We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eating is problematic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocca Nettuno suites
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“eating is problematic”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

No complaints about the appartment, but as already mentioned by another reviewer, there is no water in the "kitchen" area, just microwave/kettle/toaster, so need to go to bathroom to wash any dishes, fill kettle etc. Also, cutlery was minimalist - 2 knives, 2 forks 2 teaspoons, can opener, no corkscrew, no scissors, 2 wine gasses, 2 cups....so many visits to bathroom were necessary..

These are minor inconviences, which Owners could rectify at little cost - and thereby merit their otherwise good ratings.

The restaurant appeared basic, but acceptable - but there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbeamGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    247
    87
    43
    28
See reviews for
124
268
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently returned from a holiday in Malta, having stayed at the Rocca Nettuno suites. The interior of the hotel is very modern and the apartments are attractive and spacious. However, whilst there is a full size fridge freezer, there is only a kettle and microwave and no sink to wash the crockery. The wash basin in the bathroom is of a shape and size which makes it impractical for washing plates and tall wine glasses, which were supplied. The balcony is small and narrow and is for decoration and not to be used for relaxing.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast we had was fairly basic but adequate.

The Rocca Nettuno suites are in a convenient location for the ferry and buses.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Rocca Nettuno suites.

On the plus side: excellent location as the ferry and busses are less than 5 mins walk away. There are plenty of eating establishments nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The disappointments: small bedroom area, grubby towels, no sink to wash up in apart from in the bathroom and a very disappointing pool area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO KERRY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here start of September and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised, having on a previous holiday stayed in a 5 star hotel.
Staff are very friendly and efficient especially Natalie at reception. (A credit to the establishment)
The room (213) was perfect and I would have given the Suite a 4 star rating except that there was drop off problems with the free wi fi. It was eventually sorted after a few days.
Breakfast was another reason for the 4 star rating as it was limited. Coffee was okay though!!

Apart from these two reasons I would definitely stay here again as it is perfectly placed for eating establishments and shopping. The buses and ferry are only five minutes walk away and make for easy access to the entire island. I was going to hire a car but was concerned about the parking and the driving standard and instead opted for the seven day bus pass. Busses can get a bit crowded in the mornings and evenings but apart from that I really enjoyed the trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNOWDROP252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My friend and I are just back from a week at the Rocca Nettuno hotel and felt compelled to write a review.
In our opinion this is not worthy of 4* despite the many good points the hotel has. We loved the suite and echo other guests remarks on how spacious it was. The beds were comfortable, the shower was great and the staff were mainly helpful but we were on HB and the food was very poor. Breakfast was continental and pretty boring. Apparently they used to provide an English breakfast but its now changed. You were given hard boiled eggs and beans but that was it.
Our main complaint is about the poor choice at dinner. The menu consisted of soup, salad and pasta every night for a starter and a choice of fish or meat for main. This was served with some kind of potato and over done vegetables. Dessert was cake or ice cream. The staff are overworked and the same person has to serve the meals and drinks and on our 4th night we were told we had to serve ourselves!!!!
Also I have never stayed in a 4* hotel were you can't get a drink or a coffee until 6 o'clock. The public areas are always deserted so there is no atmosphere at all in the hotel. We booked in July and the travel company and myself requested a rear view high up room where we may have had a view. Needless to say this didn't happen. Our room was at the rear on the 3rd floor but just overlooked another building. The verandas are useless as there are no chairs and who wants to look at another building anyway. Having said that the location of the hotel is great as its a short walk to the ferry and bus stops.
As other guests have stated there are hardly any sun loungers on the roof terrace and pool area and many guests walked away disappointedly at not being able to relax in the sun. Maybe a few tables and chairs would compensate for not getting a lounger as at least you could enjoy the sun.
Despite all this we loved Malta and had a lovely time visiting all of the wonderful sights it has to offer. I may go back in the future but not to this hotel unless I was on room only basis.

Room Tip: Makes little or no difference really as unless you are on the 5th floor you will probably only overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield yorks.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

There were a number of things we liked about the Rocca Nettuno Suites, but overall it felt like a place with an identity crisis.

It doesn't seem to know whether it wants to be a luxury apartment complex or a 4 star hotel and, as a result, manages to be neither. It doesn't work properly as an upmarket apartment since, while they provide you with stylish crockery and cutlery, there is nothing to cook with other than a microwave and no pans or other utensils. Nor is there a sink for washing up if you brought food in, other than the bathroom wash basin which is totally unsuitable.

It does not work as a 4 star hotel since it does not have the level of amenities or ambience usually associated with that kind of establishment and, whilst we did not have an evening meal there, the food at breakfast was distinctly 2 star.

Other disappointments were that, while the overall size of the suite was very generous, it was badly distributed with the sitting / dining area being much larger than necessary whereas the bedroom was quite tight and only contained a small wardrobe and very little drawer space.

Also, the bedroom of our suite on the 5th. floor backed onto an open air duct, on top of which sat a noisy extractor fan which meant we had to sleep with the window fully closed, not something we like to do. Finally, I endorse the comments by others about the awful choice of TV channels and fail to understand why, on a predominantly English speaking island, there should be one such TV programme out of the 30 plus available.

On the plus side, our accommodation was stylish clean and well located and we appreciated the free underground parking, having hired a car for 4 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeats10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the 'Rocca Nettuno Suites' hotel from the 26th September until the 3rd October. We have stayed in great hotels all over the World yet we were still very impressed by this hotel. Nothing is ever perfect and we could echo some of the comments previously made , such as the lack of lighting in the Lounge/Dining area, no sink for the washing up other than the bathroom sink, but none of these should be allowed to detract from the spaciousness of the suites, the cleanliness of the hotel, the helpfull staff and the convenient location of this hotel. You will have difficulty finding another hotel in Sliema that has all these things going for it. We booked on a Bed and Breakfast basis and found the breakfast adequate, however we mostly purchased porridge pots from the Supermarket and had had our own breakfast in the room. The hotel is 2 mins from the Supermarket at the 'Point Shopping Centre'.
As others have pointed out this hotel is one road back from the the main waterfront area (quite a steep hill to and from the waterfront') where the ferry to Valletta is situated, plus all the harbour cruises and both local bus services and the 'Hop on- Hop off' bus. The promenade which they leave from is very long and a delight to walk along. A shopping Mall is located in Silema and we were very surprised to find so many English brand names in the Mall (Marks and Spencer, Dorothy Perkins, BHS, Debenhams etc). We found people to be generally very friendly and helpful. There are also many eating places on the waterfront within 5 mins of the Hotel. We found the Cafe SICILIA to provide good food at a reasonable price.
If you turn left out of the Hotel, then right, left and right again it is possible to walk to the other promenade and then to St. Julian's Bay, another promenade in good condition a very pleasant walk.
Natalie at the front desk was very helpful and Stuart (the English cleaner) also supplied good information. Natalie was a mine of information and willing to go that extra step to assist you in every way possible.
Monday is market in Valletta. The buses are even harder to get on on that day. The number 12, 13, 15 all go to Valletta from the Sliema waterfront, however, it could take up to an hour to get one as they are always full up and so rarely stop. If you decide to take a taxi they are expensive and be prepared to bargain with them as they are expensive.
Altogether a great holiday. Would we return and stay at this same Hotel and Use 'Malta Direct' to book again? The answer is defintely YES!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca Nettuno suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca Nettuno suites

Property: Rocca Nettuno suites
Address: Triq Mattew Pulis, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3052, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocca Nettuno suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocca Nettuno suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Nettuno Suites Hotel Sliema
Rocca Nettuno Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing