We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocca Nettuno suites
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I will start with the good, the suite was massive and kept spotless and beds changed every day.
Location good for busses, shops, restaurants, etc and also shopping centre.
Now the bad, food at very best average and breakfast boring cheap poor quality.
There is a college next door and every morning students and kids were piling into the dining area where the hotel has a takeaway counter then they took it into dining area where we were having breakfast, they were very noisy and left all their rubbish everywhere as well, not acceptable when you are a paying resident guest.
We complained twice but nothing done about it, also building work going on very noisy from early morning.
Large tv in room but only 2 English speaking channels bbc news and euro news.
It is hard to understand what the rocca is trying to be, not the worst we have stayed in but very confusing where the priorities are is it the passing trade as a cafe or looking after paying guests who are residents.

Room Tip: Very limited rooms with a view most looking at other buildings very close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    253
    89
    44
    28
See reviews for
128
269
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We can't recommend this place highly enough - helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, a large, clean and well equipped room and a great location, just a couple of minutes walk away from the main centre of Sliema with its waterfront, restaurants and shops. For the price we paid, the value was incredibly good - we'll definitely be returning to the area and this hotel will be the first one we search for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springwood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week in Malta, staying at the Rocca Suites in Sliema! Location was great, just a short taxi ride from the lively st Julian's (about 12€) our apartment was spacious and spotless! The whole building was very clean, and quiet! Staff spoke perfect English, and were very friendly and helpful! All the plugs in our apartment were English which was a nice surprise. Free wifi. And the Italian cafe downstairs does very cheap yet tasty food if your in a rush and don't have time to eat out. The only downside was the bed which was 2 singles pushed together but it was quite comfortable anyway. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiera88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I don't know where to start: first the good few things: the price and the location (in the middle of Sliema, next to the cafés, the buses and all the shopping).
Yet, we stayed here for 1 week and for the whole week our room wasn't cleaned correctly, they just made the bed and put away the cushions (not always even empty the trash cans), the bathroom wasn't cleaned and the floor wasn't even swept once. On the 4th day I told the reception, they said they would tell the cleaning lady but still, it wasn't done, so on the 5th day I asked the cleaning lady the broom to do it myself! Come on, i'm not expecting luxury in this kind of cheap hotel but I'm not expecting to have to do the cleaning myself neither!
Overall we had a terrible experience at this "hotel" because of the dirt but also because the non stop noise inside the hotel (you can hear everything through the walls and through the floors) and outside the hotel because of the noise of construction in the street: just know that if you book a room in this hotel, you'll never be able to rest for one second.
Also, if you have a baby/kid, be sure not to book a taxi through the hotel: I had booked a taxi with a baby seat and the hotel had assured me the taxi would have a baby seat but when we actually got into the cab and put our baby in the "babyseat" we realized the straps didn't work, couldn't be adjusted (so, what's the point of the babyseat??) and worst of all that the baby seat wasn't even bukled up/ tied up to the seat!! Apparently, for the Rocca Nettuno suites, babies are not even human beings deserving to have a seat belt and deserving to be safe (plus, they had put the baby cot in the room right below two plugs...) but they have no qualms charging you 5 euros for a babyseat that is broken.
Tip: make sure to bring enough clothes with you if you travel to Malta, it's very hard to find a laundromat/ laundrette, there's one not far from the hotel (next to the HSBC bank) but they charge 10 euros for a small and tiny bag of clothes and you have to wait 2 or 3 days to get your clothes clean (we ended up washing our clothes ourselves because when I asked the reception they couldn't help us of course)...
To sum it up: terrible vacation in a terrible hotel. Malta, never again!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy your holidays, don't book a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karlie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed half term week in February. We had a nice suite with balcony. The rooms were spacious with tv, mini kitchen. Don't expect to get much of a view from balcony as the hotel in just of the Main Street. If you want a view of Silema the roof top pool makes up for it. The hotel is clean and tidy. The staff were very polite and friendly. Tony one of the resultant staff was great. Breakfast was great it had a good selection of cereals, toast, cooked foods and cold meats. We all ate in the restaurant there is a good selection to choose from on the menu. The Rocco Nettuno is a little gem. We would book again.

Room Tip: A lovely quiet and freindly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Back for the Malta marathon again and used this hotel to get away from the harbour front hotels that can be far too noisy from the road.
Well it was superb. From the changes in booking, to check in, to the stay to check out we simply can't fault it.
Charles on the reception is a gem, superb gentleman who is so helpful.
The room itself was very spacious, well appointed and has everything you need. Wifi is strong in the room we were in, and we had a nice partial sea view. Lovely and quiet location but close enough for a very short stroll to the restaurants and harbour.
We certainly will be booking again for next year's race.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rooms are spacious, we had two rooms , our suite was really big but when I saw my mum and her friends I was blown away by its size..huge. Beds are comfy. Rooms were spotless. Only complaint was the shower, very little power. Breakfast great, lots to choose from, decent coffee. Hotel itself was quiet but construction work going on nearby and started at 7.30 am, No
Is in for us.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5 the floor and it was quiet. Room 253 had no view but 251 had partial view and muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca Nettuno suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca Nettuno suites

Property: Rocca Nettuno suites
Address: Triq Mattew Pulis, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3052, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocca Nettuno suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocca Nettuno suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Nettuno Suites Hotel Sliema
Rocca Nettuno Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing