We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good insight into Maltese life” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bernard

Casa Bernard
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good insight into Maltese life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were actually shown around by the owner (a very friendly man who obviously loves his home and was willing to answer any questions). The house is immaculately kept, with paintings, ornaments, and weird and wonderful things in every room. It is certainly worth a visit although we did feel a lit bit awkward as we were the only ones on the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    8
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is the private home of an art and antique collector. The tour was informative and friendly, although it would have been much nicer if our guide had offered water or something to drink, as we had to wait several minutes while the previous tour ended. The owners were out of town, so maybe the tour with them is different.

€8 is expensive just to look at someone's collection, but we decided to do it anyway because of the reviews. I enjoyed the tour, although I think €8 is asking a lot to subsidize someone's collection. It felt more like walking through a well-curated antique shop than anything else. If you are a collector you might find it worthwhile. If you are only mildly curious, I would say skip it. My boyfriend was practically falling asleep, he did not find it interesting at all.

I appreciated the art and artifacts the family has collected and the stories behind them, but I would not consider this a "must," especially given the heavy cost output in addition to seeing Heritage Malta sites. There is plenty of free eye candy just walking around Rabat and Mdina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful thing to do in Rabat Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

A terrific visit in Rabat Malta is to the Casa Bernard, a private palazzo that is still inhabited by the family. You simply ring the door bell on the hour, and a member of the family gives you a private tour of the house. I was lucky to have a personal tour with Josette Magri, the lady of the house. I can't imagine going to a fantastic private home in another city, and just ringing the door bell and being let in to see of all of the wonderful silver, antique furniture, paintings, and decorative arts on view. It was a really special experience, especially to walk through with the very knowledgeable and charming Josette.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Casa Bernard has been lovingly restored and furnished by Georges and Josette Magri and primarily it is their family home. We were given a tour today by the charming Josette and were the only people there. It felt as if we were simply visitors to their home rather than tourists.

The building is wonderful but it is the contents which are so interesting. Everywhere you look there are beautiful paintings, silver, china and antique furniture dotted with family photographs, books and magazines. As other reviewers have said many of the items are museum quality and yet you are able to get close and really appreciate the craftsmanship and skill involved in making them. You won't find any roped off areas or screened off exhibits here.

After guiding us around the rooms Josette took us out into the lovely courtyard where we met the equally charming Georges and our daughter fell in love with their dog Ella.

All three of us agreed that Casa Bernard has been the very best attraction we have seen in Malta (and there is plenty to see). Definitely not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mollywolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Certainly not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Thank you so much Georges and Josette Magri for making me feel so very welcome in your wonderful home. I arrived at 2.15 on a very hot and humid day only to find that tours were on the hour. There was however a notice regarding ringing the bell. The owners very kindly said they were free at the time to show me around and what a delightful visit it became. They were very charming and extremely knowledgable about the contents of their home and how wonderful it was to have this personal touch. They have a very interesting and varied art collection including art by local artist Caruana Dingly and were even able to inform me that there was an extensive collection of his work at the Phoenecia Hotel which I saw later.
Starting off as a medieval watch tower built on Roman foundations Casa Bernard is a 16th century double fronted Palazzo with some Baroque additions which is just a 5 minute walk from the entrance to Mdina, the Roman Villa Museum and St Pauls church(1691) with a grotto beneath where St Paul is said to have rested for a few months after he was shipwrecked and brought christianity to Malta. So if you are visiting any of these sites whatever you do, don't miss Casa Bernard where you will view wonderful furniture, silver, art and a delightful courtyard garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zerafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Bernard also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Casa Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing