We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And it started off so well...”
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“And it started off so well...”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We really liked this place at the start. The location is excellent, its quiet, the price is very good and the rooms were clean.

However, we started to notice things as we stayed that rubbed us the wrong way. One staff member in particular, Daniel was his name, was very antagonistic. In the middle of our stay he stopped us and insisted we pay for the room. According to their own guest book, you are supposed to pay the night before you leave. But he insisted and basically told me "your mistaken". So we went ahead and paid.

Additionally, I asked for some laundry to be done. Unfortunately they don't do laundry over the weekend so I had to put in for an "express" laundry on Monday. The bill came back from the laundry as 50 euro. It was for about 12 items, mostly underwear, so that seemed high, but I just accepted it was part of travel inconvenience. However, when I went to pay, Daniel said, oh no, its actual 76 euro!! That was nearly half the cost of our entire stay. When I pressed him and complained, as I clearly had a bill for 50 euro in my hand - he took almost an hour to investigate the issue and finally came back and said that 50 euro was a "mistake" and the price was 76 euro.

Finally, when I asked to keep the original receipt of 50 euro, (I wanted to review the issue later, since this all seemed extremely shady) he would not give me the receipt!! He outright refused, because it was the "wrong receipt". It was kind of incredible. So needless to say, I can't endorse them. Such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ganeagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    76
    69
    25
    31
See reviews for
26
88
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel was a little bit ascetic but not bad at all. All rooms were clean and the cleaning lady was really nice and quick in her job. The location of the hotel was so perfect. It was easy to go everywhere by bus. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have sea view or balcony but we didn't have either noice comming to our room from downstairs pub. The breakfast was good too. We didn't have english breakfast but we didn't want it either. The english breakfast was served in downstairs pub in the mornings. The hotel transfer from Luqa airport to hotel cost 28€ by minivan/one direction. It was really good and easy way to travel with baggage. We enjoyed of our week in Astra hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Our room would be best thought of as a private room in a hostal with a wonderful view. The pricing structure enables you to get a cheap room. We had a balcony with an awesome view of the ocean. We booked for no breakfast nor dinner. You can decide on any morning whether or not you want to pay 5 euros per person for breakfast. The breakfast is of low quality especially the machine coffee, but since you can look at it before paying... no complaints. This is an advantage if you have to check out early or are leaving early for a tour. They also have a dinner at the associated hotel next door which is also optional.

There is no refrigerator in the room. The restaurant (Trattoria Cardini) has excellent take-out pizza. There is a supermarket two blocks away.

The beds were not comfortable, like in some hostels. There was no air conditioning but because of the overhead fan, the floor fan and the balcony on the 4th floor, the air conditioning was not necessary. The shower stall is rather small. The TV has news channels in many different languages and the WiFi works well. The location in Sliema is excellent. The people working there were polite and helpful. They had no problem with taking a towel to the beach. Overall, for Malta this was a good value.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor with the seaview. Don't pay in advance for breakfast or dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhoeverYouAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

It was our first visit to Malta. Our goal was to see more and more to travel Malta. So we are not chasing the best hotel service and «stars» but a base, inexpensive hotel with a good location. As a result, not a mistake. The hotel is located very conveniently on the Sliema waterfront from the open sea. Some rooms have sea views. Nearby is the bus stop, where you can go in different directions, including to Valletta. Two steps are supermarkets and shopping mall for those who like good shopping. 5 minutes on foot is Sliema Ferry, which offer a best view of Valletta and excellent transport service. It was a very polite and friendly staff. Our room was cleaned daily, they are equipped with two fans, so we were cool. For 2 weeks of our holidays we did not meet any foreign guests, such as insects. We are very enjoy our staying in this hotel so will advise it to all our friends in Russia. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rostislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

the only good bit were the staff,very polite and helpfull.
the hotel was very basic,although two fans were provided sleeping was a farce,the sliding door to the bathroom WILL wake you and your neighbours.the breakfast was very poor,if you ordered a evening meal you were req to go to nearby hotel a fact not disclosed before hand.arriving after midnight also a problem as you need to go to another hotel to get keys,now finding your hotel was difficult as hotel sighn was above the pub+access was around the corner.THE PUB below the hotel had a rock band playing untill 6.00am one night,two other nights kareokee was on that went on late as cheap beer was on offer the floor of the room looked as if it had not been mopped for agees

Room Tip: d'ont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

took a triple room for about 30 euros per night.
it was extremely warm and humid, the fan wasn't much useful.
not much furnitures, the bathroom doesn't have a fan or a window, the TV had the audio broken and had almost no channels, the room door is not much stable and secure.
the breakfast costs 5 euros and it's bad and has poor quality.
free wi-fi, rooms clean every morning.
the hotel was hard to find because it's not on the main street and there is no indication

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Reception guys on duty were both very nice and helpful. Hotel was in good location, pretty cheap hotel, room size was good, free wifi, everything was very nice they only fault I have is that there was no AC, so the rooms were so so hot when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiam-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 28 in Sliema
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Property: Astra Hotel
Address: 127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing