We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants
Ranked #2 of 2 Rabat B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent location and the breakfast was good (although we had to wait a hour to be served). However, the place was really dirty, specially the bathroom, and no wi-fi in our bedroom. Also, i cannot say the stuff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    57
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
28
90
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This overlooks the walled city of Mdina which is an absolute must if you are visiting Malta.
The room is basic but has all you need and is a stones throw from the city.

The welcome was friendly and the accommodation clean, there was air con in the room which is required but you do have to pay extra to use it. There is no lift so be prepared to carry luggage up stairs.

The breakfast, which was included in the price was enough to start your day.

overall value for money no frills accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummen, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

For the airconditioning you have to pay an additional 5 euros although their site suggested that it was free. The rooms were not clean, there were hairs of the previous resident in the shower drain. Some of the towels were also dirty. The decoration of the room is very outdated. The location of the hotel was good. The city Mdina was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rabat hotels

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for a week in July, very nice and friendly, but I can't help but think the hotel could make so much more of it's assets. The rooms are basic but functional, although everyday cleaning is inconsistent, somedays we got clean towels, somedays we didn't. We had the same bathroom mat well beyond it's cleanliness, and the shower door was broken and also past it. Somedays we got bottled water, and somedays we didn't.

You kind of forgive all of this because Malta does that to you, however when I got home I realised that this was my holiday, and I spent it in a place that's not as nice as where I live, and that's not how I normally choose to have a "holiday".

Rooms can be fixed, showers and noisey ineffective air con can be changed, but the atrmosphere was troubling. The place was quiet, when all around the area was bustling, particularly on the Friday evening. There wasn't a spare seat at the kiosk over the square, but the Point De Vue was closed and in darkness. Why? The food we had, which was only one evening meal within the week, was average, poor in the case of the beef burger. Why would a hotel in Malta want to try and peddle an African menu? A massive complicated african menu? It just doesn't fit and confused me, I would have loved a steak that night, but had not seen another one served to anyone that week, (there may have been many but I didn't see any) and that put me off. The staff also seemed aloof and disinterested in some cases, and after a certain time of night they would be hard to find.

I am not a hotelier. But this place has historic connections to the RAF, and has a history that should be called upon to drag in extra customers. A nice simple menu would have been so much more effective for us. I was a little worried as to why the late night locals steer clear, but I was only there for one week, maybe that's not always the case.

If you like it rough and ready, then Point De Vue is ok, but if you want a holiday vibe steer clear. It's a great place to soak up the vibe of the town and watch the world go by, but could be so much nicer.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 as we needed to spend time with family in Rabat. At this time of year the hotels in Sliema get crowded and this was a good alternative, not expensive, very clean, on bus routes into Mosta, Valetta, etc. We ate in restaurants in Mdina and Rabat and it worked really well. If you want to stay away from the crowds and the bars full of language school kids through the summer, and you have a car or dont mind the local busses, then this is not a bad option.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have 3 beds, ours had a double and two twins, so good for a family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here toward the end of our holiday in order to be nearer to the airport. Managed to get a good price and having read previous experiences on Tripadvisor we knew roughly what to expect. This is a place with lots of history and a great location for exploring. Unfortunately we experienced the same as most previous visitors commented about. The building is in need of some serious TLC. It's not a dirty place it's just tired and confused. Shower needs replacing. Hideous suspended ceiling in room. bed was comfortable and sheets and towels clean and undamaged (complaint I read about). We were allowed to keep our room during the day to utilise the shower etc before our evening flight, although this was at a cost of Euro 20.00. Food was good and plentiful and not too long await for it. Service came with a smile.
I would stay here again as it is quiet and clean but would love to see a bit of money spent on an overdue refit,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_5912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Food was good but the service not so.

While taking our order we had to repeat our preferences more than once, luckily we got what we ordered; even though we were left for an hour waiting until the food arrived. The only bad comment about the food was that the salad was not fresh and one of our desserts looked like it had already been nibbled on. Food portions were big.

Liquers should also be served in the appropriate glass.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabat
0.1 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
2.7 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
6.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants

Property: Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants
Address: Saqqajja Square, Rabat, Island of Malta, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Rabat
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point de Vue is a small, family run guest house dating back to the 17th century. Located just outside the fortified city of Mdina, Malta's Silent City and its old capital and now a World Heritage site. Recently renovated and under new Management (December 2013), the Point de Vue Guest House boast a number of rooms, some with breath taking views of almost half of the island of Malta. Facilities include: English Breakfast Ensuite Bathroom Cable TV Air Conditioning (at an extra charge) The Restaurants Whether overlooking the magnificent view of the Rabat countryside or enjoying the more relaxed and informal WiFi connected lounge, Point de Vue offers an innovative take on continental and traditional Maltese dining. The varied menus of snacks and dishes include an extensive selection of local foods, pasta and pizza, deserts and the more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Point de Vue Guesthouse and Restaurants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point De Vue Guesthouse And Restaurants Hotel Rabat
Point De Vue Guesthouse And Restaurants Malta/Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing