We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveller rating
314
644
477
184
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
644
477
184
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardsea viewdine around optiontwo double bedsla vallettegarden areasa re ga mamain restaurantcaptain morganoverlooking vallettacocktail barchoice of restaurantsshopping centrevarious restaurantsharbour tourspa treatmentsthai restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We ve been going to Fortina for quite a while. Both the four and five star Fortina's offer excellent facilities and good value for money. During our last two visits we were upgraded to a better room. Excellent location. Definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoreenBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We March 2013 we (= 3 senior couples from the Netherlands) booked Fortina Spa Resourt but a couple of weeks before our departure we got the information that Fortina Hotel was booked for us. We were not happy because we thought there would be a great difference between the hotel we booked and the hotel we got. Now we have to tell you that we had an excellent stay at Fortina Hotel, the people were nice, the breakfast and diner were excessive and delicious: choise enough. During breakfast we preferred other music but it is difficult to find one's liking. We had good beds and rooms and we enjoyed the free harbourcruise as a gift of the hotel.When we were in the hotel we enjoyed the beautiful garden and the bar near the seaside. It is a pity that we did not get glasses and cups to drink in this bar but we understand that this is due to the wind. We advice you to distribute at the reception maps of for instance Sliema and Valletta and have more detailed information about things to see because the tourist information office also had little information. Conclusion: we do not understand why people who stayed at Fortina Hotel are so negative about the hotel and your services at the website in Dutch language.
Yours truly, Jos Diepens, Eindhoven/Holland

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
4  Thank Josephus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel, located in Sliema, is a very safe choice for holiday travelers of any age. It is clean, has good food with a lot of restaurants, and the pool facilities are OK+. Nice spa and training facilities. The rooms are ok, make sure you have one overlooking the sea so you can watch the beautiful sunset.

Location is really good, with The Point shopping mall just around the corner, and a lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance. It is also very quiet district, too quiet for some, and I understand why the hotel guests are mainly couples aged 50+. This is not a family hotel, and there are no activities for children.

The downside is that it is really expensive. Rooms are small and expensive and food and drinks are overpriced. The wi-fi connection is terrible, and only works on one half of the reception area. For me as a business man it was almost impossible to combine work and holiday because of this. There are no guest computers either, and the reception refused to help me when I needed to print out a one page document. Overall I am not too happy with the reception and the information you get as a guest. A good example is the hotel room folder, which only contained excursion commercials, and no useful information about the hotel facilities. The hotel web page is good, but that does not help when they do not have wi-fi that works. This is the main reason why I have doubts about coming back here. You really should fix this, Fortina!

Room Tip: Sea view, on the lower floors. The elevators are small and slow.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Me and my husband decided to spend the day by the pool at Fortina. We are locals. We planned to stay near the Tropical garden pool. As soon as we went in the place was very nice, pool, landscaping and all...BUT...as soon as we paid, the barman told us that that spot was reserved for residents and we, as day visitors had to stay behind the gazebo. As soon as we went there, it was a totally different atmosphere!! Dirty floor, rubbish landscaping and there were also some broken deckchairs. When we saw this we soon headed towards the lido (of the hotel) since this place was a total disappointment and surely disciminating compared with the one reserved for residents. And the thing is that he only told us AFTER we paid. My husband sent an email to the sales team, which with no surprise, todate has still remained unanswered. To say it all, the lido was a non discriminating area so it was really nice and we enjoyed the stay. I have no idea why they discriminate at the Tropical garden...at least if they want to do so, they can refurbish the place so that it is fit for non resident PAYING customers too

Room Tip: There was no option for N/A for sleep quality and room, so has to fill in something. I cannot comment on both of them
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ika013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for 1 week 20th August for our Silver Anniversary - greeted by friendly reception staff who immediately wished us a Happy Anniversary a nice touch. Upgraded to a Superior Sea View room (612?)with balcony overlooking Valetta - stunning floor to ceiling windows with amazing view day & night. Room was clean, average size, modern furniture with 2 large single beds zipped together. Small but adequate newly refurbished bathroom. Air Con, Fridge, tea coffee, safety deposit, hairdryer and TV in room. Whilst I agree with few of the negative points of the recent review I totally agree with all the positive feedback of the others. Food was good quality and varied each day. My husband is picky eater but managed to find something he liked each day. Usual choices of a buffet style restaurant. We ate in the Thai restaurant one evening - no problem booking - lovely meal - 5 courses most with a choice of 4 items - my husband only wanted a main course and he chose off the special menu and we did not pay any extra. Few tips - the HARBOURSIDE pool has amazing views (lots of Sliema hotels only have rooftop pools) the beds around the edge have a lovely sea breeze to cool you. The beds nearer the building get very hot. This pool gets busy at weekends maybe plan your days out around this. Never a problem getting sunbeds although people did go early to put towels down. The poolside toilet/showers are not up to standard so use the indoor ones near the gym entrance. Added bonus was that we had a towel card so didn't use our own poolside. The garden pool was lovely in the morning not much sun after lunch. Non residents can also use this pool but only a certain area of the garden. The staff were always friendly and had very good local knowledge. We met Aldo once and he never bothered us again - neither did any of the other time share staff we may have been lucky. Housekeeping staff pleasant and efficient. I agree it is not 4* as you would expect in the UK but I would stay there again just for the view & good location. Visit to Valetta is a must either on the bus or on the ferry. Hop on Hop off bus is a good way of seeing the island - stops close to hotel. A walk around the point towards St Julian's is very pleasant, take your bathers as you can take a dip along the rocky foreshore - no beaches here but lots of places to swim. Turn left out of the hotel and there is a pleasant walk up to Tigne Point - few nice restaurants hidden along there again stunning views. Sliema is quaint with its mix of British shops & Maltese cafes. Look for the Cocktail Van along the prom from the hotel. We walked off main drag up some side streets close to hotel & found Changes Bar run by lovely local couple also Hole in the Wall Pub - oldest wine bar in Sliema run by Ian a great host. Tony's bar near M & S also worth a visit for some Maltese café culture. The café in M & S has a stunning view across Sliema Creek to Valetta take your camera if you go. The hotel is in a great location and convenient for all transport links, next to Tigne Point shopping complex. The free harbour cruise is a must do, you can choose the day. We would definitely stay here again, but if you want 5* luxury, entertainment and beaches then you need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with a balcony have sun in the afternoon and amazing views towards Valetta. Garden view rooms are larger but quieter. The hotel is on a busy road but if you like people watching the sea view rooms at the front are for you - maybe ask for a high floor to avoid traffic noise. Most places close at 12 so traffic noise not major problem.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews