We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOME ASPECTS GOOD OTHERS COULD BE BETTER”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Fortina with Mercury Direct on A HB basis for two weeks and a third week free on B&B but upgraded to HB for 16 Euros pdpp.

We had booked a Superior Sea View room but were told on arrival that we had been allocated a Garden View room. We looked at the garden which has a pool and is particularly attractive at night with its illuminations but at this time of year, late Jan/early Feb, considered it to be in shade for much of the day. We were then allocated a 'Superior Sea View Room' on the seventh floor. This was one of the few front southerly facing rooms without a balcony. Moreover, the drawer space was totally unacceptable with two minute drawers in the desk and one small drawer in the wardrobe; we then rejected this room and were allocated one on the first floor. This room had ample drawer space and was of modest but acceptable size. It had a small bathroom with twin shower heads over the bath and looked as though it had been up-dated about 10 years ago. The room itself had a rather tired look about it, the twin beds were comfortable and we had a tiny balcony with a wind break frontage that like all of the other south facing rooms gave superb views across Sliema Creek to Valletta and Floriana about half a mile away. However, the 'tired' look manifested itself in the decor and fittings; there wasn't a skirting board and the plasterwork at carpet level was none too smooth which had not helped the painters when they had emulshioned the walls without removing the carpets! The space allocated for hanging garments in a small double fronted wardrobe was totally unacceptable being about 20" for both of us, moreover, one of the doors was rebated on both sides suggesting it was in fact the third door of a larger wardrobe!

The bathing and recreational facilities were quite good and again accompanied by the great views to the south. However, when we came to take one of the beach loungers we found that the cushions had been left on overnight and were pooled with rain that had fallen in the night, with a southerly wind this also means that there is considerable amounts of sand as well! Approaches to Reception resulted in a cursory cleansing of the cushions with an old cloth and the water that had gathered on the cushions. Thereafter, I noticed that the cushions were removed and stored in doors on the odd occasion but were also left out on about the same number of days.

At all breakfasts, we used the main dining room and also on most evenings and we were quite impressed by the extensive menus and in general by the food as well. As in so many hotels of this size, one could criticise the lukewarmness at times but overall the food was above average. We also tried three of the four 'Dine Around' restaurants and rated the ThaiCan by far the best, the Indian as pretty good and the Mediterranean by far the poorest in all respects - quality and service being well below par.

Overall, we enjoyed our holiday in Malta - we had lived there for almost three years a long time ago and had last holidayed there in 1995. The development of Sliema, Qwara, Bugiba and St Pauls Bay is changing the areas into those encountered in so many holiday locations but the hinterland is relatively unspoilt and Malta and its people have so much to offer that we plan to return again.

Room Tip: In high Summer choose a Garden View room, even better with a suite; in cooler months go for the Supe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Alhulme,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not match your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto the Management.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fortina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

A pleasant escape from the festivities in the UK. The hotel was in the main very good and located centrally for the local bus service and if you wanted, the ferry across to Valetta. We had a room overlooking the garden and it was well equipped and very spacious. It was however becoming a little "tired" and maybe a little freshening up is in order. The facilities were good with a variety of on site eateries offering a varied selection of foods from Italian to Japanese sushi. However, you had to carefully scan the opening times as they were a little like Sunday opening hours used to be in the UK. There was also a great little establishment across the road from reception with pleasant views across the water to Valetta which never seemed to close!
The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The buffet for Xmas and new year was fabulous, really 5 star. There was also entertainment laid on most evenings in the cocktail bar, but this was a little dated for us.
Would revisit, but wasn't that impressed with Sliema, a bit too built up for our liking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front appear to be far smaller than those overlooking the gardens. They are also no...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Pete C,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently returned from Malta, a week at the 4 star Fortina. The weather could have been a little better but the hotel more than made up for it. We booked a standard sea view room but got a deluxe Jacuzzi suite which was bigger than our downstairs floor plan at home! The half board dining consisted of a great buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal, which was delicious with plenty of choice but the best bit was the 'Dine around' option, consisting of Thai/Chinese, Pizzeria, Indian, Japanese + an a la carte restaurant too. There's also a spa with indoor pool.
Malta has changed immensely since we went 6 years ago - new shops, parks and promenades, especially in Sliema, with a large new shopping centre next to the Hotel - ideal for inclement weather. The only thing we didn't like was a pub a few hundred yards along from the Hotel, called the 'Last Drop' - it appeared ok from the outside but once inside it was filthy and they tried to palm us off with a pint glass that was already a third full - Yukk! Just don't go there!

Room Tip: the garden view rooms are lovely and quiet with a lovely vista over the pools and tropical trees.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosalind20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Rosalind20,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please be advised that the Drop Inn bar has no association with the Hotel Fortina or the Fortina Spa Resort.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for a month on three separate occasions over the past 12 months. We consider it an excellent choice, superb location, good facilities and reasonable value for money. We had a garden suite - very spacious. Must mention Aldo who works there, as he is so lovely

Room Tip: Garden view if you want a quiet room or weather very hot
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Glyn T,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This has been my wife and myself second visit to the Fortina.
We have found it in a good central position on the island as you can just pop out the door and pick up an Arriva bus to explore the island at your leisure,buy a weekly ticket.
The Garden Rooms are of a decent size with all the necessary facilities.
Breakfast has a large choice available for all tastes.
The evening meal can be taken in several restaurants attached to the hotel
The new lifts make it much easier to get about the hotel.
Overall we have found this a good hotel and can recommend both Mercury Direct and the Fortina

Room Tip: Garden Room upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joey115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Joey115,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A nice hotel with good facilities, a selection of restaurants that provide variety from the good quality buffet restaurant. It was good to have the option to book for a Chinese, Italian and Indian cuisine. We particularly enjoyed the Italian and Chinese. The reception staff were happy to help, never miserable as other reviews had stated.
Location was very good on the sea front with fantastic view of the beautiful city of Valetta. We had a sea view room which was smaller than we expected but had everything that we needed, although the bathroom was very small with the toilet cistern sited at a jaunty angle to enable it tow fit in the room! I think we had one of the smaller superior rooms and would ask for one of the larger ones if we booked again.
The spa facilities were excellent and complimentary passes were issued on arrival. The indoor pool was undergoing refurbishment during our stay and to compensate we were offered use of the spa.
On a huge downside and I hope the hotel management act on mine and others comments about the hard sell of timeshare of the Fortina 5 star. We were invited to look around the 5 star, we were interested and followed the very pleasant man. He took us next door, shod us the lavish reception area then ushered us into a lift to the upper floors- the offices. We were confined in a large hot office watching the first two hours of our holiday float away. We were honest and said we weren't interested and no amount of hard sell was going to get us to change our minds. It was clear that we had to put in the time. The sales lady was entertaining and we were on the whole patient until we asked to leave and she said that we had to be signed out! Absolute shoddy practice, the hotel is not doing itself any favours. The reward was a lunch voucher- in hindsight I would a rather have had the two wasted hours of my life back!
I would just say to prospective guests- accept the free boat trip and call it a day unless you want to be trapped as we were for two hours. What we saw was lovely and if we could afford it we would have no hesitation staying in the 5 star resort. A 4 star resort- 4 star facilities, maybe 3 star rooms?

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 8 or 15
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garlickgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Garlickgal,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a hitch with the Fortina Vacation Club - please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at this hotel on half board.I booked a "garden room" as I wanted to avoid the very small rooms that I had read about at the front of the hotel as well as avoiding traffic noise at the front.The room was very small with 2 single beds and not a great deal more.The only chair was of the office variety.One of the beds blocked off half the wardrobe and the door to the room smashed into the small fridge(which wasn't working but we got replaced)It overlooked the very weary,unattractive gardens at the back,with dozens of old sunloungers but no pool.Half of the very small balcony was 1 inch deep in water from previous rainfall,that didn't drain all week.The outlook on 3rd floor was on the surrounding back walls of the hotel,7 large old radiators and vents from the kitchens below.The light was so dim it was impossible to read at all and the heavy,long curtains blocked out half the light.Speaking to other people and seeing inside other rooms made it clear we had drawn the short straw.However the room was clean and the bathroom acceptable. The buffet restaurant was good although nothing special and the poor desert choice let it down.One huge bonus to this hotel as that if you are on a half board basis,you can eat at another 6 resturants at the hotel at no extra charge,albeit at some you are on a limited menu.The reception staff were all excellent,helpful and cheerfull as were the Valetta restaurant staff.The base of the tables in the restaurant need a really good clean but the food was always hot and presentable.The 4 star hotel is joined on to the 5 star fortina spa which has a much better outlook at the back.But 4 star guests can use the indoor pool and Thalassa spa therapy at no extra cost.It is a great pity that the bar and lounge are down in the basement and uninviting and the lobby is drafty and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: For a winter break you need a sea facing view or you will totally in the shade at the back.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear angela c,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and assure your that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned for action to be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#10 of 28 in Sliema
1,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £106 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing