We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Not sure what is going on at this hotel, we arrived about midday to be told due to maintenance work they did not have a room for us for our first night, they wanted to taxi us to one of the more holiday areas. We had a harbour cruise arranged from Sliema that afternoon and plans to go to Valletta the next morning. We made it clear we were not happy with this, we had picked a hotel in Sliema to fit in with our plans. Some minutes later they came back and said they could transfer us to a hotel just around the corner for one night, and would upgrade us for the week from b&b to half board. Later on in the week speaking to other guests, we came accross another 3 couples who had experienced just the same problem! The Hotel they moved us to, The Windsor was not great. Although the room was clean, it was very small at the back of the hotel and the main problem was the air conditioning did not work!. The staff were actually very friendly and did bring a fan to our room. Once we got to the Diplomat the next day, everything was much better. We had a side sea view room on floor 5 (512). It was spacious and the air conditioning although a little loud, did work very well. The breakfasts were ok, plenty of yogurt and fruit, both fresh and tinned. The cooked breakfasts although very good, eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, they never were hot enough. Which is strange as the dinners we tried there were always piping hot and the plates at night were heated. As at breakfast the plates were cold and they did not keep the hot food covered, by the time you had taken your food and got back to your seat, if you were lucky it was still luke warm. I was surprized how good the food was for dinner, lovely fish options every night. This hotel was great for what we wanted, being able to get to Valletta with ease, it did seem to be more suited to older guests, there was a separate Saga lounge. All the staff we came accross were very friendly and helpfull. The pool on the roof was ok, it could do with a good scrubb around the sides, internet connection was poor on floor 5, but good in reception, overall we were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We found the side sea view room on a high floor very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We checked in but were told that there was no room for us (despite having been booked and confirmed by travel agent). We, and other couples, were sent around to the Windsor Hotel, which was dirty and far below the 4 star we had been expecting. The shower door was broken and our light failed on the first night. A room was found for us at the Diplomat on the third day and we had no complaints about the service there. However, we were annoyed that the hotel did not honour our booking and would have no confidence booking there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have been visiting Malta for 13 years and this is one of the best stays I have had. From start to finish the staff were polite, helpful and generally interested in you as a guest. Although the hotel is rated as a four star, like all hotels in Malta, this equates to a British three star. I would say that this hotel was three star plus. The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean. They were kept to a high standard of cleanliness throughout my 2 week stay. The breakfast was vast and varied and although the cooked breakfast could have been a little hotter, there was something for everyone. The room was fully air conditioned and remained on all day. The wifi worked perfectly. I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A super "little" 4 star hotel. with lots of character and personal touches everywhere.The reception area is very good with a great little bar/ cafe on the front with a few outside tables- superb for chilling out at! All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Dining room is cosy with a great value buffet dinner - but no views. Room was very clean, bathroom also, better quality towels would have been nice but they were clean and changed everyday. Hotel is on main road but this just makes it very easy to crossover and join the wonderful promenade that goes on for miles

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I booked a 14 night stay at the Diplomat despite the contrasting reviews,mainly because of its location. We arrived in the late evening and were allocated a room on the 1st. floor. On entering we found a pool of water on the floor caused by water dripping from the ceiling. Manager then gave us a free upgrade to a sea view room. This surprised us because I had attempted to book this type of room but were informed that none were available. Nevertheless we were delighted to get this as it saved a fair amount of money. However wee found that storage space was limited,3 drawers and a wardrobe shelf. Air conditioning was very noisy and lighting dim. During the 1st. week the toilet malfunctioned,,2 bulbs fused and then we awoke one morning to find the floor awash with water. A violent thunderstorm had occurred overnight and rain entered through the window area.. The net curtains which were not very clean to begin with were removed because they were soaking and were not replaced. The hotel is built end on to the main road with 21 or so sea view rooms overlooking the main road and they had no balcony. The remaining rooms,with balcony,overlook a narrow side street and flats opposite. The main entrance is in this side street. The alleged bus stop at the hotel is used by coaches transferring guests to and from the hotel and by coaches taking guests on tours. The nearest bus stops for local services are 250 and 300 yards away respectively. The staff are in the main very good with the exception of people at reception who really need some happy tablets and a PR course,because they are very dour-faced. Food in the restaurant will please some and not others. Invariably some of the dishes were cold. One morning a waiter arrived from the kitchen with a tray of fried eggs and gave me two. Unbelievably they were cold. The dessert selection was very limited. The entertainment consisted of an occasional singer/s serenading guests at dinner plus a film show once weekly in the hotel. We saw that SAGA use this hotel and if this is the type of hotel they use throughout Europe I am glad that I have never booked with them despite incessant brochures etc. they send me. All in all this not by any stretch of imagination a 4 star hotel. We met other people who were staying at 4 star hotels and they had similar experiences. I would like to meet the person who decides the star ratings of hotels in Malta. I should also point out that there are no shops in the hotel vicinity and you need a bus ride to find a good selection. WE booked with Chevron and I was impressed with their efficiency but they should try to get the star rating system reviewed..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willie297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have returned from our 16th stay at this hotel. The area is still the same and attractive. Some refurbishments has been done, but there are much more to be done to lift the hotel to 4 star standard. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay by all means and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KolbotnVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I booked a week in this hotel in the middle of sept 13. Never again will we stay here. We had booked a full sea view room, but on our first night was given the key to a room over looking the street and were kept awake all night by the toilet flushing itself!. When we complained to reception and demanded the room we had booked and paid for, we were informed by surly staff that the hotel was overbooked and they had no other rooms, but they would refund the difference that we had paid. We told them this was totally unaceptable as we had booked months in advance but the staff would not budge. We eventually got another room closer to the sea front but on the side of the building which was like staying in a wind tunnel as the wind howled round the building and the sliding balcony door did not close properly causing it to vibrate and howl loundly.There was thick black mould in the bathroom and when we had a shower the water went all over the floor as the seal on the shower screen did not seal on the bath properly.The towels were really thin and everything in the room had a strange musty smell. There was no change of bed linen throughout our stay. Breakfast was ok but nothing special and the evening meals were edable but certainly not warranting a four star. Restaurant staff were the friendliest of all, but the reception staff certainly need a good lession in customer service. This hotel is in serious need of re-modernising and we would certainly not recommend it to any one thinking of staying there as there must be better hotels in Malta that warrant a four star.
Also whilst staying there we learned of at least another dozen people who didn't get the rooms they had paid for and some were even put in another hotel (The Windsor) which they informed us was like a two star hotel. These people were also told the hotel was overbooked and learnt this was a regular occurence!.

Room Tip: If you book a full sea view room it does not mean that you will be allocated it on arrival as they m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing