We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fortina
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Depiro Point(Sliema)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Palace(Sliema)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Corner Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,732)
Filter reviews
1,732 results
Traveller rating
314
642
476
184
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
642
476
184
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardfree harbour cruisesea viewdine around optionla vallettegarden roomtwo double bedsoverlooking the gardensa re ga mamain restaurantcaptain morganoverlooking vallettacocktail barchoice of restaurantsvarious restaurantsshopping centrespa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
1,288 - 1,293 of 1,732 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I booked this 5 night trip through a deal advertised on Travel Zoo.. and what a deal it was!

I was a bit concerned after I read reviews of the Fortina, but what a load of rubbish!! We had a fantastic time. We got there and got an immediate upgrade to a sea view jacuzzi suite, looking straight over the harbour to Valetta.. what an amazing view! The room was huge, with a walk in wardrobe and a large bathroom, and powerful jacuzzi jets. The food in the hotel was all delicious, we ate in each of the different restaurants so there was always something different on the menu.. our favourite was the chinese! The pool area was quiet and chilled, the pool is cold, but when it gets hot, its just what you need. The spa is amazing, and had the best all over body massage :)

We had a couple of days out.. Valetta is a must! its a gorgeous city.. we went there in the morning because it gets very busy, then when we got back we went on the harbour cruise which is very interesting as the guide tells you all the history of the area. It was good because we got to see Valetta from the inside first then from the outside looking in. There is a good shopping mall right by the hotel, with all our familiar shops. If you want to go out to a lively area, then get in a cab to Paceville, this is where all the drinking happens, and theres the best kebab shop there too :)

All in all its a good holiday venue as it has everything.. good weather, culture, beautiful scenery, drinking venues and lovely food

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liela_mena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear leila_mena,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Fortina on this website and also for sharing your wonderful photos. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This is a very good hotel, in a good location with fantastic views of Valetta. Overall the hotel was exceptionally clean, tidy and in very good decorative order. Staff were helpful and friendly. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel especially to couples. I would not however recommend the hotel to those with younger children and this is only because there are no facilities geared towards children, no kids clubs, water slides etc, poolside snacks. The quality of food was very good in the buffet restaurant. The other restaurants offered a table d'hote menu for those on the dine around all inclusive option. Again food was lovely, service friendly and welcoming. There was also a good selection of international drinks and an extensive cocktail menu. Hotel close to bus stops, ferry service, shops etc. The only negative experience was our evening at the tigne restaurant. The atmosphere in this restaurant was unfriendly, and the waiters were rude and unhelpful. The food was also not great - to be honest just give this one a miss and visit the others. Please note that there is some building work being done next to this hotel, and the noise does affect the garden view rooms. I personally did not find this too much of a problem but you will experience some building noise, although the glazing to the rooms does cut most of this out. This is a good hotel, and i think deserves more than the 3.5 average rating that is has on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwinaberdeen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear darwinaberdeen313,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on this site. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that poolside snack are available. The menu is available at the Lido Bar after 1st May.

We are disappointed to learn of your experience in the Ristorante Tigne. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto the appropriate personnel for immediate action.

Please also be advised that the building works mention are very far from the Hotel and has not caused any distrubance to any other guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Our room (510) was nice and clean, but rather small. Maid service was excellent - 2 Euro on the pillow each morning was perhaps helpful?
A room with a seaview is highly recommended - the view across the bay over to Valletta is beautiful.
Not much noise from the road in front of the hotel. Many nice pubs, caf'ées and restaurants a few minutes walk from the hotel. To the bus stop it takes 6-8 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Osmund,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this site. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Negatives: Stay 16th to 23rd April 2011
Hotel plays host and positively encourages RCI time share reps to waste your time.
Unhelpfull Receptionist, try to block any complaints to management.
Thelessotherepy Pool in urgent need of maintainance. Corrosive saline atmosphere has penetrated the ceiling fabric and corroded the extract ductwork at high level. Inspection and testing suggested to check integrity of ceiling fabric and support structures before possible collapse. H&S issue.
Upon arrival reception suggested we walk the streets for two hours as room was unavailable. Disgracefull attitude.
Main outdoor pool unavailable all week due to maintenance works.
No evening entertainment in the main bar area.
Dine around experience a joke. Some of the restauraunts were only open Fri/Sat.
Valletta Buffet poor no knives to be found or Salt & Pepper dispensers.
A/C not functioning.
All Spa pool and bath areas in need of attention/sevicing/maintenance.
No pool/coffe bar most of the week.
Standards well below par.
You do not get what you have paid for (Either out of action or unavailable)
Complaints to management not conveyed on by Reception.

Positive.
Good Location
Nice Shopping Mall next door.
Rooms cleaned every day.
Change of management badly needed.

Room Tip: Choose a diiferent 4/5 star hotel. This at best 3*
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meanwell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Having already booked the holiday I thought it might be wise to check reviews of the hotel. Having got a mixed reception from these we aproached the holiday with an open mind. On checking in we overheard two groups complaining about the size of their room and wanting to be moved. Not good we thought. However when we got to our room (103) it was huge! Much bigger than we thought we would get. The views from the balcony over the water to Valletta were superb, it had a walk in wardrobe and a jacuzzi bath. The bed was a bit soft but comfortable and caused us no problems. We did overlook the road but as it was only a access route to the car park for the shopping centre, it wasn't that busy or noisy. We were staying on a B&B basis and have to say that the food was good. There was a choice of english or continental breakfasts, a good choice of different tea's (Earl Grey/Morning Breakfast etc). However, my wife was not imptressed with the coffee. Can't comment on the resaturants as we ate out in the evenings. Also we can't comment on the hotel staff as, after booking in, we never had cause to see the staff again untill we booked out. Take a walk around the hotel after you have checked in, you will be impressed with what it has to offer. It should be said that you do share the facilities with the 5 star Spa Resort next door and there are several discounts/free use of some facilities which are explained to you on arrival at reception. Would I recommend this hotel, most certainly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddiver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews