We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super location and outlook”
other travellers have booked this property
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room. The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room.
The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Dining room with spiral staircase.
The kitchen
The kitchen.
The W.C. and sink.
Shower and sink area.
Separate shower room plus sink.
The living room.
Living room - balcony view.
Living room, leading to the bedroom.
Living room and bedroom - inter-connected balcony.
The bedroom.
Alternate view of the bedroom.
Bedroom - balcony view.
Bedroom - balcony view.
Entrance to the property.
The property.
Villegaignon Street - location of property.
A stunning aerial photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
Mdina skyline at sunset.
Mdina at sunset
The Main Gate of Mdina, showing the underlying public gardens.
Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
ChrisF-Ne...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super location and outlook”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is an extremely comfortable and well appointed one bedroom house looking straight across at the Cathedral. From the upstairs sitting room and bedroom the view is breathtaking. The building is historic and the owners live next door, very obliging and helpful. All communications were exceptionally prompt and detailed. Being within the citadel means you can enjoy the different parts of the day: silent mornings and evenings and the bustle of daytime. Highly recommended. Many thanks, Joanna, for all your kindness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daytrippe...
manchester england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Mdina”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I last visited Malta 27 years ago and wished to visit the Island again . Mdina was the place of choice and the house of character was a lovely place to stay and return to at the end of the day. Andrea could not have been more hospitable. Mdina is a place you must not miss for that extra experience on the island of Malta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Egerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very unusual and interesting opportunity to stay in Mdina”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A rare chance to stay in a prime location on the cathedral square in the walled city of Mdina. We were met by the parents of Andrea, who live next door. Joanna is a charming hostess. The apartment is quite small and the bathroom has a very low sloping ceiling. After showering the water lies on the floor making use of the basin difficult until you have squeegeed the water away. Also be aware that the spiral staircase to the bedroom and sitting room is very steep and tight and requires some care. What an unrivalled position it has, to be able to sit out on your own little balcony (with cake from Fontanella maybe!) overlooking the cathedral, its square, the ancient buildings around it and along the road leading away - the ultimate in people watching! The beds were exceedingly comfortable and the cathedral chimes didn't bother us.
The main gate car park is quite busy but there are two other gates (Greek gate and nearby it a small gate that leads towards the old railway station), both of which have quieter car parking areas. Wonderful walking around this city at night with its dim lighting. Wonderful also to dine downstairs in candlelight with the outer door open and the inner glass door closed - at least once some people approached thinking it was an intimate exclusive restaurant!
We were both surprised by how much traffic (delivery vans, cars etc) passes by bearing in mind you require a permit and the city is very small, it is not quite the "Silent city" that is claimed, but compared with any Maltese main road it is pretty good!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for the review. We rarely reply to reviews, but just feel the need to comment on this 'lukewarm' review, as I believe it is our only 4 star review on the property (though I may be mistaken).

Indeed the bathroom is as you described, this is an unfortunate reality of these old houses that were not originally designed when they were built for comfort. It is only our extensive renovations that made it possible to host guests in the home as it stands now. The spiral staircase does take some getting used to - we hope our photos are accurate and indicate this in our online advertisement.

Also very true about the traffic - however this is mostly restricted to the late morning/early afternoon. Once it gets later, I believe that the city can indeed rightfully claim to be the "Silent City" of Malta, but perhaps I am biased in this regard.

We are happy that you enjoyed the location, it is indeed unrivalled as it overlooks the main square, and the atmosphere of the home. Wishing you all the best for future travels,

Andrea and Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdlassete...
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“Legendary Hospitality”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

When St Paul was shipwrecked on Malta, he noted the people's extraordinary hospitality, as recorded in Acts 27:28. Although we were not in such dire circumstances, my granddaughter and I likewise had an experience of this legendary Maltese hospitality from our hosts, Joanna and Joseph, who lived next door and owned the house of character in which we stayed for more than two weeks. It was more like being guests in the home of friends, and we'll never forget the many kindnesses that assured our comfort and happiness whilst we were there. The accommodations were charming, from the view over the piazza from the balcony to the honey-colored stone of the interior walls, which provided a resonant acoustical background for my granddaughter 's little ukulele when we'd sing together in the evenings. We had only to walk out the door to find excellent restaurants nearby, and just next door JoAnna had a charming shop with beautiful gifts to take back to our family in the USA. I wanted to be near a church where I could attend daily Mass without too much hassle, and the evening Mass at St Paul Cathedral was only a few steps away, as was the ancient Carmelite Church adjacent to our lodging. We enjoyed the bustle of the day's visitors and tourists: the morning vegetable seller and delivery vans to the area restaurants, the jingle of the carriages and clip-clop of the horses' hooves, and tour-guided crowds walking just outside, through the city. We enjoyed the evening activity, too, of merry wedding parties, couples strolling about, families dining, and the fun of children playing treasure hunt; one evening, we were entertained by a group of teenagers stuffing themselves into the phone-booth box on the corner, like Dr. Who. From the loveliness of afternoon sunlight on ancient Maltese stone to the view from the bastions, we enjoyed our time very much. The suppressed laughter of the evening games of hide-and-seek to the silence of solitary nuns passing in their grey habits, the narrow and mysterious streets of Mdina gave a marvelous back-drop of charming human activity, which was a refreshment for those who would escape the shipwreck of a threatened world torn by violence and political turmoil. Those who love history and the sounds of people at play, those who are comforted by the reassurance of the voice of the Church's bell-clock chiming through the night, such kindred souls will love being in this ancient city in the pleasant accommodations of the most gracious Maltese hosts one could ever hope to meet. Thank you, Joanna and Joseph, for sharing your ancestral home with us! God bless you with happiness and prosperity!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location in Mdina
Liked least: the circular stairway
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer66...
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Enjoyed our stay in this beautiful Maltese house. Amazing property, great location really atmospheric. Joanna and Andrea were fantastic hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, really welcoming.

I would recommend this holiday to anyone.

Many thanks for your kind hospitality

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment in Mdina”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very nice apartment. Clean and everything we needed. Joanna is a sweet and helpful host. Love the view of the Cathedral from the upstairs bedroom and sitting room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the city generally
Liked least: Bathroom on main level only. Stairway (circular) is narrow. Would be very difficult for someone with a disability.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eazygeeze...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in magical Mdina.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this property for three fantastic weeks in July/August. We arrived fully prepared after receiving prompt and detailed emails from Andrea in response to any queries we had. We were then greeted by the wonderful Joanna on arrival who was very friendly and welcoming.
The property itself is a delight and has everything you need for a comfortable and pleasant stay, evenings on the balcony overlooking the main square were a real highlight. Other reviews have mentioned the church bells in Mdina, I can honestly say they were never a problem and certainly did not affect sleep for us..
Mdina itself is a truly amazing place, it transports you back in time with the architecture, sympathetic lighting and so many places of interest, I would definitely make time for the Cathedral whilst you are there. I would also recommend an early morning walk around the city, it will give you chance to really soak n the history of the place as it lives up to its given name locally 'The Silent City'
There are many restaurants and places to eat within the city walls, the quality of all is excellent but for us the nuns café (just out and to the left from the house) was the best and I would suggest giving it a go, whilst there make a point of visiting the bathroom, an odd suggestion but you will see what I mean if you go.
Many thanks to our fantastic hosts Joseph and Joanna, Rob and Sally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is second to none.
Liked least: Nothing about this proerty will dissapoint.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing