We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good balance price-service”
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Friendly and helpful hotel staff, rooms neat and clean; nice terrace; great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 542Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Astra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

From the moment we entered the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our rooms were ready for us when we arrived before mid-day and whilst basic they were spacious and clean. Both our rooms had sea views although it was a bit worrying that you would not be able to get back into your room if you shut the door whilst on the balcony. The rooms were cleaned and the beds remade daily, they were surprisingly comfortable. The central location was ideal for ferries to Valetta or tour buses and also restaurants. A bonus for us was a discount for the buffet at the nearby Perluna Hotel. I agree with comments from other reviewers about the music but up on the fourth floor it was not really an issue although it did last late into the night. The breakfast was continental and adequate but on request they will cook a full English one. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel (even our taxi driver took a leaflet to recommend it) if like me you would rather spend your money on getting to know the island, a good hotel for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel probably better if you don't want to listen to the music.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

....so if you are looking for a clean, basic room at a very reasonable price, this is the place for you!

featureless rooms, but they are at least clean. reasonably positioned for sliema, and getting to ferries one way, and to st juliens the other and on a good bus route.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

For these prices, you are know you are not going to get an all-singin. all-dancing luxury spa resort. What you do get is a perfectly pleasant, very clean and friendly budget hotel in a central location in Sliema. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and the cable TV was an unexpected touch. The only 'issue' we had was that the lack of a/c (which we knew about at booking) meant that we ended up opening our window. This may be fine if you are in a room towards the back of the hotel but at the side or front it means you are at the mercy of the busy road outside. Friday nights in particular seemed very lively. Apart from this, there was really nothing to quibble about and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarrenHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I feel the previous reviews did a very good job in catching the high points of this hotel very well. Friendly staff, excellent location and view and clean well-furnished rooms. The budget does show through in the underwhelming breakfast provided and the dodgy tv's, not to mention the lack of air conditioning that made the room oppressively hot even in October. The pub downstairs has two to three times a week karaoke, with music blasting through the sea view rooms till as late as 4 am. I have no trouble recommending this hotel to anyone on a budget going to Malta in the off season, but do take note of the cons as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lomedae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Although my husband is not easy to please, he has not been for a long time so excited about a hotel. Normally we choose a 4 or 5 star hotels. After a month of research, we chose this place for location and for the rank on TripAdvisor. We stayed at the first floor, front sea view, room 109. The view is great, over the sea and a tower of the nineteenth century. The first floor rooms with front sea view have a terrace, others have balconies.The rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious. This hotel takes 7.5 on any scale in my opinion, but for a 3 star hotel is note 9+. People at the front desk are note 15 without any exaggeration. They make the hotel perfect.
We stayed in September 2011, the hotel has no air conditioning, we knew that when we booked and we have not really needed, but in warmer periods must be unpleasant. In weekend is noisy at night, due to a pub downstairs, otherwise it is reasonable.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms with front sea view have a terrace, others have balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mihai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I'm an Australian/Maltese teen who went for his first holiday on his own with his friends .The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is the front office .There was a young Guy maybe 18years old which was really friendly and spoke fluent English.The hotel is situated in the busy part of Sliema where everything is a throw of a stone away. Would recomand it for value for money ! P.S. I would sugest staying in a seaview room ..Waking in the morning and looking at that open sea is amazing.

Room Tip: Opt for the Seaview ones ..Are amazing :)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BertDeb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#19 of 28 in Sliema
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 28 in Sliema
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Address: 127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £25 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing