We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for a dream Wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Capua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Capua
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for a dream Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Last Sunday we got married at Palazzo Capua. It served as the venue for both our ceremony, followed by a sumptuous lunch. The Palazzo itself is a beautiful 200 yr old palace with a fantastic history and still holds the enchanting charisma of days gone by.

Our wedding coordinator was Ms Camille Brincat. Nothing was too much of a problem for her to make our wedding day as special as special can be! As for the food and service, we have nothing but praise, as it was impeccable throughout. We chose a 6-course served menu catered by The Palace and all the food choices were delicious. We got extra positive remarks from all our guests. The headwaiter Quentin and all the staff offer excellent and very attentive service, which gave us time to enjoy both the food and the company of all our guests. The day was made even more special by our wedding officiator Ms Marthese Farrugia Turban. The professional services of Orville J Balzan's 3-piece band made the atmosphere unique.

Then we were offered a complimentary stay in one of the suites at the Palazzo. It was the Selma Suite, split on two levels, which was the perfect start to our honeymoon. We also enjoyed complimentary use of the facilities (indoor pool/saunas/steam room/fitness room) and breakfast at the adjoining 5 star hotel The Palace. During our stay we booked a relaxing massage at the Spa. The following evening we dined at The Tabloid. It's a buffet style dining and the evening was a Caribbean Themed Night. Again, the food and hospitality were divine.

The whole experience was luxurious and we felt like royalty throughout the whole stay. We recommend this venue to anyone who wants to celebrate a special occasion in style.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Shelly802,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next stay among us.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This review was written and placed at the Victoria Hotel page, and not here where it belongs. Maybe I just made a mistake, maybe I just wanted to keep this gem a secret - I don't know :-)
After an unfortunate affair with an inappropriate mistress , power struggles and difficult politics Ferdinand II , king of the two sicillian islands had to exile his brother the prince and his princess to Malta where they settled in Capua Palace in the mid-1800s. Today, the palace is part of The Victoria Hotel and contains a number of suites and magnificent facilities. The neighboring building is St.James hospital. Ask for the suites at the reception.
I stayed in the Prince Franceso Suite ( named so after the Prince who was born here in March 1837) for ten days last year so I knew what to expect. And I was not disappointed this year when I stayed for a week.
Capua Palace has magnificent halls and stairs as the castle it actually is. There is no elevator in the building and there are 36 steps up to the suite. The suite offers a four-poster bed , a spacious bathroom and living room with sofa, chairs, table, fridge and TV. It has a very high ceiling. One can use a large private terrace.
History remains in the walls here and it is wonderful to be able to retreat to this great suite after a long day, or night, out.
At the reception Mr Portelli and his colleagues will assist you with whatever you need - in a friendly way and with a distinct sense of humour .
Highly recommended ! I will certainly be back!
-And then I will return the bottle-opener that somehow ended up in my carry-on luggage but security at MLA let me bring it onto the plane. Thanks for the Palazzo Capua wine! Great fun and a nice surprise :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerInge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear PerInge99,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Palazzo is a beautiful venue, and if you're looking for a quaint yet classy place, look no further. We had an amazing experience, from booking stage till the very end. Our Sales contact, Rebecca Attard was very helpful, always happy to meet us and professional. It was a great pleasure to work with her and I wholeheartedly recommend her and the Palazzo!

Our wedding catered for 65 people and started at 7pm. The evening consisted of The Wedding Ceremony followed by Champagne and Canapes in a separate room [whilst the same ceremony room was being turned around for dinner], then a 5-course seated dinner, followed by cutting of the cake and an after dinner/ New Year's Eve Party till 2.30am. The whole evening was amazing, from start to finish! All our guests complimented us on the brilliant evening and they still do 4 weeks later! We received lots and lots of positive compliments as everything was simply great from ambiance to friendliness of staff, food & beverage service, with a special mention to the exquisite food, compliments to the Chef!

So in conclusion we would like to compliment and thank Palazzo Capua and the excellent team, for giving us an amazing night to remember! Truly magical, thank you!!

Christine

Room Tip: Rooms in The Palazzo are amazing! We had a duplex with a four poster bed upstairs, a very spacious l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Christine,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next stay among us.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fgura, malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We got married in December and where looking for a small intimate venue. I fell in love with this place and started to plan the big day with Sylvain Azzopardi the events manager. He was very enthusiastic and helpful and found the perfect menu and package for our needs and baget.
Finally the big day arrived; Mr. Azzopardi was waiting for our arrival and led us in. Our vision for the décor and set up was spot on. Then the event started and we would like to thank all the persons who helped in any way for our day to be perfect as they all secceded.
If anyone is looking to plan a small event, Palazzo Capua is a place to keep an eye on.
Thank you all for your services.
Corrine & Laurence

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Corrine Z,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next stay among us.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

we celebrated our Silver wedding anniversary at Palazzo Capua. It was the perfect venue and just the style we were after. Classy, elegant, tranquil; we do not like modern settings so this was perfect for us. We were 30 in all and it accomodated us beautifully. We chose a buffet which all the guests enjoyed; there was a very good selection of items and the food was delicious! The events co-ordinator Rebecca Attard was very helpful every step of the way and kept me informed all along. We discussed flowers, music, the food and beverages, the guest parking, the cake...everything was excellent, down to the smallest detail. Customised menus are provided for guests, lovely table setting, excellent staff. The evening was very well-paced, the head server informing us what to do next so that everything went along smoothly. The almond cake is heavenly! Since it was a buffet we could all mingle easily as we got up from our tables and there was the space and privacy for us to make it a family get together. It was truly the perfect choice to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and we would readily choose Palazzo Capua for other memorable occasions. I was sorry it was over, time flew for all of us showing that we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliedeGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
NataliedeGray,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua , I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birzebbuga, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed in one of the Palazzo's room and it felt heavenly... Once inside the Palazzo you immediately feel like royalty and the Prince Francesco Suite is exquisitely decorated. The Palazzo is a perfect escape for a relaxing weekend break, holiday or honeymoon stay as the rooms are very private. The staff is also very helpful. Our stay in the Palazzo was basically Culture, Comfort and Privacy all in one!

Room Tip: The suites in the Palazzo are all very nice..there are five suites and all with their specific chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Donna F,

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, Merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We held our wedding here last saturday and found the whole experience to be fantastic. Decoratively the venue is perfect for wedding as its grandeur lends itself to some amazing pictures. Camille Brincat had been helping us organise our wedding for nearly a year and i was nervous about what to expect because we had not visited the venue prior to arriving in malta 4 days before the big day. We found her very helpful and when we met her and looked at the palazzo our fears disappeared. The food was amazing for the wedding breakfast! 5 course dinner with wine flowing all evening. The service appeared slow at times but added to the laid back ambience that we had wanted to preserve and meant people were able to socialise in between courses and extended the evening for everyone. THE BAND PLAYING WERE AMAZING!!!
We stayed in the Prince of Capua suite which was fantastic. The bed was really comfy and there was plenty of space. Blinds do open...Just a bit of a nac to it.
Only problems we encountered were that my husband was approached to sign a bill at the end of the wedding which he could bearly read let alone think clearly about to sign at that time of evening haha. Also there was some confusion over how much deposit had been paid prior to us arriving in malta but this was soon cleared up by camille who was quick to attend the palace when the bill was being paid.
Overall I found the wedding experience at Palazzo Capua to be amazing. We had a fantastic time and amazing pictures. Recommend staying here to anyone because you really do feel special in this venue.

Room Tip: price of capua suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandDWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at Palazzo Capua, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear JandDWilliams

Thank you for having chosen Palazzo Capua for your Wedding. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Palazzo Capua, I would like to thank you for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Capua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Capua

Property: Palazzo Capua
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sliema
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Capua 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Capua is a carefully restored 200 year old palazzo, perfectly located in central Sliema, Malta-s most fashionable town, and close to all amenities including restaurants, open air cafes and shops. Sliema-s main bus station and ferry port, including the ferry to Valletta are located just 400 meters away. Although a small property with just 5 Suites, Palazzo Capua has a lot to offer. Guests staying can make use of all the facilities at the adjoining 4* The Victoria Hotel and the 5* The Palace. Services and facilities include an outside and inside pool, fitness room and SPA, restaurants and bars, underground parking, meeting and conference venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays and Ebookers so you can book your Palazzo Capua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Capua Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing