We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the 4* for us”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location and that was what made it a good choice, but it did have it's problems,mainly the bathroom.There's small and small but this was not fit for purpose, as previously said if you are on the large size you stand no chance.Our room was small but nice enough with plenty of wardroom space a free safe and fridge which is a plus,air condition worked fine,so apart from that bathroom we could live with the small bedroom.the balcony was of a fair size and looked out over the bay to that wonderful view of valletta,sun from 10am to 7pm we really did enjoy that balcony just watching the boats coming in and out, it is overlooking the road but even that with open top buses and the taxi rank outside people coming and going with the sun on you and a gin & tonic in you hand I can live with that.
It appears in general if you want piece and quite and larger rooms go for the back of the hotel with a garden view.The main restaurant on H/B was fine did have some minor issues nothing major and the food was up to an acceptable standard plus you did have the choice of other restaurants outside around the garden area which was a very pleasant alternative .
The location is spot on taxi rank outside,bus stop 3min and boat ferry across to valletta 5min walk away,to the left of the hotel is the new shopping center with a large supermarket again 3min,and if you like walking you've got great flat promenade's either side of the hotel with plenty of seat's.
So if you can live with that small bathroom I would say it's a good choice of hotel because of the location, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the quieter side ask for the garden view,the front will give you a sea view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear cooky56,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the lovely views of Valletta too!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our first visit to Malta and we knew beforehand that the garden view rooms were larger than the sea-view ones. Luckily we opted for the garden view which over-looked the island bar (room 419). This room is enormous with 2 double beds with a chest of drawers between, a large wardrobe, writing desk and small table and 2 chairs and a unit with a very modern television (see photo attached) In addition, the balcony had a plastic table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very spacious with a shower over the bath. In all, the room was extremely well appointed with modern furniture and laminated flooring. During our stay, we were able to view rooms on the other side of the corridor (sea-view) and were appalled at how small they were. In fact I would not have been surprised if our bathroom had a larger floor area than the bedroom in the sea-view room. Also, these rooms over-look a very busy road and Maltese drivers are very fond of using their car horn! There have been comments previously regarding the surly reception staff which I can agree with but when I checked out I was dealt with by Edwin (night porter?) who was a delight. There are 7 restaurants in the whole complex and the CanThai and Table 1 were the only ones we used, but beware La Valette. The waitresses can be very surly, but the waiters are generally courteous and sometimes even humorous. However, whilst the self-service breakfast is good, the evening meals in there are poor. Avoid it like the plague! As my title suggest, It's a curate's egg hotel and it does depend on ones priorities. If you must have a sea view at all costs, the price you will pay, not only with the supplement but also all the other negative aspects associated with sea-view rooms is, in my opinion not worth it. Go for the garden view rooms and apart from a small amount of noise occasionally later in the evening from guests dining al fresco , the rooms are quiet. Without being able to see all the rooms in the hotel, I can only report our experiences and that of other guests on our tour (Saga)

Room Tip: Room 419 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nothard2please46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We've been to Malta 6 or 7 times previously, and have stayed in some good and some, lets just say less than good accommodation.
Our last stay in the Fortina was in the 5* end 5 or 6 years ago, but as we weren't there for relaxation (we were just there for scuba diving) we thought we would try the 4* end.
Contacted the hotel prior to arrival to check whether the bar would be open at our late arrival time and whether an airport transfer was available. A curt response just said if the bar wasn't open we could use and pay for mini bar and the airport transfer question was not mentioned. Oh well - we had a contact for an efficient taxi service so not too concerned.. Not encouraging on the drinks front - but we knew that there would be a bar open somewhere near the hotel.
Check in was efficient, and the room (we booked a Superior Sea View Room) was a reasonable size with a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was small and badly designed. Anyone of larger than average size would not have been able to even sit on the toilet - it was squeezed in between the bath and door.
There were 2 double beds - both with hard lumpy mattresses and both made a horrendous squeaking noise with any movement.
Hotel facilities were good. Access to the spa and gym, WiFi in the lobby (really really slow), a pool overlooking the harbour with sufficient sunbeds, and a reasonable breakfast spread.
The pool area is good, but suffered from the usual problem of people booking beds with towels really early - before 7:00 - and then not using them until much later. The bar was good with reasonable snacks/sandwiches and good service. EXCEPT on our last visit to the pool the weather had turned a bit cooler with wind expected. We went to the pool and were surprised to find the bar closed. On enquiring it turned out that the indoor bar was being used instead, but when we asked about food all we got was a shrug and were told food was only available from the outside bar. No information on where else we could go.
Overall, the hotel is a mixed bad of good and bad. Good facilities, good location, reasonable food, rooms that could definitely do with updating and a re-design, but overall let down by customer service and indifferent staff.
Don't think we'll go back to the 4* Fortina as we never really felt welcome - there are better, friendlier hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My first time in Malta, and won't be my last. This Hotel is in the middle of everything. Close enough to the Bar's and Cafes but far enough away to not hear them. Everything is close by including the bus service to Valletta. Service in the Hotel was good, as was the price of drinks, . but we never had dinner as it's too good outside. A great base for exploring and shopping..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A really good hotel with value for money dine around choice of restaurants. The food we had in all of them was outstanding and we could choose where we wished to eat each day and even whether we had lunch or dinner for our halfboard status. We were upgraded to a harbour view room with balcony which faced south and so had sun most of the day. Even when quite cold outside it was great on the balcony (in Feb). The hotel is well placed for access to Valletta and to take the bus around the island.

Room Tip: Probably the higher you are the quieter it will be from the road if you are harbour side, with exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

a pleasant stay at this hotel we were upgraded to a garden view room on the 7th floor which was large with a pleasant view of the garden perfectly clean and tidy, restaurants were good with good choice of set menu service was good in all but Table one. the only problem was booking them receptionist Stephania booked our first night at table one when arriving there was no booking it was actually made for two days later we then had to search for another restaurant that had space after this we gave stephania a list of which restaurants we wanted when and she said this had been done
two days later we turned up at our chosen restaurant only to find it hadn't been booked and we then had to find which one had. reception staff did not apologise for their mistakes and I assumed this happened quite often
the garden area was very pleasant with bars to sit in although the choice of wrap music was strange. the pool area was fine no problem getting sun beds and plenty of room in the pool
breakfast was fine with plenty of choice although perhaps providing tea and toast at the tables would be an improvement
staff were pleasant and helpful apart from reception and even the time share rep was polite and the free harbour cruise was worth it you only have to say no to his tour
all in all we would return here again and hope reception staff are better and the hotel has a better booking system for restaurants

open top bus tours are a good way to see the island

Room Tip: garden view rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilcrossEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were looking forward to stay at this hotel.As soon as we checked into our room, we were horrified to find out that the room ( 4* Hotel ) was stuck still in past.
Dirty carpet, which was not properly hoovered for many month, we discovered used condoms, pips from olives and bill from local supermarket dated more then 6 month previously.
When we complained to the manager we were offered cheap bottle of wine (less then 5 euro) from supermarket.
Furthermore, mould between tiles in the bathroom and dirty wall tiles did not lift our thought of staying here for the next 7 days.
To make it worse, the breakfast was based on greasy spoon cafe type with squash instead of juice and the only fruit was unripe melon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Francisco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Francisco D.,

We are dissapointed to hear about your bad experience with the room. Can you please get in touch with us through the hotel website's contact form so we can contact you back in person and get to understand more detail about the problem you've encountered.

Kind regards
Hotel Fortina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#11 of 28 in Sliema
1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £91 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing