We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly 4 star.”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Plus points: location on the harbour in Silema, with great views of the Valetta skyline.
Next to bus stops, trip boats and the 2 € ferry to Valetta.
Various room, worth updating to get larger and more modern rooms either with a sea or garden facing rooms.
Food good and plentiful. Large Buffet/ breakfast room under the road beside the pools and water views.
Special " Dine Around the World" system of international restaurants that can be booked as part of the HB.
Several pools, indoor and outside, gym and use of the 5 star spa next door.
Wifi free and available only in the reception and Valette buffet dining and bar.
Minus points: some bedrooms need refurbishing and are small.
Indoor pool has rusty equipment, mouldy walls and unclean surfaces.
Varied standards of service in the international restaurants and they have to be booked 2 days in advance at reception.
Lack of comfortable sitting areas. Reception area draughty with front door opening, downstairs bar frequent t. v. football.
Need for more evening entertainment, only various musicians thurs to Sunday.

Very good 90 minute harbour cruises are recommended but try to avoid the line of companies along the waterfront at Silema selling their various trips.
Excellent frequent, extensive and cheap local buses but beware of the trip mini buses itch poor suspension of the poorly tarmaced and pot holed roads.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that your comments have been noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fortina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for ten days in February, the hotel is very clean and we were lucky to get a refurbished room, it was a little small compared to our friends room but it was adequate for our needs. Our maid Dani was lovely and kept our room spotless. We had a room overlooking the road and the harbour with views of Valetta, the road noise did not disturb us and the view more than made up for it.
The food was fine with plenty of variety if a little bland not helped by the fact you could not get salt out of the salt pots, also there was very little fresh fruit available. We dined around at most of the restaurants and found the food good but booking was a lottery we booked through reception and on two occasions we found that the table had not been booked despite us watching them do it on the computer. On the whole we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would consider going back, the transport links are great as the buses pass the hotel very frequently making it easy to get around and there is a ferry service to Valetta which runs regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room overlooking the harbour.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Anne B,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to apologise for the mishaps with restaurant bookings. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel describes itself as 4 star,which the public rooms probably justify but the bedroom allocated to us was more like 2 star. Location and views generally excellent but not from our room!. Should have been upgraded to a superior garden view room but wasn't, our fault for not pushing.We were conned into a tour of the facilities by someone we assumed was a Mercury rep, but who turned out to be a timeshare salesman. We had to be very persistent to avoid a 'minimum one hour' presentation. Hope that Mercury do not condone this. The dine around concept was good, the in house dining facility produced good food with a wide choice but the ambience was rather canteenish. All the eating places obviously wanted to make money selling overpriced drinks,requests for tap water were refused, and cash demanded. We were refused the facility of charging to the room but without explanation.

Room Tip: DEMAND an Upgrade! especially garden view rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamjar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear jamjar007,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn of some of your comments in your review. Kindly be advised that guests can just collect their complimentary Harbour Cruise tickets without the need to view the Fortina Spa Resort.

We would like to inform you that it is not advisable to consume tap water in Malta and that is why we do not offer the option of tap water in any of our bars and restaurants.

Kindly also be advised that, as with hotels all around the world, guests are able to put extras on their room bills when credit card details are provided upon check-in. This facility is available to those who wish to provide the hotel with their credit card details as explain upon check-in.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We ate dinner at the Fortina hotel La Valetta buffet restaurant, we almost chose to stay at this hotel so took the opportunity to try the food for future consideration.
We were pleased NOT to have to eat at the Fortina buffet more than once!
Compared to our hotel the food was poor quality and bland.

Room Tip: We only ate here so cannot comment on the rooms. If you have to stay here suggest B&b may be th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank hazelmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear hazelmurf,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location and the rooms are clean and well serviced. The rooms seem to differ somewhat however. We noticed they varied between being very spacious down to very tiny, and no two rooms seemed to be the same. The staff on reception were helpful, and soon sorted out any problems. We went with Mercury Direct and were supposed to get a free up-grade to a deluxe garden room - which we did, but not without a lot of effort on our part!

The "dine around" is an excellent idea, and we tried all but one of the restaurants (the Japanese) which we were told was very poor, unless you were a resident of the adjoining hotel which was the Fortina Spa Resort! Watch out though, because you will be pressurised by the guy sitting outside the main dining room to go on a guided tour of the Spa Resort Hotel which is fine if you want to purchase a weeks timeshare, but he can be a bit of a pest if you're not interested.
The main dining room is chaotic in the mornings, and not set up to make for an easy time.
People were bumping into each other, and the queues for coffee etc. were quite long some mornings.
In the evenings the dining room had a good choice of food, but we only used it twice out of 14 nights because the food was almost cold by the time we'd queued for everything then battled our way back to the table!

The beach-side pool area is badly in need of tidying up. The paint is peeling off the ground, and the sunbeds are filthy looking and seem to be left out in all weather. There was no pool attendant there at any time. The pool in the gym look in need of a good clean to, but mainly round the edge of the pool and not the water itself. The other indoor pool seemed OK, and so did the outside pool at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pot Luck I'm afraid!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 787JAYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear 787JAYW,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Fortina with Mercury Direct on A HB basis for two weeks and a third week free on B&B but upgraded to HB for 16 Euros pdpp.

We had booked a Superior Sea View room but were told on arrival that we had been allocated a Garden View room. We looked at the garden which has a pool and is particularly attractive at night with its illuminations but at this time of year, late Jan/early Feb, considered it to be in shade for much of the day. We were then allocated a 'Superior Sea View Room' on the seventh floor. This was one of the few front southerly facing rooms without a balcony. Moreover, the drawer space was totally unacceptable with two minute drawers in the desk and one small drawer in the wardrobe; we then rejected this room and were allocated one on the first floor. This room had ample drawer space and was of modest but acceptable size. It had a small bathroom with twin shower heads over the bath and looked as though it had been up-dated about 10 years ago. The room itself had a rather tired look about it, the twin beds were comfortable and we had a tiny balcony with a wind break frontage that like all of the other south facing rooms gave superb views across Sliema Creek to Valletta and Floriana about half a mile away. However, the 'tired' look manifested itself in the decor and fittings; there wasn't a skirting board and the plasterwork at carpet level was none too smooth which had not helped the painters when they had emulshioned the walls without removing the carpets! The space allocated for hanging garments in a small double fronted wardrobe was totally unacceptable being about 20" for both of us, moreover, one of the doors was rebated on both sides suggesting it was in fact the third door of a larger wardrobe!

The bathing and recreational facilities were quite good and again accompanied by the great views to the south. However, when we came to take one of the beach loungers we found that the cushions had been left on overnight and were pooled with rain that had fallen in the night, with a southerly wind this also means that there is considerable amounts of sand as well! Approaches to Reception resulted in a cursory cleansing of the cushions with an old cloth and the water that had gathered on the cushions. Thereafter, I noticed that the cushions were removed and stored in doors on the odd occasion but were also left out on about the same number of days.

At all breakfasts, we used the main dining room and also on most evenings and we were quite impressed by the extensive menus and in general by the food as well. As in so many hotels of this size, one could criticise the lukewarmness at times but overall the food was above average. We also tried three of the four 'Dine Around' restaurants and rated the ThaiCan by far the best, the Indian as pretty good and the Mediterranean by far the poorest in all respects - quality and service being well below par.

Overall, we enjoyed our holiday in Malta - we had lived there for almost three years a long time ago and had last holidayed there in 1995. The development of Sliema, Qwara, Bugiba and St Pauls Bay is changing the areas into those encountered in so many holiday locations but the hinterland is relatively unspoilt and Malta and its people have so much to offer that we plan to return again.

Room Tip: In high Summer choose a Garden View room, even better with a suite; in cooler months go for the Supe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Alhulme,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not match your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto the Management.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A pleasant escape from the festivities in the UK. The hotel was in the main very good and located centrally for the local bus service and if you wanted, the ferry across to Valetta. We had a room overlooking the garden and it was well equipped and very spacious. It was however becoming a little "tired" and maybe a little freshening up is in order. The facilities were good with a variety of on site eateries offering a varied selection of foods from Italian to Japanese sushi. However, you had to carefully scan the opening times as they were a little like Sunday opening hours used to be in the UK. There was also a great little establishment across the road from reception with pleasant views across the water to Valetta which never seemed to close!
The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The buffet for Xmas and new year was fabulous, really 5 star. There was also entertainment laid on most evenings in the cocktail bar, but this was a little dated for us.
Would revisit, but wasn't that impressed with Sliema, a bit too built up for our liking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front appear to be far smaller than those overlooking the gardens. They are also no...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Pete C,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#10 of 28 in Sliema
1,397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,988 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £106 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing