We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third time”
Review of Mdina Old City

Mdina Old City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$510.17*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Lunel, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“third time”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

every time we visit Malta we go back for a day to Mdina
its a bus ride and there you are the stop is Rabat as the main traffic in the old city are the horse drawn small traps
you walk across the big bridge and there you are in a different world

its such a lovely view from the walls some very nice shops at no dearer then the rest of Malta and some good restaurants when your feet need a break

the cathedral the the museum and there is also a nice convent and I am sure some we still haven't seen yet
its just a very pleasant walk around and I love going back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,979
    1,802
    206
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is definitely a place to visit. Hidden city inside castle walls! Beautiful but not much here if your lookin in the way of souvenir shops and such like, although there is the Mdina glass shop inside. You can walk around or get a horse and cart. Its not an all day occasion though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice spot, relaxing and quiet, and potentially educational”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The city is quite compact, walkable within a couple of hours. Many attractions there to visit, and quite a few places to relax and have a coffee or a light meal. A medieval town very well preserved.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank haimkupershmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular old city”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stroling the narrow streets of Mdina was just cool, felt like I was in maze surrounded by great medieval walls. Walk the narrow streets and you'll find interesting corners. The fact that there are people who actually live there is just awesome. The area is also very clean and well kept. We didn't manage to stay until the evening, but we could imagine would be even cooler to walk along those narrow streets when it is dark. Highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank subterranean1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The Silent City...a rarity anywhere in the world!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I'm a local, and Mdina is definetly a must see when visiting Malta. We never tire to visit this prior capital city of Malta. Will not bore anyone as entire books have been written about this very ancient town. Just search....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mdina Old City also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Island of Gozo, Malta
 

Been to Mdina Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing