We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, great location and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocca Nettuno suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocca Nettuno suites
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious, great location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were a party of four - 2 adults and 2 teenage children and enjoyed a fab stay at this hotel. The parking was a bonus as we hired a car for a week and we found the location very convenient for the sea front, shopping and ferry to Valletta. The suite was cleaned daily, very spacious and having a table, microwave, toaster and fridge freezer was great for breakfasts, snacks and drinks. We ate out at relatives and restaurants most of the time but did enjoy a pizza at the hotel one evening, very tasty and offer included a glass of wine. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the cleaners.
Very minor gripes are the TV having all german channels and only 3 forks in the cutlery tray. On the p!us side we came back to find our plates and cutlery washed each day.
Excellent base to explore, very spacious with a lovely roof top pool area and great views. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    239
    84
    40
    26
See reviews for
119
261
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The suite was really really massive, a separate bedroom, lounge and terrace. A few negatives: although clean, the bath had some nasty black mould around the edges; the fridge never got cold (I couldn't be bothered to complain); considering English is spoken by everyone in Malta, the choice of English TV channels was like limited.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BevAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Wanted a straightforward holiday in the sun with our baby & came across this...just what we wanted/ needed! Clean, comfortable & quiet in a great location - room was very spacious, kitchenette just right to sort breakfast before heading out to explore Malta & beyond. Meals out for rest of day (very cheap & lots of choice locally) before back for baby bath time > bed in provided travel cot: separate living room for us to use in the evenings was great!!

Staff friendly. Pool area on top floor was lovely with some nice views but pool was too cold at this time of year to use!

Didn't use the restaurant downstairs as prices high compared to local places but did look good.

Overall, impressed & would recommend as a base for your holiday!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyVilla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been to Malta before but never stayed in Sliema, nice place. We decided to take a spring break and there are not many sun destinations at that time of year so we decided to try Malta. We found the property on Travel Republic and checked it out on TripAdvisor. Great location, very friendly, clean and plenty of space. We cannot praise this property enough and would have no reservations in recommending it. On the down side there is a hill to climb from the sea front so it would not be a good location for wheelchairs. Yes you do have to wash your plates in the bathroom sink but eating out in Malta is so cheap you will only have breakfast in the room.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Suites are well appointed; spacious; clean and comfortable with huge fridge freezer; microwave; toaster; dining area and cutlery/crockery etc. Somewhere in the kitchen area to wash up would be useful. Huge TV in room - although we didn't use this so cannot comment on channels available. Free Wi-Fi in rooms proved invaluable - enabled us to Skype home instead of expensive mobile phone calls.

Pool area is well maintained - although for the duration of our stay there were only 4 sunbeds available.

Whilst there's a language school next door and it could be noisy this didn't bother us too much. The students bought food from the hotel although didn't eat on the premises.

We'd booked the half board option; I downloaded the menu from the hotel website and it was more than acceptable. However, on the first night we were handed a photocopied menu with burger (one); pizza & pasta - no salads or anything remotely 'healthy' on offer - if you were vegetarian (or prefer not to eat meat) then forget it. The photocopied menu suggested asking our server for the fish/meat specials of the day. We did this and our server told us there were none available. No fish? In Malta? We asked if we could choose from the main menu & pay the difference; we were told this was not an option.

We felt we'd been duped as once we'd paid there wasn't much we could do. We complained to the manager & on our last night were 'allowed' to choose from the main menu. The manager told us they'd have provided us with salad or non-meat options had we asked - we were told differently by the server.

The hotel dining room has a perfectly adequate self service area (used at breakfast) yet apparently only utilised for dinner when they have at least 12 'half-boarders'; there were only 4 of us during our stay. When there are not many 'half-boarders' it's their policy to provide the small menu - we felt that 'half-board' meant 'half & sub-standard portions'. The serving staff (who are lovely – particularly Tony) were all highly embarrassed by this by the way.

The hotel didn't have much of a clue about dining/hospitality. The dining room is more like a cafeteria than a hotel dining room with (at dinner) bright overhead lighting; two televisions on constantly both showing sport/current affairs & poor bar area with no-one serving for the duration of our stay. Not a venue for celebrating a special occasion (as we were).

UK tour operators need to be aware of this situation and advise their customers accordingly i.e. warn about the lack of service in the public areas and not offer the half-board option until later in the season.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have sunny balconies - they charge extra for this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillkent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I will start with the good, the suite was massive and kept spotless and beds changed every day.
Location good for busses, shops, restaurants, etc and also shopping centre.
Now the bad, food at very best average and breakfast boring cheap poor quality.
There is a college next door and every morning students and kids were piling into the dining area where the hotel has a takeaway counter then they took it into dining area where we were having breakfast, they were very noisy and left all their rubbish everywhere as well, not acceptable when you are a paying resident guest.
We complained twice but nothing done about it, also building work going on very noisy from early morning.
Large tv in room but only 2 English speaking channels bbc news and euro news.
It is hard to understand what the rocca is trying to be, not the worst we have stayed in but very confusing where the priorities are is it the passing trade as a cafe or looking after paying guests who are residents.

Room Tip: Very limited rooms with a view most looking at other buildings very close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We can't recommend this place highly enough - helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, a large, clean and well equipped room and a great location, just a couple of minutes walk away from the main centre of Sliema with its waterfront, restaurants and shops. For the price we paid, the value was incredibly good - we'll definitely be returning to the area and this hotel will be the first one we search for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springwood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca Nettuno suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca Nettuno suites

Property: Rocca Nettuno suites
Address: Triq Mattew Pulis, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3052, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocca Nettuno suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Rocca Nettuno suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Nettuno Suites Hotel Sliema
Rocca Nettuno Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing