We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip you will not want to miss!!”
Review of Mdina Old City

Mdina Old City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$511.11*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A trip you will not want to miss!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

the old city is a wonderful place to visit, it is largely pedestrian and is undergoing sympathetic restoration. This is a place to wander about taking in the narrow streets, golden stone and surprises around every corner. it is not huge and if you pick up an audio guide from the souvenir shop you will not miss anything. There is no charge to enter the old city, ther is an excellent museum to visit, Mdina Glass, the wonderful Mdina Cathedral must not be missed. there are some architectural gems and you need the audio guide to make sure that you dont miss them!

There is not a lot of choice of places to eat but ther are a few, and they all seemed OK, we stopped for coffee and cake, it was a bit pricey but it was good. We hired a car and driver for the day which between 4 was not expensive, we stopped at Mosta domed church, a must see on route and after Mdina the driver took us to an amazing seafood restaurant on the coast and then a scenic drive back to our hotel. A really enjoyable day!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank England&USJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,985
    1,802
    206
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mdina a must see”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We wound up in Mdina after being side tracked from our original plan and were happy with the way things turned out...
We arrived in the early evening and I have to say, if you should go, this would be the time to do it as the morning crowds are non existant... walking the streets of the "quiet city" was a treat at dusk... the narrow maze like streets were easy to navigate and after strolling past the Cathedral we asked a local for a dining tip and he steered us to a delightful restaurant where the food and service were excellent... The ancient walled city of Mdina is a must see and try and do it in the evening to avoid the throngs who gather during the day time...
Happy trails...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just a wonderful place to wander about in. We went to the cathedral which was beautiful and the museum was definitely worth a visit. We saw Mdina glass and of course bought some. The restoration work in this old capital city has been sympathetically done and is still on going. If you go to Malta don't miss this experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting and free to enter”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It is free to enter the city - which is mostly a pedestrian zone with limited vehicle traffic. Quaint to walk around, and a good audioguide available from the souvienier shop on the left as you enter (much more extensive than the audioguide from the Museum on the right). There are some architectural gems, and good examples of Baroque design.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank WebkoorCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent day out.”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Definitely worth visiting. Beautiful quiet and seen streets of Maltas old capital. Would definately recommend it. Free entrance also. You could get a horse and carriage ride through the streets. Restaurants inside are a little pricey and scarce. Busses pass every half an hour back to the north of the Island.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveldr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mdina Old City also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Island of Gozo, Malta
 

Been to Mdina Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing