We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic price, very basic and loud stay”
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Based on the positive reviews here, we chose to stay at the Astra for one night ( we had to check out of our resort but couldn't get a flight out til the next morning). We needed two rooms and they were very inexpensive. Let me say, you get what you pay for.
We arrived early and the hotel graciously allowed us to stow our bags there. Everyone at check in was very helpful and very friendly.
Our rooms were VERY basic, We had two rooms facing the ocean. The rooms had two twin beds on iron frames with an average mattress (no box springs or other support) and sheets and a bedspread. We received one bathtowel per person, no handtowel or washcloth. There were lamps by the beds, I didn't try ours but my daughter's did not have a light bulb. The overhead fan in our room didn't work. There was no safe in the room.
The biggest problem is that there is NO soundproofing at all. We were on the 4th floor and there was a band ( or some other source of loud music) in the bar below until 230 am. We could hear the music all night. We could also hear a good bit of street noise, too. My kids were in the room next to us and we could hear their conversation like we were in the same room. We heard others guests in the hotel return to their room at 230 and could hear their conversations, water running, etc.
The staff was friendlly and the hotel was relatively clean (except for the mold on the shower door). Based on that, I feel bad not giving a better review. But frankly, I'm surprised at the glowing reviews. I can't get past the noise and the very basic mattress. All in all it was not a good night's sleep. I can't imagine staying more than one night here, I would be exhausted.

Room Tip: The front rooms have nice views but alot of street noise, especially if it is warm and you need the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

had a nice 10 days stay at this hotel, very close to everything. no air conditioning but they provide you fans which was ok. breakfast ok, big spacious rooms, excellent value for money. beach just couple of minutes away, free wi fi and was working every time. i would definitely stay here again if i come back to malta!

Room Tip: see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank disapointed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

There was no air-conditioning, although such was promised.

Other than that, it was a good hotel. The staff was friendly (which seemed to be an exception in Malta), the cleaning was adequate, the rooms were high.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Astra hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, they do try their best to make sure the guest feels welcome.

With regards to air conditioning we are pleased to inform you that this is being installed over the winter months and will be available for the next summer season.

Regards
Amanda Vassallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed over here for 2 nights, and it did the job pretty well. There's fans on the ceiling that do a good job of keeping the place cool and sea view balcony. It's nearby to some restaurants, bars and shops, but just outside of the main nightlife area; approximate 30mins walk away. The hop-on hop-off sightseeing bus can be caught pretty much right outside, and there's a travel shop a few doors down that we used to organise a trip around the main island and a trip to Gozo. Malta in general I rate very high. Beautiful place, and great if you like diving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we have to agree that Malta has fantastic visibility for diving and can offer diving all year round.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us if you visit Malta again soon,
Regards
Amanda Vassallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When I first arrived at this hotel, I found the room I had booked had no views at all, so I upgraded to a room with a sea view and balcony for an extra 8 euros per night, and it was well worth it. The room was very clean and tidy with comfortable beds and a brilliant sea view (see photo)
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The one complaint I have however is the soundproofing needs to be upgraded, because when the room next to mine was occupied, I could hear every sound and conversation that was taking place.

Room Tip: Always book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Director of Sales at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your sea view!
Thank you for your comments,
Regards
Amanda Vassallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Reception Staff is very kind and helpful. The rooms are large and almost clean, if you compare it to the price you pay! The reception closes at 9 but they give you a card to open the outside door, and if you have any problem you can ask the Preluna Hotel, that's just on the left, at about 30 meters.
Cheap and nice, good location to reach every place in the Island! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. You have defined the Astra hotel well, large rooms, nice atmosphere, excellent location for friendly rates. Thank you for your compliments towards our staff.

Looking forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Got a great (very cheap!) deal to this hotel. Downside we knew going into it was no air conditioning, but the room had a ceiling fan and a standing fan plus a small balcony that let in plenty of fresh air so this wasn't really a problem for us.

The staff were excellent! Very friendly.

We didn't eat breakfast there as this was an extra cost and there was plenty of options (cafes, restaurants, supermarkets etc) in the area. The hotel is in the heart of Sliema - right near a bus stop and opposite the ocean-walk that's a really lovely stretch where you can walk all the way round to St Juliens and is great for joggers or walkers.

Room was as to be expected in a budget hotel. Clean-ish, although bits of grime gathering in corners of the shower. If you're fussy about that stuff I wouldn't recommend it. But considering the price we still considered this hotel a bargain!

Free wifi in all areas and this was always working.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind opinion about the Astra Hotel.

We are especially happy that you consider your stay a good value for money.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 28 in Sliema
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Address: 127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £27 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing