque architecture.
Fullofcharacter,com
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Perched right next to century-old bastions, surrounded by stunning baroque architecture.
Fullofcharacter,com
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was great to stay at Ian’s house”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was great to stay at Ian’s house. Not just the atmosphere there (which is absolutely unique experience – like a time machine – allowing to dive deep into the past of Malta), but also beautiful and stylish details – artworks, photos and antiquities among others. The location is best you can imagine – pleasant short walk will take you to Mdina, Roman villa, St Paul’s catacombs, narrow ancient streets of Rabat and a bus stop connecting to almost anywhere on Malta. Communication with Ian was flawless and very pleasant, however he was not on Malta at the time of our stay, but his parents Martese and Marco made sure we had fantastic time in Rabat. More then that, they generously offered us to stay at their house when our ferry trip was unexpectedly postponed for a day. It’s a pleasure for us to get to know such wonderful open and talented people and to spend some time with them. It’s a big bonus of travelling – meeting open-minded and open-hearted people, to look behind walls. Me and Haukur, we definitely recommend this unique property to those who want to feel Malta, not only to see it. Thank you guys for unforgettable time we spend in Rabat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house, great location, almost perfect!”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We arrived in a hurricane force storm and had a harrowing journey to the house but were still met by Mrs Cremona which was great as got their later than arranged and she very kindly waited for us.

She had made sure their was milk, bread and basic essentials which was also very thoughtful.

The house is perfectly situated to experience the real Malta. Mdina is amazing and only a short walk from the house. Main bus stops are close and so is the public car park if you've hired a car.

What let the place down was that it had not been cleaned. There was a bowl that must have had crisps in it left on the table and the stove had melted cheese on the grill and was full of crumbs. On top of this the bed had not been made and we had to go look for bedding to make it. Not a holiday spoiler but feel for the price this should have been done and would have preferred it to be clean and the bed made than bread and extra food bought to be honest.

What made us smile was being told that on our last day we would need to leave early as the cleaner was coming in to clean for the next people and she arrives at 9:00 am ... a bit early we felt. We said we'd be up but not left by then and Mrs Cremona was OK with this ... had we know the place had not been cleaned for us we would have made more of a fuss on this point.

I suppose all cultures have their ways and the Maltese are no exception. If you can handle some small issues then definitely do yourself a favor and book this property ... you won't be disappointed and it really is a gem.

Finally there was no TV so read what is provided if you enjoy that kind on thing and the wireless did not work for us which was fine as we did not need it and mobile coverage is really good on the island.

Special note if you're interested in the island's history is to check out the Maltese temples ... they are 1500 older than Stone Henge and well worth a visit ... on this also note that the underground one - called Hyperdrome - only allows people who have booked and then only 10 people per hour ... they seem to be booked up well in advance but if you go to the Museum of Archeology in Valletta you can always buy tickets for the same day ...

All said I recommend you book this property and enjoy Malta ... we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Had not been cleaned and bed was not made up for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely special space and surrounding area”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

On arriving in Mdina late at around 10pm we were greeted and shown to the house by Mrs Cremona and were introduced to 'Toffee and Co'. Both were super. We'd been left some milk and fruit etc for the late arrival which was super and handy. A little show around the small village made it easier for the morning to run out and grab essentials. We didn't take any toiletries with the airport liquid ban so we planned to buy them there but this was a mistake. Super pricey toiletries in Malta (although this doesn't reflect on the house in any way just be aware).

We were told that on one morning there would be some workmen oiling the brick on the house ready for their winter weather which when we were told was of course absolutely fine. Every house needs a little maintenance right? But then came the three consecutive mornings of early wake up calls. Not what we'd planned for our weeks relaxing stay before our unborn child should arrive. We'd planned lazy mornings and relaxing evenings. One morning was met with heavy chiselling and hammering. The second morning a 'high reach' truck rolled down the street sounding its reverse noise (which of course felt like it went on for an eternity because the street was so narrow). More hammering and chiselling. Then the third day was a full repeat of day one of works. It really let the stay down and to top it off I ended up having to clean the inside of the house because all of the dust and loose brick came through the windows/doors no matter if we closed them or not. The only bonus to having work done was the oil smelt fantastic.

The house itself was well equipped for a good stay there. The only suggestions would be to purchase some sharp paring knives and make sure guests have some cleaning products on hand as I thought it was probably a 3/5 on cleanliness. Mainly sweeping/mopping issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The town, Rabat.
Liked least: The early morning wake up calls from workmen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise114
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning combo of history and style”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful house in a quiet, historical area. The hosts (Cremona family) couldn't be more helpful on arrival and throughout stay when needed. Buses nearby give quick access to the rest of the island and Mdina's medieval beauty is just a couple of minutes walk away. If visiting in winter, take slippers and a warm robe as nights get chilly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing